Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Course description
Why are there so many people incarcerated in the United States and why are so many people in the US and beyond calling for an end to police violence, some even for the abolition of policing? Is mass incarceration an inevitable product of slavery and Jim Crow? Why did prisons expand in the United States as crime rates were going down? Was it the War on Drugs, or the long term effects of housing discrimination?
[Source: ORC/Catalog, 01/16/2024]; Dist:SOC
Selected book title(s) ...
Carceral fantasies: cinema and prison in early twentieth-century America by Call Number: Baker-Berry HV 8860 .G85 2016ISBN: 9780231161060A groundbreaking contribution to the study of nontheatrical film exhibition, Carceral Fantasies tells the little-known story of how cinema found a home in the U.S. penitentiary system and how the prison emerged as a setting and narrative trope in modern cinema. Focusing on films shown in prisons before 1935, Alison Griffiths explores the unique experience of viewing cinema while incarcerated and the complex cultural roots of cinematic renderings of prison life. ...
Carceral mobilities: interrogating movement in incarceration by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781138184046Mobilities research is now centre stage in the social sciences with wide-ranging work that considers the politics underscoring the movements of people and objects, critically examining a world that is ever on the move. At first glance, the words 'carceral' and 'mobilities' seem to sit uneasily together. This book challenges the assumption that carceral life is characterised by a lack of movement. Carceral Mobilities brings together contributions that speak to contemporary debates across carceral studies and mobilities research, offering fresh insights to both areas by identifying and unpicking the manifold mobilities that shape, and are shaped by, carceral regimes. ...
Carceral space, prisoners and animals by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781138639874Carceral Space, Prisoners and Animals explores resonances across human and nonhuman carceral geographies. The work proposes an analysis of the carceral from a broader vantage point than has yet been done, developing a 'trans-species carceral geography' that includes spaces of nonhuman captivity, confinement, and enclosure alongside that of the human. The linkages across prisoner and animal carcerality that are placed into conversation draw from a number of institutional domains, based on their form, operation, and effect. ...
Carceral spatiality: dialogues between geography and criminology by Call Number: Baker-Berry HV 8705 .C373 2017ISBN: 9781137560568This edited collection speaks to and expands on existing debates around incarceration. Rather than focusing on the bricks and mortar of institutional spaces, this volume's inventive engagements in 'thinking through carcerality' touch on more elusive concepts of identity, memory and internal - as well as physical - walls and bars. Edited by two human geographers, and positioned within a criminological context, this original collection draws together essays by geographers and criminologists with a keen interest in carceral studies. ...
City of inmates: conquest, rebellion, and the rise of human caging in Los Angeles, 1771-1965 by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781469631189Los Angeles incarcerates more people than any other city in the United States, which imprisons more people than any other nation on Earth. This book explains how the City of Angels became the capital city of the world's leading incarcerator. Marshaling more than two centuries of evidence, historian Kelly Lytle Hernandez unmasks how histories of native elimination, immigrant exclusion, and black disappearance drove the rise of incarceration in Los Angeles. ...
The Palgrave handbook of prison tourism by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781137561343This extensive Handbook addresses a range of contemporary issues related to Prison Tourism across the world. It is divided into seven sections: Ethics, Human Rights and Penal Spectatorship; Carceral Retasking, Curation and Commodification of Punishment; Meanings of Prison Life and Representations of Punishment in Tourism Sites; Death and Torture in Prison Museums; Colonialism, Relics of Empire and Prison Museums; Tourism and Operational Prisons; and Visitor Consumption and Experiences of Prison Tourism. The Handbook explores global debates within the field of Prison Tourism inquiry; spanning a diverse range of topics from political imprisonment and persecution in Taiwan to interpretive programming in Alcatraz, and the representation of incarcerated Indigenous peoples to prison graffiti. ...
Policing the planet: why the policing crisis led to Black lives matter by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781784783167Policing has become one of the urgent issues of our time, the target of dramatic movements and front-page coverage from coast to coast in the United States, and, indeed, across the world. Now a star-studded, wide-ranging collection of writers and activists offers a global response, describing ongoing struggles over policing from New York to Ferguson to Los Angeles, as well as London, Rio de Janeiro, Johannesburg, and Mexico City. This book, combining first-hand accounts from organisers with the research of eminent scholars and contributions by leading artists, traces the global rise of the 'broken-windows' style of policing, first established in New York City under Police Commissioner William Bratton, who was appointed to the post in 1993 and then reappointed twenty years later in 2013. ....
Spatializing Blackness: architectures of confinement and Black masculinity in Chicago by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780252097737A geographic study of race and gender, Spatializing Blackness casts light upon the ubiquitous--and ordinary--ways carceral power functions in places where African Americans live. Moving from the kitchenette to the prison cell, and mining forgotten facts from sources as diverse as maps and memoirs, Rashad Shabazz explores the myriad architectures of confinement, policing, surveillance, urban planning, and incarceration.
In the Library's collections
Books on the sociology of prisons have the following call number range: HV 83701 through HV 8708. These can be found on Berry Level 3. You can search the online catalog using this short list of subject headings to find relevant resources:
- carceral geographyThis is a keyword search.
- imprisonment social aspectsThis subject heading is used rather than "confinement."
- gays legal status, laws, etc. united statesThe call number range KF 4754.5 covers LGBTQ persons with regards to the law.
Carceral geography: spaces and practices of incarceration by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781409452348The 'punitive turn' has brought about new ways of thinking about geography and the state, and has highlighted spaces of incarceration as a new terrain for exploration by geographers. Carceral geography offers a geographical perspective on incarceration, and this volume accordingly tracks the ideas, practices and engagements that have shaped the development of this new and vibrant subdiscipline, and scopes out future research directions.
The color of justice: race, ethnicity, and crime in America by Call Number: Baker-Berry HV 9950 .W33 2018ISBN: 9781337091862Publication Date: 6th ed.Comprehensive and balanced, THE COLOR OF JUSTICE: RACE, ETHNICITY, AND CRIME IN AMERICA is the definitive introduction to current research and theories of racial and ethnic discrimination within America's criminal justice system. The sixth edition covers the best and the most recent research on patterns of criminal behavior and victimization, immigration and crime, drug use, police practices, court processing and sentencing, unconscious bias, the death penalty, and correctional programs, giving students the facts and theoretical foundation they need to make their own informed decisions about discrimination within the system. ...
Encyclopedia of prisons & correctional facilities by Call Number: Baker-Berry Ref. HV 9471 .E427 2005 v.1-2ISBN: 9780761927310Encyclopedia of Prisons and Correctional Facilities aims to provide a critical overview of penal institutions within a historical and contemporary framework. The United States has the highest incarceration rate in the world; a fact that has caused lawmakers, advocates, and legal professionals to rethink punishment policies as well as develop new policies on prisoner education and rehabilitation. Issues of race, gender, and class are fully integrated throughout in order to demonstrate the complexity of the implementation and intended results of incarceration. ...
The handbook of research on Black males: quantitative, qualitative, and multidisciplinary by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781611862973Drawing from the work of top researchers in various fields, The Handbook of Research on Black Males explores the nuanced and multifaceted phenomena known as the black male. Simultaneously hyper-visible and invisible, black males around the globe are being investigated now more than ever before; however, many of the well-meaning responses regarding media attention paid to black males are not well informed by research. ...
Historical geographies of prisons: unlocking the usable carceral past by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781138850057This is the first book to provide a comprehensive historical-geographical lens to the development and evolution of correctional institutions as a specific subset of carceral geographies. This book analyzes and critiques global practices of incarceration, regimes of punishment, and their corresponding spaces of "corrections" from the eighteenth to twenty-first centuries. It examines individuals' experiences within various regulatory regimes and spaces of punishment, and offers an interpretation of spaces of incarceration as cultural-historical artifacts. The book also analyzes the spatial-distributional geographies of incarceration, particularly with respect to their historical impact on community political-economic development and local geographies. ...
The Oxford handbook of the history of crime and criminal justice by Call Number: Baker-Berry HV 6021 .O94 2016ISBN: 9780199352333The Oxford Handbook of the History of Crime and Criminal Justice provides a systematic and comprehensive examination of recent developments across criminal justice and and the history of crime. Chapters examine existing research, explain on-going debates and controversies, and point to new areas of interest, covering topics such as criminal law and courts, police and policing, and the rise of criminology as a field.
The prison of democracy: race, Leavenworth, and the culture of law by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780520969490Built in the 1890s at the center of the nation, Leavenworth Federal Penitentiary was designed specifically to be a replica of the US Capitol Building. But why? The Prison of Democracy explains the political significance of a prison built to mimic one of America's monuments to democracy. Locating Leavenworth in memory, history, and law, the prison geographically sits at the borders of Indian Territory (1825-1854) and Bleeding Kansas (1854-1864), both sites of contestation over slavery and freedom. ...
Punishment and incarceration: a global perspective by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781783509102This volume in the series Sociology of Crime, Law, and Deviance deals with aspects of punishment, including sentencing, incarceration, and prison conditions, in a variety of settings at local, national, and/or regional levels. The book brings together some 14 scholars to contribute their respective chapters, each of the authors drawn from various parts of the world, thus ensuring a global perspective. ...
Beyond discrimination: racial inequality in a post-racist era by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781610448178Nearly a half century after the civil rights movement, racial inequality remains a defining feature of American life. Along a wide range of social and economic dimensions, African Americans consistently lag behind whites. This troubling divide has persisted even as many of the obvious barriers to equality, such as state-sanctioned segregation and overt racial hostility, have markedly declined. How then can we explain the stubborn persistence of racial inequality? In Beyond Discrimination: Racial Inequality in a Post-Racist Era, a diverse group of scholars provides a more precise understanding of when and how racial inequality can occur without its most common antecedents, prejudice and discrimination. ...
Big house on the Prairie: rise of the rural ghetto and prison proliferation by Call Number: Baker-Berry HV 8827 .E273 2017ISBN: 9780226410340For the past fifty years, America has been extraordinarily busy building prisons. Since 1970 we have tripled the total number of facilities, adding more than 1,200 new prisons to the landscape. This building boom has taken place across the country but is largely concentrated in rural southern towns.
Break every yoke: religion, justice, and the abolition of prisons by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780190949150Changes in the American religious landscape enabled the rise of mass incarceration. Religious ideas and practices also offer a key for ending mass incarceration. These are the bold claims advanced by Break Every Yoke, the joint work of two activist-scholars of American religion. Once, in an era not too long past, Americans, both incarcerated and free, spoke a language of social liberation animated by religion. In the era of mass incarceration, we have largely forgotten how to dream - and organize - this way. To end mass incarceration we must reclaim this lost tradition. Properly conceived, the movement we need must demand not prison reform but prison abolition. Break Every Yoke weaves religion into the stories about race, politics, and economics that conventionally account for America's grotesque prison expansion of the last half century, and in so doing it sheds new light on one of our era's biggest human catastrophes. ...
Girlhood and the politics of place by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781785330179Examining context-specific conditions in which girls live, learn, work, play, and organize deepens the understanding of place-making practices of girls and young women worldwide. Focusing on place across health, literary and historical studies, art history, communications, media studies, sociology, and education allows for investigations of how girlhood is positioned in relation to interdisciplinary and transnational research methodologies, media environments, geographic locations, history, and social spaces.
Prison, Inc.: a convict exposes life inside a private prison by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780814799543Prison, Inc. provides a first-hand account of life behind bars in a controversial new type of prison facility: the private prison. These for-profit prisons are becoming increasingly popular as state budgets get tighter. Yet as privatization is seen as a necessary and cost-saving measure, not much is known about how these facilities are run and whether or not they can effectively watch over this difficult and dangerous population. For the first time, Prison, Inc. provides a look inside one of these private prisons as told through the eyes of an actual inmate, K.C. Carceral who has been in the prison system for over twenty years.
Queer (in)justice: the criminalization of LGBT people in the United States by Call Number: Baker-Berry KF 4754.5 .M64 2011ISBN: 9780807051160Drawing on years of research, activism, and legal advocacy, Queer (In)Justice is a searing examination of queer experiences--as "suspects," defendants, prisoners, and survivors of crime.
Suspect citizens: what 20 million traffic stops tell us about policing and race by Call Number: Baker-Berry HV 7936 .R3 B38 2018ISBN: 9781108429313Suspect Citizens offers the most comprehensive look to date at the most common form of police-citizen interactions, the routine traffic stop. Throughout the war on crime, police agencies have used traffic stops to search drivers suspected of carrying contraband. From the beginning, police agencies made it clear that very large numbers of police stops would have to occur before an officer might interdict a significant drug shipment. Unstated in that calculation was that many Americans would be subjected to police investigations so that a small number of high-level offenders might be found. The key element in this strategy, which kept it hidden from widespread public scrutiny, was that middle-class white Americans were largely exempt from its consequences. ...
American prison newspapers by Call Number: Electronic resourceOn March 24, 1800, Forlorn Hope became the first newspaper published within a prison by an incarcerated person. In the intervening 200 years, over 450 prison newspapers have been published from U.S. prisons. Some, like the Angolite and the San Quentin News, are still being published today. American Prison Newspapers will bring together hundreds of these periodicals from across the country into one collection that will represent penal institutions of all kinds, with special attention paid to women's-only institutions. ...
Annual review of criminology by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe Annual Review of Criminology provides comprehensive reviews of significant developments in the multidisciplinary field of criminology, defined as the study of both the nature of criminal behavior and societal reactions to crime.
The HistoryMakers digital archive by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe HistoryMakers is a non-profit institution whose purpose is to record, preserve and disseminate the content of video oral history interviews highlighting the accomplishments of individual African Americans and African-American-led groups and movements. The Archive aims is to provide a unique scholarly and educational resource for exploring African American history and culture. It is unique among collections of African American heritage because of its large and varied scope, with interviewees from across the United States, from a variety of fields, and with memories stretching from the 1890s to the present. Rather than focus on one particular part of a person’s life or a single subject, such as a career or participation in the civil rights movement, the interviews are life oral histories covering the person’s entire span of memories as well as his or her own family’s oral history.
New gulag by Call Number: Streaming videoIn the United States there are five thousand prisons and one and a half million prisoners. The prison system already costs thirty billion dollars per year to maintain and will escalate as stiffer sentences and tougher treatment are being demanded for criminals. Some estimate that half of all Americans will be incarcerated by the year 2050. This hard-hitting film shows that building and maintaining prisons has become an industry. Private companies are running them for profit often at the expense of any amenities such as recreation and rehabilitation services. In rural communities, prisons are welcomed for providing jobs and markets for a variety of goods needed in prison. In a high security prison in Oklahoma, death-row prisoners are kept for years in bunker-like cells for 23 hours a day. The warden is proud of his tough and mean system, which is condemned by human rights groups.In Phoenix the toughest sheriff in the West feeds his inmates on thirty cents a day and works them in chain gangs. He boasts that he has the cheapest run jail in America. Alvin Brunstein of the ACLU and Marc Mauer, criminologist, challenge the theory that tougher prisons deter crime.
Prison town USA by Call Number: Streaming videoIn the 1990s, at the height of the prison-building boom, a prison opened in rural America every 15 days. "Prison Town, USA" tells the story of Susanville, California, one small town that tries to resuscitate its economy by building a prison — with unanticipated consequences. Nestled in the picturesque foothills of the California Sierras, Susanville once thrived on logging, ranching and agriculture. Today the Susanville area hosts three prison complexes housing more than 11,000 inmates, with plans for more to come. The inmate population is more than one-and-a-half times the number of local residents. "Prison Town, USA" follows the fortunes of people and families in Susanville over the course of two years. Among those portrayed are: a laid-off mill worker turned guard; a tenacious dairy owner fighting to retain his contract with the prison; a man on parole who can't find a job to support his family;local businessmen who were given false hopes; and prison-boosting politicians. The resulting story is one of hard choices and unanticipated consequences. As Susanville's good-hearted country-boys-turned-prison-guards soon learn, life outside the walls is developing eerie parallels to life on the inside.
Sentencing and corrections by Call Number: Electronic resourceA series of short and longer researched articles that look at various aspects of prison sentencing and incarceration.
You can use these databases to find scholarly and newspaper articles about prisons. You can also use the search box at the top of the page.
Captive bodies, prison geographies, and the somatic carceral condition from Progress in Human Geography by Call Number: Electronic journal articlePutting research and reflection on prison experience into conversation with the subfields of carceral and health geography, we discuss the “somatic carceral condition” as a visceral, bodily effect of prisonization. In doing so, we call for increased reliance on data derived from somatic experience as well as auto-ethnographic insight on imprisonment. ...
Carceral connections: the role of policing in the management of public housing in New York City from Urban Studies by Call Number: Electronic journal articleBetween 2006 and 2022, the New York City Housing Authority (NYCHA) attempted to address the fiscal and infrastructural crises in public housing through a number of controversial privatisation strategies. This contested push occurred alongside the pervasive role of policing in public housing. The New York City Police Department utilises several policing strategies specific to NYCHA communities, collaborating with the housing authority in the management of public housing residents. ...
Antipode by Call Number: Electronic journalAntipode has just published early, new articles on carceral geography.
Carceral geographies by Call Number: Electronic special issueThis is a special issue from ACME, volume 20, 6 (2022).- Corrections today byCall Number: Electronic journalArticles on all areas of corrections, news and legislation, commentary, profiles, book reviews and research perspectives published for members of the American Correctional Association.
- U.S. Newsstream byCall Number: Electronic resourceThis database lets you search a collection of current newspapers. Coverage varies from 1980 to the present. You can search a few or all of the newspapers in the collection.
Academic search complete by Call Number: Electronic resourceA scholarly, interdisciplinary article index and a good starting place for article searching on any subject.- ProQuest centralCall Number: Electronic resourcePQ Central is made up of approximately 20 databases of various subjects. Relevant databases for this class include the Criminal Justice Database and Military Database. You can search one or more databases at one time within this grouping.
PsycINFO by Call Number: Electronic resourcePsycINFO is the main index to the peer-reviewed literature for psychology and neuroscience. Citations include journal articles, book chapters and technical reports.
Web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Visualizing Abolition
For the 2020/21 academic year, the University of California, Santa Cruz Institute of the Arts and Sciences, in collaboration with Professor Dent, feminist studies, has organized a year-long series of online events featuring artists, activists, scholars, and others united by their commitment to the vital struggle for prison abolition. Originally, Visualizing Abolition was being planned as an in-person symposium, bringing together artists, lawyers, scholars, and other thinkers to challenge the dominant ways people see and understand issues of mass incarceration, detention, and policing in the United States and beyond. Due to the ongoing pandemic, the panels, artist talks, film screenings, and other events will now take place online, emphasizing with ever more urgency the importance of envisioning alternatives to ongoing injustices.
Internet resource(s)
- CBS is remaking its police shows for the Black Lives Matter era from The Washington Post
A novel partnership sends police reform advocates into the writers room. Can it work? - Carceral geographyThis is the site of the working group for Carceral geography from the Royal Geographical Society and the Institute of British Geographers.
- Current Population Survey
The Current Population Survey (CPS) is a monthly survey of about 50,000 households conducted by the Bureau of the Census for the Bureau of Labor Statistics. The CPS is the primary source of information on the labor force characteristics of the U.S. population. - Immigration Data from Homeland Security
The Office of Immigration Statistics (OIS) has responsibility: 1) to collect and disseminate to Congress and the public data and information useful in evaluating the social, economic, environmental, and demographic impact of immigration laws; and 2) to establish standards of reliability and validity for immigration statistics collected by the Department’s operational Components. - Jennifer TurnerJennifer Turner is a lecturer at the University of Liverpool. Her research interests include carceral geographies. This is her blog.
- National Center for Veterans Analysis & StatisticsThe NCVAS serves as the authoritative clearinghouse for Veterans Affairs to collect, validate, analyze, and disseminate key statistics on Veteran populations and VA programs to support planning, analysis, and decision-making activities.
- Police shootings database from The Washington PostThis database from The Washington Post documents fatal shootings of civilians by police officers. The database began in 2015 and uses news reports, public records, social media and other sources for their information.
- The Stanford Open Policing ProjectThe team is gathering, analyzing, and releasing records from millions of traffic stops by law enforcement agencies across the country. Their goal is to help researchers, journalists, and policymakers investigate and improve interactions between police and the public.
- Uniform Crime ReportingThe Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) collects, published and archives data on criminal activities.
Citing and Tracking Your Bibliographic References
Use this guide to help you learn how to correctly cite and keep track of the references you find for your research.
Keeping up with Geography journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Geography? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.