Skip to main content

Medieval & Renaissance Studies: Encyclopedias / Dictionaries

A Guide to Resources at the Dartmouth College Library

Encyclopedias

General

 

Dictionary of the Middle Ages / Joseph R. Strayer, editor in chief
New York : Scribner, c1982-2004.
14 v. : ill. (some col.) ; 29cm
Baker Berry Ref.  D114 .D5 1982

Europe 1450 to 1789 : encyclopedia of the early modern world / Jonathan Dewald, editor in chief.
New York : Charles Scribner's Sons, c2004.
6 v. : ill. (some col.), maps ; 29 cm.
Baker Berry Ref.  D209 .E97 2004

Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages  / edited by André Vauchez ; translated by Adrian Walford.
Oxford : Oxford University Press, c2001.

Also, Print Ed. at Baker Berry Ref.  D114 .E53 2000

Encyclopedia of the Renaisance
New York : Scribner's published in association with the Renaissance Society of America, 1999.
6 v. : ill. (some col.), maps ; 29 cm.
Baker Berry Ref.  CB361 .E52 1999

ORB: The Online Reference Book for Medieval Studies

Key Figures in Medieval Europe : an encyclopedia / Richard K. Emmerson, editor ; Sandra Clayton-Emmerson, associate editor.
New York : Routledge, 2006.
xliv, 733 p.
Baker Berry  D115 .K49 2006


 

Religion / Philosophy

 

The Catholic Encyclopedia  (1908 edition)

Dictionnaire d'Histoire et de Géographie Ecclésiastiques, publié sous la direction de Alfred Baudrillart, Albert Vogt et Urbain Rouziès. Avec le concours d'un grand nombre de collaborateurs
Paris, Letouzey et Ané, 1912-
v. ill., maps (part fold.) 28 cm
Baker Berry  BR95 .B3

Encyclopedia of Early Christianity / editor, Everett Ferguson ; associate editors, Michael P. McHugh, Frederick W. Norris.
2nd ed.
New York : Garland Pub., 1997.
New York : Garland Pub., 1997.
Baker Berry Ref.  BR162.2 .E53 1997

The Encyclopaedia of Islam
[Leiden] : Brill, [2002-

Also, Print Ed. (1960-[i.e. 1954]-2009) at Baker Berry Ref.  DS37 .E523

The New Catholic Encyclopedia
2nd ed.
Detroit : Thomson/Gale ; Washington, D.C. : Catholic University of America, c2003.

Also, Print Ed. at  Baker Berry  BX841 .N44 1967

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy   (Stanford University)

From its inception, the SEP was designed so that each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public. Consequently, our dynamic reference work maintains academic standards while evolving and adapting in response to new research.

 


 

Art

 

Enciclopedia dell'arte medievale
Roma : Istituto della enciclopedia italiana, c1991-2002.
12 v. : ill. (some col.) ; 31 cm
Sherman Ref.  N5965 .E5 1991

Encyclopedia of Italian Renaissance & Mannerist art / edited by Jane Turner.
New York : Grove's Dictionaries, c2000.
2 v. (xxv, 1881 p., 80 p. of col. plates) : ill. (some col.) ; 27 cm.
Sherman Ref.  N6370 .E53 2000

The Grove Encyclopedia of Northern Renaissance Art  / edited by Gordon Campbell.
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2009.

Also, Print ed.  Sherman Ref.  N6370 .G76 2009

Huyghe, René.
Larousse Encyclopedia of Renaissance and Baroque Art
New York, Premetheus Press [1964]
444 p. ill. (part col.) maps, ports. (part col.) 30 cm
Sherman Ref.  N6350 .H813 

 

Dictionaries

General

Corèdon, Christopher, 1945-
A Dictionary of Medieval Terms and Phrases / Christopher Corèdon with Ann Williams.
Cambridge : D.S. Brewer, 2004.
ix, 308 p. ; 25 cm.
Baker Berry Ref.  DA129 .C67 2004

Nauert, Charles G. (Charles Garfield), 1928-
Historical dictionary of the Renaissance / Charles G. Nauert.
Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2004.
xxxix, 541 p. ; 23 cm.
Baker Berry Ref.  CB361 .N35 2004

The Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium / Alexander P. Kazhdan, editor in chief
New York : Oxford University Press, 1991
3 v : ill. ; 26 cm
Baker Berry Ref.  DF521 .O93 1991 c.2
Sherman Ref.  DF521 .O93 1991

The Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages  / edited by Robert E. Bjork.
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2010.

The Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance / [edited by] Gordon Campbell.
Oxford, UK ; New York : Oxford University Press

Also, Print ed. at   Baker Berry Ref.  CB361 .C27 2003


Religion / Philosophy

Brown, Stephen F.
Historical dictionary of Medieval philosophy and theology / Stephen F. Brown, Juan Carlos Flores.
Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2007.
lxxii, 389 p. ; 23 cm.
Baker Berry Ref.  B721 .B77 2007


Biography

Extraordinary Women of the Medieval and Renaissance World : a biographical dictionary / Carole Levin ... [et al.].
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2000.
xviii, 327 p. : ill. 24 cm.
Baker Berry  HQ1143 .E93 2000

The Late Medieval Age of Crisis and Renewal, 1300-1500 : a biographical dictionary / edited by Clayton J. Drees.
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2001.
xiv, 546 p. ; 24 cm.
Baker Berry Ref.  CB353 .L38 2001  

The Rise of the Medieval World, 500-1300 : a biographical dictionary / edited by Jana K. Schulman.
Westport, Conn. ; London : Greenwood Press, 2002.
xxxiii, 500 p. ; 24 cm.
Baker Berry Ref.  CT114 .R57 2002  


Latin

Database of Latin Dictionaries
Turnhout : Brepols, 2005-