Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Valley News (West Lebanon, NH; 1952-present)
Valley News (Online)
The Valley News is available online for the Dartmouth community; please sign in to the library system using your NetID and password and follow the associated link (Valley News Web) in the catalog record. Other links provide access to archived full-text since 2005. Microfilm is available for earlier years.
Valley News (Current Print Issues)
Recent print issues of the Valley News are available in the Baker-Berry East Reading Room, Kresge Library, and the Feldberg Stacks at Tuck.
Valley News (MIcrofilm)
The Valley News is available on microfilm from its inception in 1952. The most recent reels, which are available from drawers in the Baker Project Room, 209R, are usually available just a few months after print publication. Microfilm readers are located outside of the entrance Sherman Art Library from within Baker-Berry Library.
Historical Newspapers: The United States
America's Historical Newspapers
Numerous American newspaper titles. Extensive geographic and chronological coverage.
A vast publicly-accessible full-text database representing many -- but not all -- states with coverage largely prior to 1923.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
All historical content has been selected; use "Choose Databases" on the search page to deselect and select specific titles.
Contemporary and near-historic press of various American communities: e.g., African-American, Asian-American, and Indigenous newspapers.
Independent Voices: The Alternative Press
Publications by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press, and alternative literary magazines of the second half of the twentieth century.
Historical Newspapers: The Anglophone World
Historical Newspapers: Chinese, Japanese, and Korean Resources
Writing, Reference and Editorial Resources
Pocket Fowler's Modern English Usage
"Updated with the use of the Oxford English Corpus, this edition contains over 4,000 entries that answer the most frequently asked questions about language and language use."
Oxford Dictionary of rhymes
"From writing poems to birthday cards, from the garret to the classroom, this volume has what every budding writer needs. It contains over 45,000 words, including proper names and foreign terms and also has notes on how to use rhymes most effectively."
New Oxford rhyming dictionary.
"This resource contains rhymes for over 45,000 words presented in a clear and user-friendly layout. Its features include an index in-text notes, examples, creative writing tips, and an introduction giving a brief outline of the history of rhyming."
Primary Sources: Periodicals & Publication
Publishers Weekly Archive
"Continuously published since 1872, Publishers Weekly has consistently been the authoritative voice for US publishing industry news and book reviews, with ongoing coverage of the British book trade. The complete archive includes up to 400,000 book reviews, 5,000 author profiles/interviews, and bestseller lists from 1895 forward."