HIST 07.05 Slavery in West Africa (FYS W20): Home

Historical scholarship on the modern world. The United States, Canada, and their colonial antecedents are largely excluded; combine with America: History & Life for topics with American or Canadian dimensions.

In contrast to discipline-specific indexes like America, History & Life and Historical Abstracts, Proquest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases and a vast amount of full-text content across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, and Humanities.

"This unique African studies database contains titles of monographs, journal articles and chapters from edited works. Most entries include professional in-depth abstracts. Access to the ASCL catalogue is available via the Leiden University Libraries Catalogue, both in a separate section, as well as in the general catalogue."

"AfricaBib is a collection of Africana social science titles, presented in one easily accessible location on the internet. It is the culmination of over forty years of Africana research. The site consists of two bibliographic databases covering Africana periodical literature (Africana Periodical Literature) and African Women's literature (African Women). You will also find a comprehensive bibliography on women travelers and explorers to Africa (Women Travelers, Explorers and Missionaries to Africa). In June 2012 two bibliographies were added, one on Islam in Africa, compiled by Paul Schrijver, the other on the Kenya Coast, compiled by Jan Hoorweg. In July 2014 Water and Africa was added. Followed in September 2017 by Education in Africa."

JSTOR's advanced search for greater power and flexibility.

Previously known as 'Revues' this collection of open access journals and books is largely concerned with French-language scholarship in the humanities and social sciences.

Project Muse's advanced search for greater power and flexibility.

"Oxford African American Studies Center is a collection of scholarship focused on the African American and African history and culture. Features articles, images, primary sources, maps, charts and tables, and biographies."

"The EH.Net Encyclopedia of Economic and Business History is designed to provide students and laymen with high quality reference articles in the field. Articles for the Online Encyclopedia are written by experts, screened by a group of authorities, and carefully edited. A distinguished Advisory Board recommends entry topics, assists in the selection of authors, and defines the project’s scope."

"A comprehensive index to nearly 12 million biographical sketches in more than 2700 volumes and editions of current and retrospective reference books, covering both contemporary and historical figures throughout the world."

Contains records of "almost 35,000 slaving voyages that forcibly embarked over 10 million Africans for transport to the Americas between the sixteenth and nineteenth centuries."

"Slavery and Anti-Slavery includes documents from the United States and Europe, as well as other parts of the world. In addition to newspaper collections and books published in the antebellum era, Slavery and Anti-Slavery contains documents from several archives originally available only on microfilm."

Brings together, for the first time, all known legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery.

A collection of over 200 source documents relating to the study of the Atlantic slave trade, the abolition movement and all aspects of slavery. The collection is searchable by author, date, subject and document type. Documents include speeches, letters, cartoons, graphics, interviews, legal documents and articles.

"[D]esigned to provide authoritative information on Parliament's involvement in the British slave trade between 1600 and 1833 and to give access to key archival materials relating to the 1807 Act of Abolition of the British Slave Trade."

"This site features digital copies of 113 antique maps of Africa and accompanying text dating from the mid 16th Century to the early 20th Century. All scanned maps are authentic and originally collected by the Melville J. Herskovits Library of African Studies (or the Africana Library) at Northwestern University."

"Provides electronic access to the United Kingdom's Colonial, Dominion and Foreign Offices' confidential correspondence relating to Africa between 1834 and 1966. This resource provides a searchable collection of scores of official documents and maps covering almost the entire period of European conquest and colonisation of Africa (with the exception of Egypt)."

An extensive collection spanning 18th-21st-century materials addressing all facets of British political life.

"Provides access to electronic versions of international primary source materials in the fields of law, history, economics, diplomacy and government from pre-18th century to the present."

Indexes nineteenth century literature, including newspapers, periodicals, books, and government publications.

Search more than four million collections at depositories principally in the United States and Canada. Invaluable for identifying collections in unexpected places. See your liaison librarian for help with this and other archival search tools.

Search across more than 300 United Kingdom depositories for relevant archival collections.

Search across almost 7,000 participating European depositories for relevant archival collections. Same look-and-feel as Archives Hub (UK) and integrating its content.

"Searchable full-text access to the British Library's collection of the newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817)--the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. More than twelve hundred titles and almost one million pages are included."

British newspapers from 1732 to 1950 representing England, Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland. Extensive English titles reflect regional diversity.

"Collection of major 19th century African-American newspapers, including: Christian Recorder (Philadelphia, Pa.); Freedom's Journal (NY); Colored American (NY); Provincial Freeman (Ontario, Canada); National Era (Washington, DC); and Frederick Douglass' North Star (Rochester, NY) and its later titles."

Numerous American newspaper titles. Extensive geographic and chronological coverage.

A vast publicly-accessible full-text database representing many -- but not all -- states with coverage largely prior to 1923.

"This online collection provides fully searchable African newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Includes over 40 newspapers published between 1800 and 1922 in Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda, and Zimbabwe."

"This definitive reference work contains more than 37,000 annual time series of quantitative historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history: population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations, all from the earliest times to the present"

"A statistical reference and guide to over 250 statistical publications and sources from government and private organizations."

The Dutch Institute's data collections, data analysis tools, and "datastories" related to social and economic history.