Librarian
Jane Quigley
Contact:
Contact me via email, Slack, or schedule a Zoom meeting with me using the link above.
General Article Databases
-
ProQuest centralProquest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Health and Medicine, Social Sciences, Science and Technology, and Humanities. This makes it a good choice for topics that cross several disciplines - history, science, cultural anthropology, sociology.
-
JSTORA full-text archive of scholarly journals, many from their very first issue to the present day. Thus, you can search JSTOR both for primary source material, and for modern scholarship in the history of science - JSTOR is unusual that way. JSTOR Tip: Scroll down the search page and select the collections, "General Science" and "History of Science and Technology", to search just within these collections.
-
Web of ScienceCoverage of all fields in the sciences and social sciences, with coverage of core disciplines back to 1900. Especially strong in linking references both backwards and forwards.
Subject-Specific Databases
Use these indexes to find articles on historical aspects of the sciences.
- America, History and Life
A comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present - GeoRef
GeoRef is the major index to the geological literature from 1785 to present. Includes records describing articles, books and book chapters, and more on all aspects of the geosciences, including historical, social, and cultural aspects. - History of Science, Technology and Medicine (1975-present)
Covers about 600 scholarly journals covering the history, philosophy and sociology of science.
Primary source material (magazines, journal and newspaper articles)
American Periodicals Series Online 1740-1900
This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals and many other historically-significant periodicals.
ProQuest Historical Newspaper Archives
NOTE: Click "Clear all databases", then scroll down to the "Historical Databases" section to select which newspaper archives to search.
Provides access, individually or combined, to full text digital reproductions of the following newspapers (you can also include the "American Periodicals Series Online", see 1st entry above for summary):
- Boston Globe (1872 -1924)
- Chicago Tribune (1849 - 1986)
- Hartford Courant (1764 - 1984)
- Los Angeles Times (1881 - 1986)
- The New York Times (1851 - 2004)
- The Washington Post (1877 - 1990)
- ...and others
Google Scholar
- Bibliography Manager - select the program you use for managing citations. If you use Zotero, choose "RefMan" for the citation output.