Skip to main content

USC Shoah Foundation's Visual History Archive: Access for Dartmouth Users

Information about and access to the Visual History Archive

Accessing the Archive

USC Shoah Foundation's Visual History Archive


The Visual History Archive is a specialized tool requiring local authorized use.

Authorized users must create an account by following the prompts on the site:
http://vha.usc.edu

Access requirements:

  • A campus network or Dartmouth VPN connection
  • Windows users: Windows 7 or later; Internet Explorer 9, Google Chrome, or Firefox v.22 or later
  • Mac users: Macintosh OS X 10.6 or later; Safari 5.1.1 or later, or Google Chrome

Testimonies are streamed through the VHA interface from a Dartmouth cache server and are therefore best accessed on campus; the quality of off-campus access varies depending upon the robustness of your local network. Use of the Archive requires a one-time registration, allowing users to save searches and projects and be accessible by e-mail.

Non-Dartmouth researchers may be granted on-site access. For more information, see the guest user page.

For help using the Visual History Archive, see the VHA User Manual [link to PDF]

About the Visual History Archive

USC Shoah Foundation — The Institute for Visual History and Education is dedicated to making audio-visual interviews with survivors and witnesses of the Holocaust and other genocides, a compelling voice for education and action. 

With a current collection of 51,444 eyewitness testimonies, the Institute’s Visual History Archive preserves history as told by the people who lived it. Each testimony is a unique source of insight and knowledge offering powerful stories from history that demand to be explored and shared. In this way we will be able to see their faces and hear their voices, allowing them to teach, and inspire action against intolerance. 

The Visual History Archive is one of the largest digital collections of its kind in the world. Currently encompassing 107,000 hours of video testimony, the archive is an invaluable resource for humanity, with nearly every testimony containing a complete personal history of life before, during and after the interviewee’s firsthand experience with genocide. The Visual History Archive is digitized, fully searchable, and hyperlinked to the minute. This indexing allows students, professors, researchers, and others around the world to retrieve entire testimonies or search for specific sections within testimonies through a set of more than 62,000 keywords and key phrases, 1.3 million names, and 628,000 images. 

In the spring of 2013, the Visual History Archive expanded to include testimonies from eyewitnesses of genocide from Rwanda, and in February 2014, 12 audiovisual testimonies of survivors of the 1937-38 Nanjing Massacre were integrated.

Commemorating its 20th Anniversary in 2014, the Institute is committed to teaching with testimony, endeavoring to make the power of each story accessible to students, educators, scholars, and the general public on every continent.

For more information, visit the Institute’s website, http://sfi.usc.edu/.

Terms of Use & Citing Testimonies

Authorized Users (Dartmouth students, faculty, staff, and guest researchers) can use the Visual History Archive for teaching, learning and research purposes.

USC Shoah Foundation -- The Institute for Visual History and Education owns the intellectual property rights, including copyrights, to its videotaped interviews; this includes the metadata and the software tool of the Visual History Archive.

USC Shoah Foundation information involves privacy interests and is not in the public domain. Unauthorized copying, downloading, recording, or publication of USC Shoah Foundation interviews, in whole or in part, is strictly prohibited and may subject an individual or entity to penalties for copyright infringement.

Any use or publication of information from USC Shoah Foundation interviews in excess of "Fair Use" as specified under 17 USC § 107 and "Fair Practice" as specified under Article 10 of the Berne Convention, requires the prior written permission from the USC Shoah Foundation.

All users who publish information from USC Shoah Foundation interviews, in whole or in part, under the Fair Use or Fair Practice doctrines, should cite the interviews as sources. The USC Shoah Foundation's recommended citation standard for scholarly works follows the MLA guidelines (7th ed.) for web-based non-periodical publications:

Interviewee's name, the word Interview and the number of the interview code, the title of the website (italicized), the publisher, the date of publication, the medium (Web), and the date of access.
Example: Firestone, Renée. Interview 151. Visual History Archive. USC Shoah Foundation. 2011. Web. 22 Feb. 2011.