Skip to Main Content

Hours & Login Menu

  • Hours
  • Login
    • Library Search Login
    • Interlibrary Loan
Dartmouth Libraries Dartmouth Libraries

Global dropdown menu

    • Borrow and Request
      • Who Can Borrow
      • What Can You Borrow
      • Loan Periods and Renewals
      • Borrow from Other Libraries
      • Request Materials
      • All Borrow and Request
    • Collections
      • Digital Collections
      • Media Collections
      • Oral Histories
      • Collections Care
      • All Collections
    • Course Reserves
      • Find Course Reserves
      • Create or Add Course Reserves
      • All Course Reserves
    • Off-Campus Access
    • Records Management
      • Retention and Disposition
      • Confidential Monthly Destruction
      • Electronic Records
      • Physical Records
      • Retention Schedules
      • All Records Management
    • Search and Browse
      • Library Search
      • Databases
      • Journals
      • Research Guides
      • Maps and Atlases
      • Newspapers
      • Dartmouth Digital Commons
      • Music Scores
      • BorrowDirect
      • Archives and Manuscripts
      • All Search and Browse
    • Design and Produce
      • Audio and Video
      • Book Arts
      • Design and Digital Art
      • Equipment and Hardware
      • Software
      • All Design and Produce
    • Data Services
      • Research Data Management
      • Data Analysis and Visualization
      • Data Repositories
      • Data Workshops
      • Datasets at Dartmouth
      • All Data Services
    • Digital Scholarship
    • Publishing and Copyright
      • Copyright
      • Open Access
      • Publisher Agreements
      • Publishing for Faculty
      • Publishing for Students
      • All Publishing and Copyright
    • Research Help
    • Teaching and Workshops
    • Print, Copy, Scan
    • Locations
      • Baker-Berry Library
      • Book Arts Workshop
      • Evans Map Room
      • Feldberg Business and Engineering Library
      • Health Sciences and Biomedical Libraries
      • Jones Media Center
      • Library Collections and Services Facility
      • Rauner Special Collections Library
      • Sherman Art Library
      • All Locations
    • Accessibility
    • Events
    • Exhibits
    • Hours
    • Study Spaces
    • About Dartmouth Libraries
      • Council on the Libraries
      • Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
      • Friends of the Libraries
      • Library Departments
      • Strategic Framework
      • Staff Directory
      • All About Dartmouth Libraries
    • Employment
      • Staff and Professional Positions
      • Student Positions
      • Fellowships
      • All Employment
    • News and Highlights
    • Policies
    • Programs and Awards
      • Alumni Memorial Book Fund Program
      • MAD Research Video Contest
      • Staff Awards
      • All Programs and Awards
    • Contact Us
    • We're Here to Help
      • Students
      • Faculty
      • Alums
      • Staff
      • Visiting Researchers and Community
      • All We're Here to Help
    • Find a Specialist
      • Subject Librarians
      • Audio and Video Production
      • Preservation and Emergency Preparedness
      • Publishing and Copyright
      • Records Management
      • Research Data Services
      • Systematic Review
      • All Find a Specialist
    • Ask Us
  • Hours
    • Library Search Login
    • Interlibrary Loan

Global dropdown menu

    • Borrow and Request
      • Who Can Borrow
      • What Can You Borrow
      • Loan Periods and Renewals
      • Borrow from Other Libraries
      • Request Materials
    • Collections
      • Digital Collections
      • Media Collections
      • Oral Histories
      • Collections Care
    • Course Reserves
      • Find Course Reserves
      • Create or Add Course Reserves
    • Off-Campus Access
    • Records Management
      • Retention and Disposition
      • Confidential Monthly Destruction
      • Electronic Records
      • Physical Records
      • Retention Schedules
    • Search and Browse
      • Library Search
      • Databases
      • Journals
      • Research Guides
      • Maps and Atlases
      • Newspapers
      • Dartmouth Digital Commons
      • Music Scores
      • BorrowDirect
      • Archives and Manuscripts
    • Design and Produce
      • Audio and Video
      • Book Arts
      • Design and Digital Art
      • Equipment and Hardware
      • Software
    • Data Services
      • Research Data Management
      • Data Analysis and Visualization
      • Data Repositories
      • Data Workshops
      • Datasets at Dartmouth
    • Digital Scholarship
    • Publishing and Copyright
      • Copyright
      • Open Access
      • Publisher Agreements
      • Publishing for Faculty
      • Publishing for Students
    • Research Help
    • Teaching and Workshops
    • Print, Copy, Scan
    • Locations
      • Baker-Berry Library
      • Book Arts Workshop
      • Evans Map Room
      • Feldberg Business and Engineering Library
      • Health Sciences and Biomedical Libraries
      • Jones Media Center
      • Library Collections and Services Facility
      • Rauner Special Collections Library
      • Sherman Art Library
    • Accessibility
    • Events
    • Exhibits
    • Hours
    • Study Spaces
    • About Dartmouth Libraries
      • Council on the Libraries
      • Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
      • Friends of the Libraries
      • Library Departments
      • Strategic Framework
      • Staff Directory
    • Employment
      • Staff and Professional Positions
      • Student Positions
      • Fellowships
    • News and Highlights
    • Policies
    • Programs and Awards
      • Alumni Memorial Book Fund Program
      • MAD Research Video Contest
      • Staff Awards
    • Contact Us
    • We're Here to Help
      • Students
      • Faculty
      • Alums
      • Staff
      • Visiting Researchers and Community
    • Find a Specialist
      • Subject Librarians
      • Audio and Video Production
      • Preservation and Emergency Preparedness
      • Publishing and Copyright
      • Records Management
      • Research Data Services
      • Systematic Review
    • Ask Us
  • Hours
    • Library Search Login
    • Interlibrary Loan
  1. Dartmouth Libraries
  2. Research Guides
  3. Dartmouth Libraries Guides
  4. Artists Books Bibliography
  5. Suggested Readings

Artists Books Bibliography

  • Suggested Readings
  • Exhibition Catalogues
  • Handbooks
  • Art & Architecture Research Guide

Visual Arts Librarian

Profile Photo
Laura Graveline
Email Me
Contact:
Sherman Art Library & Art Special Collection
Website
Social: Facebook Page LinkedIn Page Instagram Page
Subjects: Art History & Studio Art

Essays

  • Artists' books : a critical anthology and sourcebook
    Call Number: N7433.3 .A75 1985
    ISBN: 0898220416
    Sherman
  • A book of the book
    Call Number: Z116 .B665 2000
    ISBN: 1887123296
    Sherman
  • The book, spiritual instrument
    ISBN: 1887123083
    Sherman, Rauner Ref

Monographs

  • No longer innocent : book art in America : 1960-1980 by Bright, Betty
    Call Number: Z1033.F5 B75 2005
    ISBN: 1887123717
    Sherman
  • Speaking of book art by Courtney, Cathy
    Call Number: N7433.35.G7 C68 1999
    ISBN: 0962637254
    Sherman
  • The book before printing : ancient, medieval, and oriental by Diringer, David
    Call Number: Z6 .D57 1982
    ISBN: 0486242439
    Baker Berry
  • A century of artists' books by Drucker, Johanna
    Call Number: N7433.3 .D78 1995
    ISBN: 1887123016
    Sherman, Rauner Ref
  • Figuring the word by Drucker, Johanna
    Call Number: Z239.G7233 D776 1998
    ISBN: 1887123237
    Sherman
  • The alphabetic labyrinth by Drucker, Johanna
    Call Number: P211 .D78 1995
    ISBN: 0500016089
    Storage
  • Art made from books : altered, sculpted, carved, transformed by Heyenga, Laura
    Call Number: TT896.3 .H49 2013
    ISBN: 1452117101
    Publication Date: 2013
  • The cutting edge of reading : artists' books by Hubert, Renée Riese
    Call Number: N7433.3 .H83 1999
    ISBN: 1887123210
    Sherman
  • Letterpress : the allure of the handmade by Jury, David
    Call Number: Z252.5.R4 J879 2004
    ISBN: 2880467845
    Baker Berry
  • Cover ArtArtist - Author by Cornelia Lauf; Clive Phillpot; Glenn O'Brien (Contribution by); Jane Rolo (Contribution by); Brian Wallis (Contribution by); Renée Green (Designed by)
    Call Number: N7433.3 .L37 1998 Sherman
    ISBN: 9781881616948
    Publication Date: 1998-02-01
    Catalog of a travelling exhibition held at the Weatherspoon Art Gallery, Greensboro, N.C., Feb. 8-Aug. 12, 1998; and five other art museums, Aug. 31, 1998-Dec. 18, 1999.
  • Artists books : a critical survey of the literature by Klima, Stefan
    Call Number: N7433.3 .K64 1998
    ISBN: 1887123180
    Sherman
  • Books as history by Pearson, David
    Call Number: Z4 .P43 2008
    ISBN: 0712349235
    Baker Berry
  • Public lettering : script, power, and culture by Petrucci, Armando
    Call Number: P211.3.I8 P4813 1993
    ISBN: 0226663868
    Baker Berry
  • Structure of the visual book by Smith, Keith A.
    Call Number: Z116.A3 S58 2005
    Sherman
  • Text in the book format by Smith, Keith A.
    Call Number: Z116.A3 S59 1989
    Sherman
  • Next: Exhibition Catalogues >>
  • Last Updated: Jun 25, 2024 12:30 PM
  • URL: https://researchguides.dartmouth.edu/c.php?g=59731
  • Print Page
Login to LibApps
Report a problem
Tags: art, art_history, artists_books, book_arts, sherman, studio_art

Dartmouth Libraries

  • Baker-Berry Library
    • Book Arts Workshop
    • Evans Map Room
    • Jones Media Center
  • Health Sciences and Biomedical Libraries
  • Feldberg Business & Engineering Library
  • Rauner Special Collections Library
  • Records Management
  • Sherman Art Library

About Us

  • Staff Directory
  • Subject Librarians
  • Library Departments
  • Policies
  • Employment
  • Accessibility
  • Federal Depository Library

Contact Us

  • 25 North Main Street
    Hanover, NH, USA 03755
  • Phone: 603-646-2567
  • Contact Us

Give Us Feedback

Dartmouth Libraries

Footer copyright

  • Dartmouth College
  • Copyright © 2025 Trustees of Dartmouth College
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • YouTube
Privacy Policy
Close
Ask Us
Now!