Research Guides: News and Newspapers: Home

Leading U.S. Newspapers

Wall Street Journal (Website via Dartmouth Library)
Instructions for registration and renewal of access. Publication websites are valuable for current content. Full-text databases often provide a better search for content over a few days.
Wall Street Journal (Full-Text Databases)
Current and historical content on several platforms.
New York Times (Website via Dartmouth Libraries)
Instructions for registration and renewal of access. Publication websites are valuable for current content. Full-text databases often provide a better search for content over a few days.
New York Times (Full-Text Databases)
Current and historical content on several platforms.
Washington Post (Website via Dartmouth Library and other resources)
Use the first resource in this record for the publication's website—subsequent resources present current and historical content on several platforms.
New York Post
USA Today
Los Angeles Times
Minneapolis Star Tribune
Newsday
Chicago Tribune
Tampa Bay Times

In the Spotlight: The Atlantic

The Atlantic
Use the first The Atlantic Direct Access link in the catalog record for The Atlantic's website; type “Dartmouth” in the institution list, and sign in with your NetID and password. Web-based archives and current print editions are also available. For a more concerted search, use one or more of ABI/Inform, Readex, EBSCO, ProQuest Central, Nexis Uni, or Factiva for search and current content.

In the Spotlight: Interactive Media Bias Chart

Ad Fontes Media: The Interactive Media Bias Chart
An interactive representation of news and opinion media on axes of reliability and political bias across formats. Create custom charts. Filter by various dimensions. A service provide by Ad Fontes Media.
Media Bia Chart: Methodology
For an extensive account of the methodology employed by Ad Fontes in its Media Bia Chart, please consult the most recent iteration of their white paper.
Media Bias Chart: About Us
"Ad Fontes Media is a public benefit corporation based in Colorado. Being a public benefit corporation means we are a for-profit business with a stated public mission, which is to rate all the news to positively transform society."

Other Spotlight Resources

PressReader
Full-text newspapers and magazines from the United States and worldwide. Selections in English, Spanish, French, Chinese, and dozens of other languages.
The Wire China
"[A] digital news magazine dedicated to understanding and explaining one of the biggest stories of our time: China's economic rise, and its influence on global business, finance, trade, labor and the environment."
Current Digest of the Chinese Press
An English-language digest of Chinese journalism and opinion, selecting items for a representative look at current press coverage. Retrospective to 2012.
Current Digest of the Russian Press.
An English-language digest of Russian journalism and opinion, selecting items for a representative look at current press coverage. Retrospective to 1949.

The Boston Globe

Boston Globe (Online)
The Globe's current website and historical content are available via direct access. Print facsimile via PressReader. Other platforms listed provide access to current and historical content in full-text.
The Boston Globe (Print)
Find current print issues at Feldberg Business and Engineering Library.

The Valley News

The Valley News (Website and Online)
Use Valley News Online for current content. Use ProQuest Central for 2005-2020. For earlier content, request the microfilm noted below.
The Valley News (Print and Microfilm)
For recent print -- issues retained varies by location -- see holding at Baker-Berry and Feldberg libraries. Microfilm is available for 1952- .

Chronicling America: The New Hampshire Project

New Hampshire Gazette (1793-1837)
The first title from the New Hampshire National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP) project, led by librarians at Dartmouth College.

Look at this project page for more information about the New Hampshire to NDNP.

Business News

In addition to The Wall Street Journal and The Financial Times linked elsewhere on this page, please make use of this extraordinary selection of business news resources curated by Dartmouth Library's business librarians: https://researchguides.dartmouth.edu/business/news.

Higher Education News

The Chronicle of Higher Education
The website is available via Dartmouth Library; see catalog record for link and instructions. Searchable contemporary content via ProQuest Central, Nexis Uni, and EBSCO Academic Search Complete. Historical content is available via microform and bound print.
The Chronicle of Philanthropy
The website is available via Dartmouth Library; see catalog record for link and instructions. Searchable contemporary content via ProQuest Central, Nexis Uni, and EBSCO Academic Search Complete.
Times Higher Education Supplement
Searchable text databases, 2007-. Except for Factiva, the most recent six months are not available.

Leading Magazines for News and Comment

The Economist
Use the Economist Newspaper for access to the website. To search current content, use ABI/INFORM or ProQuest Central. Gale Historical Archive provides content, 1843-2015.
The Atlantic
Use the first The Atlantic Direct Access link in the catalog record for The Atlantic's website; type “Dartmouth” in the institution list, and sign in with your NetID and password. Web-based archives and current print editions are also available. For a more concerted search, use one or more of ABI/Inform, Readex, EBSCO, ProQuest Central, Nexis Uni, or Factiva for search and current content.
Time
No website access. Current and historical content via various platforms.
Foreign Affairs (PressReader)
No website access. Replica of the current print issue. No access to web-only content.
Foreign Affairs
No website access. Current and historical print content. HeinOnline and JSTOR (four-year embargo) afford complete or deep historical runs. Select the platform appropriate to the period of interest to you. Experiment with platforms to determine the application to your research.
Foreign Policy
For the website, use Miscellaneous Ejournals. For archive (1970-), use Foreign Policy Archive. Select the platform appropriate to the period of interest to you. Experiment with platforms to determine the application to your research.
The New Statesman
No website access. Current and historical content via numerous platforms.
National Review
No website access. Current and historical content via various platforms. The National Review Archive for content from inception.
New Republic
No website access. Current and historical content via numerous platforms.
Dissent
No website access. For current content, select from various platforms. For historical content, select Opinion Archive.

Leading English-Language Paywalled Digital News Outlets*

The New York Times
Corporate website. See Leading Newspapers for information on access via Dartmouth Library.
Substack
Corporate website. No access to Substack content via Dartmouth Library.
The Wall Street Journal
See Leading Newspapers for information on access via Dartmouth Library.
The Washington Post
See Leading Newspapers for information on access via Dartmouth Library.
Gannett
Corporate website. Specific Gannett publications and outlets may be available via Dartmouth Library.
Cafeyn
Personalized access to newspaper and magazine content. No access to Cafeyn via Dartmouth Libraries.
US Weekly
Entertainment and celebrity news. Current print issues via PressReader. Historical print content via various platforms. No access to the website.
Barron's
The Financial Times
The website is available via Dartmouth Library. See catalog record for link and instructions. Searchable contemporary content is available via Newsbank Access World News, ProQuest Central, and Factiva. Historical content is available via Gale's Financial Times Historical Archive.
News Corp Australia
Corporate website. Specific News Corp Australia publications and outlets may be available via Dartmouth Library.

*Leading English-language Paywalled Digital News reflects the most recent top-10 paywalled English-language news publishers by paid subscription, as reported in Print Gazette. Some of these entities and their respective publications and outlets are accessible via Dartmouth Library. Others are not.

News and Newspaper Databases: Nexis Uni, Factiva, and NewsBank

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full-text resources on current and general news from around the globe in English and other languages.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Global and multilingual full-text current and general news and newspapers.

Newsbank Access World News Research Collection
Extensive collection with thousands of titles. Particular strengths in eighteenth and nineteenth-century U.S. newspapers and contemporary English-language newspapers and news from beyond North America. Valley News and Concord Monitor on a one-month delay.

Help with News Databases

Nexis Uni, Factiva, and Newsbank are enormous collections (or "aggregators") of diverse news sources. To best use their respective features, you should be prepared to spend some time with their documentation and instruction.

Manage Your Research

Zotero
A free citation and research management tool created for historians by historians.
Mendeley
A free citation and research management tool with particular strength with PDFs and recommendations based on your research history.