Skip to main content

Business Career Guide : Social Enterprise

Research for career search and interview prep (company profiles, industry overviews, news) in the social & nonprofit sectors

Search News/Journals/Magazines for Articles

NGOs

Finding Companies & People in the NonProfit Sector

Guidestar Premium

Database of nonprofit organizations in the US. Search by name or a set of criteria. Reports include general information on the nonprofit, people, mission and programs, goals and results, Form 990 filings, and financial data.

NonProfit Search examples:

Find nonprofits in California that deal with energy initiatives and have incomes up to $500K:

  • State = California
  • NTEE Code = C35 (Energy Resources Conservation and Development)
  • Income = 100K-500K
Find nonprofits in the Seattle, WA area with interest in the environment or energy:

  • Zipcode = 98101 and 50 mile radius
  • Keyword = environment* energ*

Foundation Directory Online

Database of U.S. foundations, corporate giving programs, and grantmaking public charities; includes links to foundation web sites, links to 990-PF's (foundation tax filings) and application guidelines. Also contains database of grants awarded by the top funders.

D&B Hoovers

Includes U.S. non-profit organizations. Search for non-profits using the "build a list" link under companies.

Search examples:

Find biotech nonprofits in New England:

  • Companies > Build a List
  • US/Canada tab
  • Region = New England
  • Ownership = Non Profit Parent, Non Profit Subsidiary, Non Profit Independent
  • OneSource Industry = Biotechnology and Drugs
Find executives in nonprofit with a title that contains the word venture:

  • Executives tab
  • Global tab
  • Ownership = Non Profit
  • Title = venture

Capital IQ

Screen for companies: choose company type and select foundation/charitable institution (or arts, educational, government).

Search examples:

Find non-profits in the greater Boston or NYC areas:

  • Screening & Analytics Tab > Screening > Companies
  • Company Details > Geographic Locations > choose Boston Area and New York City Area
  • Company Details > Company type > choose foundation/charitable institution (or arts, educational, religious).

Trucost Online

View and download individual Company Briefings that detail Key Issues, Data Disclosure, Peer Group Analysis and Regulatory Assessments.