This is the "Home" page of the "Patent Searching" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Patent Searching   Tags: patents prior_art  

Last Updated: Jun 3, 2014 URL: http://researchguides.dartmouth.edu/patents Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search Strategy for U.S. Patents

1. Brainstorm keywords related to the purpose, use and composition of the invention.


2. Use Ei Patents to search your keywords; gather preliminary U.S. Classifications by reviewing the abstracts and classification definitions from the Ei Patents’ records; examine the claims and drawings from the full-text of patents; examine patents under the links, “Patent Refs” and “Cited by”, for relevancy.


3. Use the U.S. Classifications you gathered to search Ei Patents by classification number. Review the abstracts, claims and drawings for relevancy. Check all references and note the U.S. Classifications and “Field of Search” areas for additional class/subclasses to search.

see also:

Seven Step Strategy (USPTO)

How to Conduct a Preliminary U.S. Patent Search (USPTO, Video)

Prior Art Searching

Prior art searching includes more than searching patent databases, but requires checking the journal literature, dissertations, conference papers, eprints, the Web and advertising sources for any previous description of the invention. Examples include Summon and Ei Compendex for a published literature search and ThomasNet for product advertising.

see also:

Prior Art Electronic Resources Available to Patent Examiners (USPTO)

 

Patents

Search the literature & web

  • Compendex
    Includes the following areas of engineering: civil, energy, environmental, geological, biological, electrical, electronics and control, chemical, mining, metals, fuel, mechanical, automotive, nuclear, and aerospace as well as computers, robotics, and industrial robots.
    INSPEC Archive (1898 to 1968) is now included; select also GEOBASE, US PATENTS, EP PATENTS.
  • IEEE Xplore
    Includes the IEEE-Wiley eBooks Library and IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL)
  • Web of Science
    Includes:
    Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present)
    Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (1990-present)
  • PubMed
    Primary index to the biomedical literature
  • Summon
    Search across much of the library content including journals and newspapers; multi-disciplinary and full-text
  • Search the Web via Scirus
    Or Google Scholar or Google or Bing ...
  • ThomasNet
    Products catalog
  • Globalspec Engineering Search
    29,000 digitized catalogs that represent over 2.1 million products and over 172 million searchable product specs; product and industry e-newsletters.

Engineering Librarians

Profile Image
Mark Mounts & Janifer Holt
Logo - Twitter
Contact Info
Feldberg Library
6193 Murdough Center
Hanover, NH 03755-3560

Holt: Office 101D; phone 603-646-3066
Mounts: Office 101F; phone 603-646-1145
Fax: 603-646-2384
Send Email
Subjects:
Engineering
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip