Research Guides: Writing 5: Rhetoric of Disability and Accessibility: Affinity Specific Resources

Accessibility in Education

Keywords of note: higher education, elementary education, students with disabilities, inclusive education

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database with broad coverage of education literature -- pedagogy, cognition, policy, and social conditions of school-aged populations. Includes scholarly journals as well as reports, lesson plans, and more.

Dartmouth Education Research Guide
National Center for Education Statistics
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S. and other nations. NCES is located within the U.S. Department of Education and the Institute of Education Sciences. NCES fulfills a Congressional mandate to collect, collate, analyze, and report complete statistics on the condition of American education; conduct and publish reports; and review and report on education activities internationally.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises over 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.

Technology and Disability. (Journal)
List of Books on Technology and Disability
Usability.gov
Federal standards for web accessibility according to Section 508.
Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) Overview
The WCAG documents explain how to make web content more accessible to people with disabilities.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, biology, ecology, and other fields of the sciences, humanities, and social sciences.
JSTOR Image Search This link opens in a new window
Search the Artstor Image Library including Dartmouth Collections & content from museums, collections & archives around the world. View & analyze images through features such as zooming. Save both image files & citations.

The Routledge Handbook of Disability Arts Culture and Media by Bree Hadley (Editor); Donna McDonald (Editor)
ISBN: 0815368410
Publication Date: 2018-12-11
The Oxford Handbook of Music and Disability Studies by Blake Howe (Editor); Stephanie Jensen-Moulton (Editor); Neil Lerner (Editor); Joseph Straus (Editor)
ISBN: 0199331448
Publication Date: 2015-11-12
Contemporary Art and Disability Studies by Alice Wexler (Editor); John Derby (Editor)
ISBN: 0367203278
Publication Date: 2019-12-20
Routledge Companion to Disability and Media by Katie Ellis (Editor); Gerard Goggin (Editor); Beth Haller (Editor)
ISBN: 1138884588
Publication Date: 2019-11-20

List of Sport Journals
Sports Market Analytics
A continuously updated source of full text articles providing news and market research information from sports industry sources. Includes international sporting goods equipment market reports for 35 countries, export and import statistics, trade magazine and newsletter pages dealing with finance, licensing, fashion, women's and youth sports, marketing, sponsorship, research reports, sports broadcasting, ratings and more.