The White Mountains

1965-1992: The papers of Robert L. McGrath contain research for his book "The Art of the White Mountains of New Hampshire," and include photographs, negatives and slides of works by 19th century American landscapes artists. Artists covered include Paul Sample, Edward Bierstadt, Thomas Cole, Winslow Homer, Georges Loring Brown and Edward Hill. Photocopies of articles, catalogues, exhibition notes and some correspondence is also included.

1934-1994: The collection contains correspondence, research notes, bibliographical notes and printed material reflecting Walter Wright's interest in the history and bibliography of the White Mountains. Correspondents include J.B. Lankes, Douglas Philbrick, Bryant Tolles and Laura and Guy Waterman. Also includes research files and correspondence with other individuals interested in the history of the White Mountains as well as correspondence relating to his collection of White Mountains materials given to the Mount Washington Observatory Library in 1990 and his development of the White Mountains Collection at Dartmouth College Library.

1937-1982: The collection contains diaries (1945-1982), slides, and a photographic album (1937) related to the White Mountains.

1825-1996: The White Mountains Vertical Files collection is a subject file collection created by Rauner Special Collections Library containing brochures, travel guides, flyers, prints, clippings, maps, magazine articles, postcards, photographs, train tickets, and other ephemera related to the White Mountain region of New Hampshire. These materials relate to tourism, outdoor recreation, and local history of the region. The collection describes and documents the history of individual mountains and towns in the region, with a special focus on tourism, resorts, and outdoor recreation, including hiking and mountain climbing. Dartmouth Library began collecting the materials in the 1930s and continued into the 1990s. Some unusual items include a miniature book of White Mountains etchings printed on birch bark and a sketchbook from approximately 1889 with pencil drawings and watercolors of White Mountains scenes.

1870-1979: The papers of Frances Ann Johnson Hancock contain manuscripts of books, articles, poetry and essays on New Hampshire and the White Mountains region, as well as juvenile works on New Hampshire, materials relating to the controversy over Interstate Highway I-93 through Franconia Notch, essays and poetry on the Profile (Old Man of the Mountain) and a history of Bretton Woods Boy Singers. Some personal material is also included.

1797-1844, 1978: The papers of Lucy Crawford contain correspondence, legal papers, register, account books, and other papers of Lucy and Ethan Allen Crawford. Includes several manuscripts of her "History of the White Mountains," an interleaved copy of the printed work with additions and corrections, and M.M. Tidd's woodblocks for the publication. Also includes papers relating to the publication of the book in 1966 and the republication in 1978.

1790-1906: The papers of John H. Spauding contain correspondence, bills, accounts, notebooks and other personal papers relating to his career in the White Mountains and northern New Hampshire. Includes a diary recounting his travels on a New Hampshire/Canadian boundary survey in 1845. Correspondents include Frederic Holmer Balch, William Spencer Ladd, Jacob Benton and Benjamin Franklin Whidden.

1855: The collection contains the revised manuscript of Benjamin G. Willey's 1855 book "Incidents in White mountain history: containing facts relating to the discovery and settlement of the mountains, Indian history and traditions, a minute and authentic account of the destruction of the Willey family, geology and temperature of the mountains; together with numerous anecdotes illustrating life in the back woods." It was revised and published by Frederick Thompson as "History of the White Mountains" in 1870. The manuscript may well be Willey's original with additions by Thompson.