Images for Research & Presentations: Find Images on the Web

In the collections of the British Museum the world can write the new histories that it needs to understand its past and shape its future.

The Getty Search Gateway allows users to search across several of the Getty repositories, including collections databases, library catalogs, collection inventories, and archival finding aids.

Explore museums from around the world, discover and view hundreds of artworks at incredible zoom levels, and even create and share your own collection of masterpieces.

The Bartleby.com edition of Gray’s Anatomy of the Human Body features 1,247 vibrant engravings—many in color—from the classic 1918 publication, as well as a subject index with 13,000 entries ranging from the Antrum of Highmore to the Zonule of Zinn.

These sets are just a small sample of the Library's digital collections that are free to use and reuse. The digital collections comprise millions of items including books, newspapers, manuscripts, prints and photos, maps, musical scores, films, sound recordings and more.

The Musee du Louvre houses 35,000 works of art drawn from eight departments, displayed in over 60,000 square meters of exhibition space dedicated to the permanent collections. Explore the works on display, taking a thematic or cross-departmental approach.

The Metropolitan Museum's collection now contains more than two million works of art from all points of the compass, ancient through modern times. About 6,500 objects highlights from each of the Museum's curatorial departments can be accessed online.

With a collection of 450,000 objects, the MFA owns some of the most rare and important artistic treasures in the world.

The National Gallery of Art houses one of the finest collections in the world. More than 5,600 objects from the collection are available online.

National Geographic's online photo galleries

The Picture Collection Online is an image resource site for those who seek knowledge and inspiration from visual materials. It is a collection of 30,000 digitized images from books, magazines and newspapers as well as original photographs, prints and postcards, mostly created before 1923.

The Public Art Archive™ (www.PublicArtArchive.org™) is both a project and “The Archive™” database. The PAA project is a national effort to increase public awareness and stewardship of public artworks, including “The Archive” database, a Tumblr blog titled “Find, Know, and Grow Your Public Art”, at http://publicartarchive.tumblr.com/, various educational initiatives and local community engagement efforts. “The Archive” database is a free, online and mobile accessible catalog of completed public artworks worldwide. It was launched in 2009 and continues to grow both in content and features.

The Ryerson & Burnham Archives collect artists' and architects' papers that complement and extend the permanent collections of the museum's curatorial departments. The Archives' collections are notably strong in late 19th- and 20th-century American architecture, with particular depth in Midwest, Chicago School, Prairie School and organic architecture. Architects such as Edward Bennett, Daniel Burnham, Bruce Goff, Bertrand Goldberg, Ludwig Hilberseimer, Mies van der Rohe, Louis Sullivan, and Frank Lloyd Wright and events such as the World's Columbian Exposition of 1893 and the 1933 Century of Progress International Exposition are represented in a broad range of graphic and textual records. The Archives also collect the papers of artists, designers and scholars such as Ivan Albright, Irving Penn, André Mellerio, and Richard Ten Eyck.

Search over 9.0 million catalog records of museum objects, and library & archives materials. More than 1,085,000 of these records contain online images, video and sound files, electronic journals and other online resources.

The Visual Arts Data Service (VADS) has built up a considerable portfolio of visual art collections comprising over 100,000 images that are freely available and copyright cleared for use in learning, teaching and research in the UK.

Search 1,159,094 objects and 464,231 images
from the V&A's collections

A virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture of the Gothic, Renaissance, Baroque, Neoclassicism and Romanticism periods (1100-1850), currently containing over 19.300 reproductions.

The Picture Collection Online is an image resource site for those who seek knowledge and inspiration from visual materials. It is a collection of 30,000 digitized images from books, magazines and newspapers as well as original photographs, prints and postcards, mostly created before 1923.

The Visual Arts Data Service (VADS) has built up a considerable portfolio of visual art collections comprising over 100,000 images that are freely available and copyright cleared for use in learning, teaching and research in the UK.