Global Health: A Practical Guide

Translate text, webpages and documents. You can also install a translator into a Google toolbar (see Tools and Resources on the Google Translate page)

This page links you to instructions on how to access for library resources from off-campus.

The HINARI Program, set up by WHO together with major publishers, enables developing countries to gain access to one of the world's largest collections of biomedical and health literature.

Strengthening Research and Knowledge Systems (SRKS) is INASP’s flagship program, running for five years from April 2013. SRKS is built on and supersedes the PERI program and among other things "continues the negotiation of free and low-cost online resources from a wide range of publishers across many disciplines".

PubMed is a freely available search engine provided by the U.S. National Library of Medicine to search the MEDLINE database. PubMed provides links to the full text of articles freely available through PubMed Central.

A directory of open access journals, "journals that use a funding model that does not charge readers or their institutions for access". Browse journals by subject category.

UpToDate Donations Programa allows Implementation of free UpToDate access for regions with urgent need following natural disasters or viral outbreaks. A donations program administered in partnership with Global Health Delivery (GHD) for sites outside of the United States and the Society of General Internal Medicine (SGIM) for sites within the United States.

he Global Index Medicus (GIM) provides worldwide access to biomedical and public health literature produced by and within low-middle income countries. The main objective is to increase the visibility and usability of this important set of resources. The material is collated and aggregated by WHO Regional Office Libraries on a central search platform allowing retrieval of bibliographical and full text information.

In order to give access to health information published in or related to Africa and to encourage local publishing, the World Health Organization, in collaboration with the Association for Health Information and Libraries in Africa (AHILA), has produced an international index to African health literature and information sources.

Index Medicus for South-East Asia Region (IMSEAR) is an archive of selected publications in health sciences in the WHO South-East Asia Region. Materials in IMSEAR include formally published health science journals, health reports and documents.

The Index Medicus for the Eastern Mediterranean Region, one of the major projects of the Virtual Health Sciences Library, was initiated in response to a pressing need to index health and biomedical journals from the Region. The vast majority of these journals are not currently indexed internationally or abstracts provided

LILACS is the most important and comprehensive index of scientific and technical literature of Latin America and the Caribbean, contributing to increase visibility, access and quality of health information in the Region.

The Western Pacific Region Index Medicus (WPRIM) is the regional bibliographic index of medical and health journals published by the Member States of the Western Pacific Region