Image sources on the web
- ArtfinderArtfinder gives you access to hundreds of thousands of paintings from artists, galleries, museums and collections around the world.
- Audubon's Birds of America at the University of PittsburghThe University of Pittsburgh presents the complete double elephant folio set of Audubon’s Birds of America, accompanied by his Ornithological Biography, through this Web site.
- British MuseumIn the collections of the British Museum the world can write the new histories that it needs to understand its past and shape its future.
- Flickr.comLargest public image repository on the web.
Instructions: Select the photo and open the actions menu, then click the '"View all Sizes" link inside the menu. On the next page, choose the size you want to download and click the link in the "Download" section. - The Getty Search GatewayThe Getty Search Gateway allows users to search across several of the Getty repositories, including collections databases, library catalogs, collection inventories, and archival finding aids.
- Google Arts & CultureExplore museums from around the world, discover and view hundreds of artworks at incredible zoom levels, and even create and share your own collection of masterpieces.
- Gray's AnatomyThe Bartleby.com edition of Gray’s Anatomy of the Human Body features 1,247 vibrant engravings—many in color—from the classic 1918 publication, as well as a subject index with 13,000 entries ranging from the Antrum of Highmore to the Zonule of Zinn.
- Library of Congress - American Memory ProjectAmerican Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
- Louvre MuseumThe Musee du Louvre houses 35,000 works of art drawn from eight departments, displayed in over 60,000 square meters of exhibition space dedicated to the permanent collections. Explore the works on display, taking a thematic or cross-departmental approach.
- Metropolitan Museum of ArtThe Metropolitan Museum's collection now contains more than two million works of art from all points of the compass, ancient through modern times. About 6,500 objects highlights from each of the Museum's curatorial departments can be accessed online.
- Museum of Fine Arts BostonWith a collection of 450,000 objects, the MFA owns some of the most rare and important artistic treasures in the world.
- National Gallery of ArtThe National Gallery of Art houses one of the finest collections in the world. More than 5,600 objects from the collection are available online.
- National Geographic PhotographyNational Geographic's online photo galleries
- New Deal/WPA Art ProjectOn May 6, 1935, the Works Progress Administration (W.P.A.) was created to help provide economic relief to the citizens of the United States who were suffering through the Great Depression.
- New York Public Library Picture Collection OnlineThe Picture Collection Online is an image resource site for those who seek knowledge and inspiration from visual materials. It is a collection of 30,000 digitized images from books, magazines and newspapers as well as original photographs, prints and postcards, mostly created before 1923.
- VADS: the online resource for visual artsThe Visual Arts Data Service (VADS) has built up a considerable portfolio of visual art collections comprising over 100,000 images that are freely available and copyright cleared for use in learning, teaching and research in the UK.
- Vistas:Visual Culture in Spanish America, 1520-1820The Vistas project seeks to bring an understanding of the visual culture of Spanish America to a broad audience.
- Web Gallery of ArtA virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture of the Gothic, Renaissance, Baroque, Neoclassicism and Romanticism periods (1100-1850), currently containing over 19.300 reproductions.
Jones Media Center resources
LinkedIn Learning Online Training
Thousands of video tutorials on a wide range of software programs. Access from your dorm room, your office, or come in to Jones Media Center.
Quick Reference Tutorials
Instructions for scanning and editing photos and images
Borrow Photo Equipment
Digital cameras, tripods, and accessories
Scan Slides and Documents
Scanners are available at our editing stations
Photography Resources
The Ultimate Savings Guide for Beginner Photographers: 50+ Tips and Resources
This is a beginner’s guide to photography aimed at bringing novices to a higher level without breaking the bank. We’ve outlined all the ways you can save while getting into photography as well as some digital photography basics to help you get started on your own. (Thanks to the Girl Scouts of Green and White Mountains for this suggestion!)
Create Photo Stories
• Create Interactive Instagram Stories
• Exposure
Edit Photos Online
Images OF Dartmouth
Dartmouth Flickr Account
Photos of the Dartmouth community taken by Dartmouth's professional photographer, Eli Burakian '00
Dartmouth Photographic Records (1938 - present)
This collection contains details about the thousands of images created by College Photographers Adrian N. Bouchard (1938-1976); Stuart Bratesman (1985-1993); and Joseph Mehling (1993-present). This photographic record of Dartmouth College life is maintained by the Photographic Records section of Rauner Special Collections Library in Webster Hall.
Image resources at Dartmouth Library
- Dartmouth Photographic Records CatalogSearch photographic images in the Dartmouth College Archive & Special Collection.
- Early encounters in North America: Peoples, cultures, and the environment.This release of Early Encounters in North America contains 1,482 authors and over 100,000 pages of letters, diaries, images, memoirs and accounts of early encounters.
- Hood Museum of Art CollectionComprising nearly 60,000 works of art and artifacts from a broad range of cultures and historical periods, the permanent collection of the Hood Museum of Art represents a remarkable cultural and educational asset for both Dartmouth College and the communities of the Upper Valley region of Vermont and New Hampshire. The nearly 30,000 objects that originally constituted the College's ethnographic collection are among the museum's most important holdings, in which Native American, African, and Melanesian art are well represented. The permanent collection of the Hood Museum of Art is equally strong in works representing the diverse artistic traditions of Europe, Asia, and the United States. Particularly noteworthy are the museum's collection of American portraits and landscape paintings, and its holdings of American and European prints, drawings, and watercolors, which today number nearly 20,000 sheets.
- Index of Medieval ArtBased on The Index of Christian Art, composed of early Christian and medieval art objects to 1400, this database contains works indexed since 1991. Over 8,000 images are presently available.
- New York times ProQuest historical newspapersThis collection offers full-page images and articles from the New York Times from its first issue in 1851 to three years before the current date. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue in downloadable PDF files.
- Oxford Art OnlineOxford Art Online provides a gateway to search Grove Art Online (+ images), The Oxford, Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
- JSTOR Image Search This link opens in a new windowSearch the Artstor Image Library including Dartmouth Collections & content from museums, collections & archives around the world. View & analyze images through features such as zooming. Save both image files & citations.
