Reference Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Internet sites for citing references
A note of caution: BibMe, Son of Citation Machine and EasyBib are all owned by the same company. It is very possible they will fold all of these citation managers into 1 resource.
- Chicago Manual of Style Online (CMS) Quick Guide
This is a quick guide to the Chicago style of citations. Use this link when you know what you want. - Citation Machine
Citation Machine™ automatically generates citations in MLA, APA, Chicago, Turabian, and thousands more!
Citing and Tracking Your Bibliographic References
Use this guide to help you learn how to correctly cite and keep track of the references you find for your research.
Introduction
Managing your citations means keeping track of all the resources used for research and writing and being able to easily generate reference lists and bibliographies. It also means using the corrent formats for various resources. These pages in this LibGuide can help you do that with various resources from the Libraries and on the web.
Some of the information in this guide is taken from the Research Guide "Citation Resources."
Introductory reading(s) for correct citations
Cite right: a quick guide to citation styles--MLA, APA, Chicago, the sciences, professions, and more by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 171 .F56 L55 2018ISBN: 9780226431109Publication Date: 3rd ed.Cite Right is the perfect guide for anyone who needs to learn a new citation style or who needs an easy reference to Chicago, MLA, APA, AMA, and other styles. Each chapter serves as a quick guide that introduces the basics of a style, explains who might use it, and then presents an abundance of examples. ...
- Sources and Citations at DartmouthThis site provides a broad overview of the practice of citing sources. It discusses why learning to cite sources is an essential part of your education, as well as why failing to cite your sources properly can have serious consequences. This document covers a wide range of scenarios relating to citing sources, plagiarism, and Dartmouth's Academic Honor Principle.
Managing citations
- Cite right: a quick guide to citation styles--MLA, APA, Chicago, the sciences, professions, and more by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 171 .F56 L55 2018ISBN: 9780226431109Publication Date: 3rd ed.Cite Right is the perfect guide for anyone who needs to learn a new citation style or who needs an easy reference to Chicago, MLA, APA, AMA, and other styles. Each chapter serves as a quick guide that introduces the basics of a style, explains who might use it, and then presents an abundance of examples. ...
EasyBibCall Number: Electronic resourceEasyBib is an intuitive information literacy platform that provides citation, note taking, and research tools that are easy-to-use and educational. EasyBib is not only accurate, fast, and comprehensive, but helps educators teach and students learn how to become effective and organized researchers.- Sources and Citations at Dartmouth byCall Number: Electronic resourceThis document provides a broad overview of the practice of citing sources. It discusses why learning to cite sources is an essential part of your education, as well as why failing to cite your sources properly can have serious consequences.
Zotero by Call Number: Electronic resourceZotero is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources. It automatically senses content in your web browser and allows you to add it to your personal library with a single click.
In the Library's collections
Most of these citation manuals are in the Reference areas at various libraries. Baker/Berry Library keeps additional copies at the Information/Reference Desk.
The ACS guide to scholarly communication by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780841235830The ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication covers everything from classic journal authoring topics (now completely modernized) such as Organization of Your Article and Peer Review, to styling conventions needed for all scholarly communication, such as Chemical Nomenclature and Effective Writing and Word Usage, to emerging areas of interest in scholarly communication, including Open Access & Open Science, Sharing Data, Communicating Safety Information, and Preprints.
The Chicago manual of style online by Call Number: Electronic resourcePublication Date: 18th ed.The Chicago Manual of Style Online is the venerable, time-tested guide to style, usage, and grammar in an accessible online format. ¶ It is the indispensable reference for writers, editors, proofreaders, indexers, copywriters, designers, and publishers, informing the editorial canon with sound, definitive advice. ...
Citing medicine the NLM style guide for authors, editors, and publishers by Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2nd ed.; Updated 2015 or laterCiting Medicine provides assistance to authors in compiling lists of references for their publications, to editors in revising such lists, to publishers in setting reference standards for their authors and editors, and to librarians and others in formatting bibliographic citations.
A guide to MLA documentation: with an appendix on APA style by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 147 .T75 2006ISBN: 9780618646944Briefer, cheaper, and easier to use than the MLA s own handbook, this popular booklet features current MLA guidelines, a new section on evaluating online sources, and an up-to-date APA appendix. The guide also provides numerous examples, a sample research paper, and helpful hints on such topics as avoiding plagiarism and taking notes.
MLA handbook by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781603295611Publication Date: 9th ed.The ninth edition of the MLA Handbook is a textbook and reference guide that offers student writers and writing instructors guidance on creating works-cited-list entries in MLA style using the template of core elements. It features advice on punctuation, grammar, inclusive language, formatting research papers, and in-text citations. ...
A pocket guide to writing in history by Call Number: Baker-Berry Ref. D 13 .R295 2021ISBN: 9781319244415Publication Date: 10th ed.A Pocket Guide to Writing in History is the concise, trusted, and easy-to-use guide for the writing and research skills needed in undergraduate history courses. Thoroughly updated to include strategies for making useful outlines and organizing a paper, the tenth edition ensures that students have the most up-to-date advice and ample instruction for writing a research paper for their history class.
Publication manual of the American Psychological Association by Call Number: Baker-Berry Ref. BF 76.7 .P83 2020ISBN: 9781433832154Publication Date: 7th ed.With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. ...
What every student should know about citing sources with MLA documentation by Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 171 .F56 G74 2007ISBN: 9780321447371Publication Date: 1st ed.This easy-to-use guide covers the essentials for documentation according to the rules of the Modern Language Association (MLA). It provides a comprehensive listing of both in-text and works cited models for a wide variety of print, electronic, and online sources. Included too are frequently asked questions about MLA style and guidelines for formatting research papers.
