Map Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Citing at Dartmouth
Dartmouth College has had its own citation guide for a number of years. The Institute on Writing and Rhetoric has updated the guide. It is available for downloading at the link below. The page also has information on plagiarism.
- Sources and Citations at DartmouthThis site provides a broad overview of the practice of citing sources. It discusses why learning to cite sources is an essential part of your education, as well as why failing to cite your sources properly can have serious consequences. This document covers a wide range of scenarios relating to citing sources, plagiarism, and Dartmouth's Academic Honor Principle.
APA Style (Newest = 7th edition)
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by Call Number: Baker-Berry Reference BF76.7 .P83 2020ISBN: 9781433832161Publication Date: 2019-10-01The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style.
Changes in the 7th edition include:
- References can include up to 20 authors.
- Format your reference based on the document type, not the retrieval method. For example, format as a book regardless of whether you accessed it as a print book or ebook.
- Doi's should always be included and formatted as https://doi.org/xxxxx (highlighted and underlined as a link)
- Add a url if you found the work online, it doesn't have a doi, and the link works.
Online resources to refer to:
- APA StyleRefer to for other tips and commonly asked questions about APA style.
- Recorded Webinar: Creating References Using Seventh Edition APA StyleProvided by ACRL and Choice Media, this one hour webinar is a great overview of the APA basics including 7th edition changes.
- APA Style - 7th ed. Quick Reference Guide (APA site)Overview of required elements for journal articles, books, and book chapters
- APA Style: Purdue OWLThe Purdue OWL site provides numerous examples for citing various types of publications and it includes a sample paper illustrating the proper way to format a research paper and cite sources.
MLA Style (Newest = 9th edition)
MLA Handbook (9th edition) by Call Number: Berry Reference LB2369 .M52 2021ISBN: 9781603293518Publication Date: 2021-04-06The new, ninth edition builds on the MLA's unique approach to documenting sources using a template of core elements--facts, common to most sources, like author, title, and publication date--that allows writers to cite any type of work, from books, e-books, and journal articles in databases to song lyrics, online images, social media posts, dissertations, and more.
Online resources to refer to:
- MLA Style: The Purdue OWLThe Purdue OWL site provides numerous examples for citing various types of publications and it includes a sample paper illustrating the proper way to format a research paper and cite sources.
- MLA Style CenterProvides learning resources and a searchable FAQ answered by the staff at the MLA.
Chicago Style (Newest = 18th Edition)
Chicago Manual of Style OnlineISBN: 0226817970Publication Date: 2024-09-19Published September 19, 2024, this latest edition presents substantial changes to citation and other directions for scholars, editors, and publishers alike.
Online resources to refer to:
- Chicago Style: Purdue OWLThe Purdue OWL site provides numerous examples for citing various types of publications and it includes a sample paper illustrating the proper way to format a research paper and cite sources.