This is the "Citing Sources" page of the "Cite & Manage Sources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Cite & Manage Sources   Tags: apa, bibliographies, chicago_manual, citation, mla, references, refworks, sources, style  

Resources to help you cite sources and manage references.
Last Updated: Mar 25, 2014 URL: http://researchguides.dartmouth.edu/citingsources Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Citing Sources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Sources

This document provides a broad overview of the practice of citing sources. It discusses why learning to cite sources is an essential part of your education, as well as why failing to cite your sources properly can have serious consequences. This document covers a wide range of scenarios relating to citing sources, plagiarism, and Dartmouth’s Academic Honor Principle.

 

MLA Style

MLA style is commonly used in first-year Writing courses, as well as Humanities disciplines such as English and Comparative Literature. Unfortunately, the MLA Handbook is not available in electronic form. However, there are a few reliable "crib sheets." Two excellent online sources for MLA style are Research and Documentation Online and The Everyday Writer. An internet search will find other online crib sheets, but when in doubt, check against the MLA Handbook or ask a Librarian.

For complete details on citing sources with MLA style, consult the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 7th ed. Print copies are available at the Baker-Berry Reference Desk and in the Reference collection at call number LB2369 .G53 2009. Additional copies are available at the Reserve Desk in the Orozco Room in Baker Library.

Generally, MLA style uses in-text parenthetical citations with a list of works cited. If your instructor requires you to use footnotes or endnotes, consult Appendix B of the MLA Handbook.

For examples of MLA citation for multimedia sources, see Research and Documentation Online.
 

APA Style

APA style is commonly used in social science disciplines such as psychology, sociology, and anthropology. Unfortunately, the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association  is not available in electronic form, although some supplementary information is available at the APA's website. However, as with MLA style, there are a few reliable "crib sheets." Two excellent online sources for APA style are Research and Documentation Online and The Everyday Writer. An internet search will find other online crib sheets, but when in doubt, check against the APA Manual or ask a Librarian.

Generaly, APA style uses in-text parenthetical citations with a list of works cited. For complete details on citing sources with APA style, consult the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 6th ed. Print copies are available at the Baker-Berry Reference Desk and in the Reference collection at call number BF76.7 .P83 2010. Additional copies are available at the reference desks in Dana, Feldberg, and Matthews-Fuller Libraries.

For examples of APA citation for multimedia sources, see the Online Writing Lab at Purdue University.

 

Chicago Manual of Style, 15th edition

Use the Chicago Manual Quick Guide to find out how to cite books, book chapters, journal articles, and more.

The Quick Guide page shows examples using the Notes & Bibliography format.

To see examples that use the Author-Date format, click on the tab immediately above the first example. Here's what the tabs look like:

If the document type you wish to cite isn't in the Quick Guide, consult Chapter 14 of the Chicago Manual.

Print copies of the Chicago Manual can be found at the Baker Berry Reference Desk as well as Baker Berry Reference Z253 .C57. Copies of the latest edition are also available under the same call number at Kresge Reference, Dana Reference, Matthews-Fuller Reference, and Rauner Reference.

 

 

Need Help Citing Sources?

    Librarians are available to help you, no matter what you're looking for:

    Chat with a librarian
    Text a librarian
    Email us a question
    Phone a reference librarian
    Visit a reference desk in person
    • Get help from a student peer tutor at RWIT, the Student Center for Research, Writing, and Information Technology.

      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip