This is the "Reference Manager Comparison Chart" page of the "Cite & Manage Sources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Cite & Manage Sources   Tags: apa, bibliographies, chicago_manual, citation, mla, references, refworks, sources, style  

Resources to help you cite sources and manage references.
Last Updated: May 22, 2014 URL: http://researchguides.dartmouth.edu/citingsources Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Reference Manager Comparison Chart Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Reference Managers at a Glance

Cost

Free to Dartmouth and DHMC students, staff, and faculty.

Students are eligible for the student discount, which reduces the cost to just under $100. Faculty and staff are eligible for the academic discount, which reduces the cost to about $170.00. Do not purchase EndNote from the company's Web site - you'll end up paying more by doing so. Available at Dartmouth's Computer Sales & Service.

For a free 30-day free trial of EndNote, download it from their Web site at http://www.endnote.com.

Free to all users; open-source.

Zotero is a non-commercial software project of the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media, and is funded by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, the Institute of Museum and Library Services, and the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation.

Platforms

Available for Windows and Macintosh.

Available for Windows and Macintosh.

Available for Windows and Macintosh.

How to get the software

Visit the web site at http://www.refworks.com/ and sign up for an account. Dartmouth site license-no software except a browser required.

For a free 30-day free trial of EndNote, download it from their Web site at http://www.endnote.com. Purchase personal copy at the Computer Sales & Service.

Download from http://zotero.org.

Keeping the software
up-to-date

Updated on the server.

Need to purchase & install upgrades (usually about $100). New filters and connection files are available at http://www.endnote.com/support

Firefox checks periodically for updates of installed extensions, including Zotero, by default.

Compatibility with other reference managers

References can be exported to EndNote, ProCite and Reference Manager. References from these programs can also be imported into RefWorks.

References can be exported to RefWorks, ProCite and Reference Manager. It also exports in RIS format so they can be imported into other reference managers.

References can be exported in a variety of formats, including standard formats like RIS and BibTeX, which can be imported into other reference manager programs.

Where reference files and papers are saved

On the RefWorks server; can retrieve from any networked computer connected to the Dartmouth network - When off-campus, use your Dartmouth Group Code to access your RefWorks account. You can save a reference list to any hard drive for use offline or as back-up. Research paper bibliographies cannot be formated offline.

On your computer only.

Your Zotero library is stored in the 'zotero' directory of either your Firefox profile (Zotero for Firefox) or in the profile of Zotero itself (Zotero Standalone).  You can set up Zotero to sync your library automatically to an account on the Zotero server, so that you can access your references from any computer.

Limits

No limit to the number of references in a database. Notes, abstracts and other user defined fields are limited to one gigabyte of data. More data slows response time.

No limit to the number of references in your EndNote Library.

No limit to the number of references in your Zotero library.  Attached files can be synced using Zotero File Storage; users get 100 MB of free Zotero File Storage for syncing attached files.

Common features

Search databases directly and import references; import references from other sources; edit records; use references in writing papers; automatically format paper to follow any citation style required.  Supports Unicode fonts.

Distinguishing features

• You cannot customize import filters, but can edit and change the output styles.
• Each reference has a unique ID number; references can be organized into folders. A reference can be in multiple folders but will always have the same ID number.
• Write N Cite" works for WORD on Windows and Mac OSX.

• More control over the way references are imported and formatted.
• Each reference has a non-unique ID number; references can be organized into different libraries. A reference can be in multiple libraries but is likely to have a different ID number in each library.
• Has many more import filters and connection files so can import references from many more databases.
• Has many more bibliographic styles to use to format your paper and bibliography. Includes customized templates for submitting articles to many journals.
• Has more customization options such as font variation within a reference.
• "Cite While you Write" is available for Mac and Windows; it is installed when you install EndNote

• Zotero is available as a Firefox extension or as a stand-alone program with connectors for Chrome and Safari
• iTunes-like interface appears directly at the bottom of your browser window; no need to open separate website or program
• Zotero detects bibliographic information on the pages you visit.  A capture icon automatically appears in the browser address bar, for easy import to your Zotero library.  If a full-text PDF is available, it will be automatically attached to the item
• Zotero's Word and OpenOffice plugins allow users to insert citations directly from their word processing software.

Documentation & Help

• Online tutorials and a manual are available under the Help menu.
• Technical support is available via email.
• Support is also available through the Dartmouth College Library's Ask a Librarian service.

• Manual (over 600 pages) in Adobe PDF format. A paper manual is not available.
• Online Guided Tour, Tip Sheets, and technical support via email and telephone: http://www.endnote.com/support/
• Support is also available through the Dartmouth College Library's Ask a Librarian service.

• Documentation includes a QuickStart Guide, FAQ page, and screencast tutorials. See http://www.zotero.org/support/
• Zotero developers and community members offer support through an active forum.
• Support is also available through the Dartmouth College Library's Ask a Librarian service.

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip