ESG & Impact Investing Videos
- ESG & Impact Investing
Dive into data and news sources related to environmental, social, and corporate governance (ESG) and impact investing. Recorded 1/22/25
ESG Overview
- ABCs of ESG Frameworks and Ratings (ESG Navigator)Provides an overview of ESG frameworks, ratings, and rankings.
- Rating the ESG Rating AgenciesJulian Kölbel, Florian Berg and Roberto Rigobon
FT.com, July 3 2023
News
- Responsible InvestorResponsible Investor focuses on business-critical news and data dedicated to covering responsible investment, ESG, and sustainable finance for institutional investors globally. Register for an account. For complete access, email Subscriptions@pei.group from your Dartmouth email account to request access. You will be emailed an access link. No password necessary.
- ImpactAlphaNews and information covering the sustainable and impact investment markets including impact investing, sustainable finance, ESG and entrepreneurship. They offer a daily newsletter and multiple podcasts. The website includes articles, profiles of “agents of impact” and opinion pieces. First time users click on the link and select "register".
Company Information
- PitchBook This link opens in a new windowPitchBook tracks every aspect of the public and private equity markets, including venture capital, private equity and M&A. Research and analyze companies, deals, funds, investors and service providers across the entire private investment lifecycle. Users are limited to 10 downloads per day and 25 downloads per month. (1 download = 1 row of data on an Excel file).
Screen for investors or companies by the impact investing vertical
- Companies Reporting with SASB StandardsThousands of companies around the world and across every sector are using SASB Standards to communicate sustainability information to investors.
- BloombergBloomberg offers ESG data with 10+ years of history for more than 11,700 companies in 100+ countries, organized into 2000 fields. Scores include Board Composition Scores, Industry-specific Environmental & Social (ES) Scores, Environmental & Social News Sentiment Scores, ESG Disclosure Scores, and Bloomberg Gender-Equality Index Scores. ESGB [GO] ESG Data Discovery
- LSEG (Refinitiv) Workspace This link opens in a new windowLSEG Workspace (fka Refinitiv) provides information on public & private global companies and includes: financials and filings, overview, news & corporate events, deals, share ownership, and analyst reports. Screen for companies based on over 500 ESG data variables, and view detailed ESG data from within a single company. Includes LSEG scores, FTSE Russel Green Revenues and EU Taxonomy. Register for LSEG Workspace
- ISS Directors US (via WRDS)Institutional Shareholder Services Directors dataset includes the universe of S&P 1500 companies with a range of variables related to individual board directors (e.g., name, age, tenure, gender, committee memberships, primary employer and title, etc.). Coverage 1996 to date. Request an account
- COMPUSTAT - Execucomp (via WRDS)Executive compensation data collected directly from each company’s annual proxy (DEF14A SEC form). Request an account
- BoardEx (via WRDS)BoardEx contains extensive data on the boards of publicly listed and notable private companies from around the world. Profiles of directors, senior management, and disclosed earners with biographical info, educational background, prior employment, compensation, and more. Determine network connections between people. Discover details of board compositions and committees. Also includes details of companies - employees, capitalization, revenue, auditors, and more. Request an account
Journals & Articles
- Stanford Social InnovationStanford Social Innovation Review (SSIR) is a magazine that covers cross-sector solutions to global problems. SSIR is written by and for social change leaders from around the world and from all sectors of society—nonprofits, foundations, business, government, and engaged citizens.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowIndexes business journals worldwide; covers marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, economics and more. Also includes financial data, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses. Includes the full text of articles from many publishers and links to full text options for other articles. 1886 to present.
- ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new windowIndexes business and management journals worldwide; covers corporate strategies, marketing, product development, industry conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and more. Includes the full text of articles from many publishers and links to full text options for other articles. 1923 to present.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowIndexes and provides full text to 33,000 news and business information sources from 200 countries in 28 languages, includes regional and industry publications, newspapers, newswires, Web and blog content.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowProvides access to full text resources on topics including current and general news; business and financial information; newspapers; company directories; government and politics; medical and health topics; accounting, auditing, and tax; federal and state laws; legal cases; regulations; and patents.
Web Resources & Associations
- CDP Open Data PortalCarbon Disclosure Project (CDP) offers city and regional data, data sets on local action towards a global sustainable economy.
Books
Find more books in the Library catalog with these searches:
Impact Investing: transforming how we make money while making a difference by
A ground-breaking book on the transformative power of impact investing This is the first book to chart the catalytic path of this new industry, explaining how it is and can be a positive disruptive force. It shows how impact investing is a transformational vehicle for delivering "blended value" throughout the investment spectrum, giving a single name to a set of activities previously siloed in enclaves, revealing how they are linked within what is becoming a new field of investing. Written by two leaders in the growing field of impact investing, the book defines this emerging industry for participants on all sides of the funding equation (investors, funders and social entrepreneurs). Filled with illustrative examples of impact investing success stories Reveals how the field can expand in order to address the most critical social and environmental issues of our day Explores the wide-ranging applications of impact investing as well as entrepreneurial opportunities The authors do not take a normative approach to argue how investors should behave like an investment guide might but show how entrepreneurial people and institutions are already offering an integrated alternative.
ISBN: 9780470907214Publication Date: 2011-09-13
Environmental, Social, and Governance (ESG) Investing by
Environmental, Social, and Governance (ESG) Investing: A Balanced Analysis of the Theory and Practice of a Sustainable Portfolio presents a balanced, thorough analysis of ESG factors as they are incorporated into the investment process. An estimated 25% of all new investments are in ESG funds, with a global total of $23 trillion and the U.S. accounting for almost $9 trillion. Many advocate the sustainability goals promoted by ESG, while others prefer to maximize returns and spend their earnings on social causes. The core problem facing those who want to promote sustainability goals is to define sustainability investing and measure its returns. This book examines theories and their practical implications, illuminating issues that other books leave in the shadows. Provides a dispassionate examination of ESG investing Presents the historical arguments for maximizing returns and competing theories to support an ESG approach Reviews case studies of empirical evidence about relative returns of both traditional and ESG investment approaches
ISBN: 0128186933Publication Date: 2020-01-30
Global Handbook of Impact Investing by
Discover how to invest your capital to achieve a powerful, lasting impact on the world. The Global Handbook of Impact Investing: Solving Global Problems Via Smarter Capital Markets Towards A More Sustainable Society is an insightful guide to the growing world-wide movement of Impact Investing. Impact investors seek to realize lasting, beneficial improvements in society by allocating capital to sources of impactful and sustainable profit. This Handbook is a how-to guide for institutional investors, including family offices, foundations, endowments, governments, and international organizations, as well as academics, students, and everyday investors globally. The Handbook´s wide-ranging contributions from around the world make a powerful case for positive impact and profit to fund substantive, lasting solutions that solve critical problems across the world. Edited by two experienced and distinguished professionals in the sustainable investing arena and authored by two dozen renowned experts from finance, academia, and multilateral organizations from around the world, the Global Handbook of Impact Investing educates, inspires, and spurs action towards more responsible investing across all asset classes, resulting in smarter capital markets, including how to: · Realize positive impact and profit · Integrate impact into investment decision-making and portfolio · Allocate impactful investments across all asset classes · Apply unique Impact Investing frameworks · Measure, evaluate and report on impact · Learn from case examples around the globe · Pursue Best Practices in Impact Investing and impact reporting While other resources may take a local or limited approach to the subject, this Handbook gathers global knowledge and results from public and private institutions spanning five continents. The authors also make a powerful case for the ability of Impact Investing to lead to substantive and lasting change that addresses critical problems across the world.
ISBN: 1119691087Publication Date: 2020-12-03
Climate Investing by
This edited book consists of a collection of original articles written by leading industry and academic experts in the area of climate investing. The chapters introduce the reader to some of the latest research developments in the area of low-carbon investing and climate change solutions. Each chapter deals with new methods for estimating portfolio carbon footprints, constructing Paris-aligned equity and multi-asset portfolios and hedging climate risks. This title will be of great help to portfolio managers, asset owners and consultants, as well as academics and students who want to improve their knowledge and understanding of climate investing.
ISBN: 1394192371Publication Date: 2022-12-16
Corporate Social Responsibility by
In its journey from the margins to the mainstream, corporate social responsibility has become a significant part of the business agenda. Whilst society has always held expectations of business that go beyond maximising profits, the backdrop against which businesses now operate - characterised by financial crisis, climate change, political shifts, and population growth - has seen CSR become increasingly central to the ability of businesses to address global concerns.How businesses manage the requirements of the 2016 Paris Agreement, implications of the growing "gig economy", and the increasing importance of a CSR brand are just some of the contemporary issues explored in this fourth edition. The engaging, accessible style supports a critical perspective, while a forward-thinking outlook encourages you to consider how the interactions of business and society will continue to evolve.How emerging business models, such as Uber, are governed; why Pakistan's football manufacturing industry takes an interest in its workers' sexual health; and what it takes to establish the Global Business Coalition for Women's Economic Empowerment are just some of the new case studies that illustrate the book's global reach. With more cases and examples than any other CSR textbook, initiatives as well as failures are explored in real businesses contexts, bringing the book's comprehensive coverage to life.This book is supported by online resources.For students:- Additional case study sources - useful links for where to source further case studies and examples.- Further reading - a comprehensive list of research to aid research.- Suggested films - a list of films that illustrate issues relevant to CSR managers.- Sources on regulations and governance - links to important legislation and guidelines affecting CSR- Web exercises - links to relevant websites direct you to valuable sources of information.- Journal club - links to seminal journal articles along with commentary on the paper, critical questions, and key points to consider.For lecturers: - Figures and tables from the book - for use in lectures and seminars.
ISBN: 0198797753Publication Date: 2019-06-12
