Reference Librarian
If We Don't Own It
or if our copy is checked out...
- BorrowDirect
Request books (only) from small, but strong, group of libraries (Ivies, plus Duke, Johns Hopkins, MIT, & U. Chicago) - Interlibrary LoanRequest articles, books, and other publications you need from a huge network of other libraries.
Winter Term - Key Reference Resources - Overviews for Getting Started
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern World by Publication Date: 2008The Encyclopedia of the Modern World delves into the period from 1750 to the present, providing special attention to social, economic, cultural and political topics applicable to the time.
The Oxford Companion to British History by ISBN: 0199677832
A Dictionary of Hinduism (Oxford University Press)Covers all aspects of Hinduism, including practices, festivals, beliefs, gods, sacred sites, languages, and religious texts
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World by ISBN: 0195305132Publication Date: 2009-04-03
- Oxford Encyclopedia of British LiteratureA survey of the literature of the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland in all major literary languages.
Winter Term - Dig Deeper - Discover Scholarly Books and Articles
- To find books (films, journal & newspaper subscriptions, databases) within Dartmouth's collection, start with our library catalog.
- Books can provide extensive information on topic, and its broader context, that a short article simply can't address.
- Library catalog records are brief (publication info, along with our call number or link to our online provider.) Keep your searches simple, as there's not much to match against.
- Tracking down a specific book chapter or journal article? Search our catalog by title for the book or journal that contains the chapter or article.
- More searchable content means larger, less precise result sets
- You are at the mercy of whatever wording the author used. Be creative in search terminology variations
- Improve precision with quotation marks, to force a phrase search. ["Emily Dickinson" is very different than Emily Dickinson]
- Too many results? Try limiting to the past five or ten years, and then trust those articles' bibliographies to point you to important earlier research.
- Still too many results? Try limiting your search to the document title field, or abstract field if available (check for advanced search options). This will eliminate some good results, but usually if the citation or abstract contains your search term, then the overall document is likely to be relevant.
- Dartmouth Library Search (home page)Broad, but imprecise. By default, searches across our library catalog as well as many full-text article & book collections. Excludes searching bibliographic databases (other than our catalog). Also excludes some full-text databases, particularly those we get through Ebsco.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, biology, ecology, and other fields of the sciences, humanities, and social sciences.
- Project MuseFull-text archive of selected scholarly books journals in the humanities and social sciences. Advanced search menu allows limiting to specific disciplines.
- ProQuest Ebook CentralNote that access rights vary from title to title. Some allow only one user at a time. Others allow unlimited access.
- Ebsco Ebook CollectionNote that access rights vary from title to title. Some allow only one user at a time. Others allow unlimited access.
These cover more than we own here at Dartmouth, but point you to scholarship in specific disciplines.
- ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new windowConsists of searchable database of citations (1949-present) to journal articles, essays in multi-author works, and book reviews in the fields of religious and theological studies.
- Bibliography of Asian studies This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary coverage of western-language periodical articles, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, etc. pertaining to east, southeast, and south Asia. Covers 1971 to the present.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowHistorical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada)
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowThe most comprehensive index of scholarship in literature, language, folklore, film, new media, and rhetoric and composition. Covers articles in periodicals, books, and book chapters. Does not index book reviews.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window**If you get a "404 not found" error, try again! Database has inconsistent connect troubles.**
Citations and abstracts to international literature in sociology and related disciplines from 1952 to the present. - Women's studies international This link opens in a new windowBroad multidisciplinary coverage of scholarly journal articles, books, book essays on gender studies.
