Art History & Studio Art

• Send me email requests for additions to the library or stop by my office in the Sherman Reference Room. Laura.K.Graveline@dartmouth.edu 
• Make an appointment with me if you'd like to spend some time looking at resources in the Art Special Collection.

Library Tours  

Includes an orientation to the stacks, the best study spots, special features and extra library services

Sherman Art Library & the Art Special Collection – 20/30 minutes

Baker Berry Library and the Sherman Art Library – 30/40 minutes

Class Instruction

Library Resources

Includes the best starting points for general research, important library services like interlibrary loan and off campus access, as well tips for developing research strategies and refining research queries

General orientation to library resources - 30 minutes

Introduction to Zotero for citation management & bibliographies -  50 minutes

Art Research

Close focus on art specific resources including article databases, biographical indexes, full text databases, image resources & print reference books when appropriate

Introduction to art research resources – 30/45 minutes

Introduction to architecture resources – 20/30 minutes

Introduction to single resource for a specific assignment– 10/15 minutes

Oxford Art Online, Art Full Text, Avery Index to Architecture, Design & Applied Arts index, JSTOR Image Search, catalogue raisonnes, etc.

Introductions to single topic – 10/15 minutes

Find drawing books, anatomy, images, etc.

Special Topics

Copyright, licensing, appropriation/plagiarism & visual literacy – 50/60 minutes

Introduction to Artists Books – 30/50 minutes

This can focus on bookmaking styles, different presses including those from different cultures & languages etc.

Color theory books and guides – 30/50 minutes

Students can explore the range of historic color guides from Werner’s Nomenclature to Albers Interaction of Color, as well as supporting texts from the stacks that they can check out.

Introduction to AI Art Generators & Digital Arts - 45 minutes

Printmaking examples from the Art Special Collection – 30/50 minutes

Introduction to JSTOR Forum focusing on image quality and metadata to make their work findable online - 15 minute introduction with individual follow-ups as needed

Utilize JSTOR Forum to create curated digital collections. 

Teach with the Art Special Collection – select materials to teach with in the Sherman Reference Room

Materials

• Manuscript facsimiles
• Catalogues raisonnés
• Artists books

Subjects

• Architecture
• Prints
• Historical texts
• Time periods, artists, regions, etc.

Anatomy Books and from Rauner Special Collections – 30-50 minutes

Meet in Rauner with Rauner staff

Introduction to JSTOR Forum focusing on image quality and metadata to make their work findable online - 15 minute introduction with individual follow-ups as needed

Utilize JSTOR Forum to archive senior presentations or portfolios. Populate a senior show website

Review Art Resources including specialized print resources in Sherman - 15-30 minutes

 Artists books from the Art Special Collection – 30-40 minutes

• Have your students make an appointment with me  
  • Link my appointment calendar, email, or office location in your syllabus for students

• Request Quick Video Tips – can be linked in Canvas 

• Request a custom research guides for classes or topics - https://researchguides.dartmouth.edu/art