Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Biomedical Libraries Resource Updates: Home

ClinicalKey Cancellation and Introducing AccessMedicine, Case Files Collection, JAMAevidence

ClinicalKey Cancellation

What is ClinicalKey?

ClinicalKey, a well-known resource for the health sciences from Elsevier, provides full-text access to selected medical texts and journals

 

Why are the Biomedical Libraries canceling ClinicalKey?

After careful review of use, content overlap, and increasing subscription cost, the Biomedical Libraries made the difficult decision to cancel ClinicalKey. The cost to renew ClinicalKey for another year more than doubled compared to its annual subscription cost for the past five years. Our decision to cancel this resource was partly based on the increased cost but also on declining use of its ebook collection over time and duplication of journal content in another Elsevier package.

 

What is the timeline for all of this?

ClinicalKey will no longer be available after June 30, 2022.

 

What resources do the Biomedical Libraries recommend instead of ClinicalKey?

Librarians are prepared to help you identify alternative titles to use in place of those from ClinicalKey. Medical textbooks are now available from AccessMedicine. We also recommend the LWW Medical Education collection and the LWW Clerkship collection as alternative resources for textbooks. 

Unfortunately, Elsevier does not sell many of its clinical ebooks to libraries outside of the ClinicalKey bundle. We have purchased print copies of several ClinicalKey high use titles and can purchase additional titles upon request. For assistance with identifying ebooks or to request a book purchase, go to:  dartgo.org/biomed-email.

 

What else is the Biomedical Libraries doing to support the medical curriculum?

We continually work to identify and evaluate resources that best fit current and emerging curricular and research needs, while carefully considering the overall collections budget. In response to your requests and with savings from the ClinicalKey cancellation, three new resources from McGraw Hill, including AccessMedicine; Case Files Collection; and JAMA Evidence, are now available from the Biomedical Libraries.

In the past year alone, we’ve had requests for AccessMedicine textbooks that support the revised curriculum but were unable to fill them due to budget constraints. We are pleased to provide access to core titles that will support your teaching and clinical programs.

 

What if I have further questions about these or other library resources?

Please feel free to contact Director of Biomedical Libraries, Stephanie Kerns, at stephanie.c.kerns@dartmouth.edu, with any questions about ClinicalKey or AccessMedicine.