Find great articles (and more!)
Check out these Search Tips to be an instant expert!
In addition to the Library's main search system, which is called Primo, check out the following:
Find scholarly scientific articles:
-
GeoRef This link opens in a new windowThe major index to the international geological literature from 1785 to the present. Covers geology, geochemistry, geophysics, mineralogy, petrology, economic geology, hydrology, oceanography, geomorphology, and engineering geology.
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new windowCitation database with multidisciplinary coverage of journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Indexes the journal literature and tracks article citation histories.
-
Scopus This link opens in a new windowAbstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, with bibliometrics tools to track, analyze and visualize research. It contains over 22,000 titles from more than 5,000 publishers around the world, covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and Arts & Humanities. Scopus has 55 million records dating back to 1823, 84% of these contain references dating from 1996.
Tip: Not sure if the library has access to an article you find online? Check out our guide for adding browser extensions LeanLibrary and LibKey Nomad. These can provide direct linking to full-text resources available in our library's collection! If we don't have what you're looking for, you can use BorrowDirect (for books) or Interlibrary Loan (for articles or books) to request access to an item.
Recommended Journals
These journals will be highly relevant for your coursework and can be great resources for finding articles to develop your final paper.
Review Articles
It's worth a quick look to see whether there's a recent review article on your topic written by leading scientists. Annual Reviews' purpose is to provide a "useful and intelligent synthesis of the primary research literature for a broad spectrum of scientific disciplines." Remember this useful family of review journals if you major in one of the sciences!
Tip: Many article databases like Web of Science also allow you filter to "review articles" that have the same "synthesis of the primary research" quality.
-
Annual Review of Earth and Planetary SciencesCovers significant developments in all areas of earth and planetary sciences, from climate, environment, and geological hazards to the formation of planets and the evolution of life.
Google Scholar
- Bibliography Manager - select the program you use for managing citations. If you use Zotero, choose "RefMan" for the citation output.