This page includes highlights of leadership and management resources relevant to the MHA program. For a more comprehensive list of resources, please visit these additional subject guides:
Articles
Journals
Browse recent issues or search within specific journals relevant to health care management and leadership:
eBooks
To find eBooks in the library catalog, try these subject searches:
Applying Lean Six Sigma in Health Care a Practical Guide to Performance Improvement by
Health care organizations are increasingly challenged by the need to provide high-quality, safe, and efficient patient care while keeping costs low. Lean Six Sigma, which provides a framework to improve quality and increase efficiency with clear and measurable outcomes, is an essential tool for managers to set the health care industry on a sustainable path.Written to address this growing demand for Lean Six Sigma expertise in healthcare organizations, Applying Lean Six Sigma in Health Care: A Practical Guide to Performance Improvement provides a step-by-step explanation of the Define-Measure-Analyze-Improve-Control (DMAIC) process as well as performance improvement techniques and terminology. With a focus on learning through doing, readers will actively engage the DMAIC process by applying it to an improvement project that is carried through the text. * An active learning approach where students read, calculate, write and reflect as they work through problem-solving exercises, case studies, and other activities.* An ongoing case study on improving pain management (in chapters 5 -10) that demonstrates a completed process.* A capstone project that engages students in applying all phases of DMAIC to complete a Lean Six Sigma project.* Excel practice throughout to show how data is summarized (Chapter 6), analyzed (Chapter 7), and reported (Chapter 9).* Excel files and templates (such as Gantt charts and Cause and Effect diagrams) that offer additional resources and examples provided online.
ISBN: 1284170756Publication Date: 2019-09-30
Before I Was CEO by
Have you always known what you wanted to be in life? What are some "watershed moments" that made you who you are? When did you get on track to become a successful CEO? It started with three questions at Davos. The younger Peter Vanham looked to the answers from the elite leaders he asked to validate his own career choice, and the rich, private wisdom he received revealed more about building a career than he'd found anywhere else. He shares it all with you in Before I Was CEO. For everyone who lays awake at night wondering if they're heading up or down the corporate ladder, this collection of personal stories from a remarkable group of the most accomplished men and women in business today proves everyone can put themselves in the C-suite by taking a variety of different paths--it's all how you do it. Some found opportunity through adversity and others came by their big-break moments through serendipity. A group of them walked away from corporate life and lived in other ways and all of them made calculated moves to advance their careers. In their own words, read how it all unfolded, the tough decisions they wrestled, the risks and rewards they saw, and how it all came together. You don't need a royal pedigree or Ivy League education to reach the top as long as you: * Value family, leave home, and make informed decisions based on your dreams * Take the first thirty-five years of your life to discover what you're interested in and don't rush to be a CEO * Strategically deal with failure, remember the lessons you learned, and adapt to situations you can't change You aren't the first person to be at the crossroads you're standing in, and with the motivating and instructive stories in Before I Was CEO, you may be answering a young journalist's questions at Davos one day.
ISBN: 9781119278085
Economics for Healthcare Managers by
Instructor Resources: Test bank, PowerPoint slides and a lesson plan for each chapter, answers to the study questions, guides to the case studies, and a transition guide to the new edition. Good management requires a fundamental understanding of economics. In the rapidly changing healthcare landscape, economics can provide a road map for managers looking to effectively navigate strategic, goal-oriented decisions while also improving population health outcomes. Economics for Healthcare Managers provides the practical guide that healthcare managers need to simplify and strengthen the decision-making process for everyday issues. Written for those with little or no background in economics, the book is designed to engage readers in today's policy and management challenges. The author references classic studies while also drawing on current research and emphasizing contemporary analyses. As the purview of healthcare managers has expanded significantly, this edition has been updated to reflect their evolving role. Featuring 17 new case studies, the book incorporates recent changes in health policy and research, including new and revised content on: Realizing the Triple Aim Profits, market structure, and market powerRegulations of the Affordable Care Act Health insurance and the move toward value-based paymentsThe healthcare financing system and alternative payment mechanismsThe book and its companion materials combine multiple cases, class activities, and special features to engage students and facilitate active learning. These resources give students in the classroom the opportunity to tackle the kinds of challenging economic issues they can expect to face during their careers as healthcare managers.
ISBN: 1640550488Publication Date: 2019-02-01
Evidence-Based Management in Healthcare by
Instructor Resources: Instructor Manual, Powerpoints, and a short talk on evidence-based management. Difficult decisions are part of everyday life for any manager, and the decisions that arise in the healthcare environment are far too important to be made based on poor information and gut feeling. An evidence-based approach to management ensures that healthcare leaders ask the right questions, use the best evidence available, and make better decisions in carrying out their mission. Evidence-Based Management in Healthcare: Principles, Cases, and Perspectives explains what evidence-based management is, how it can improve decision making, and, ultimately, how it can lead the way to improved organizational performance. This updated edition provides a thorough overview of evidence-based management, with an in-depth discussion of the framework, new and expanded case studies and examples, and interviews with experts in the field. Key topics include the following: The definition of and rationale for evidence-based management The four main types of evidence The six steps of implementation Acquiring the best available evidence Barriers to evidence-based management and how to overcome them Perspectives from stakeholdersFeaturing contributions from a host of experts--including researchers, managers, leaders, and consultants--this book provides a practical and insightful complement to other organizational and management studies. New managers will find it a useful resource to have on hand in healthcare management settings of any kind.
ISBN: 9781567938715Publication Date: 2016-12-01
Healthcare Finance by
Healthcare Finance: An Introduction to Accounting and Financial Management, Fifth Edition is the latest book from the most trusted name in healthcare finance, Dr. Louis C. Gapenski. Like its predecessors, this book introduces readers to the basic concepts of healthcare finance, including accounting and financial management. Fifth Edition Features New or expanded coverage of The impact of taxes and depreciation on for-profit providers Medical coding Monte Carlo simulation Form 990 Fund accounting Recent information on healthcare reform includes coverage of accountable care organizations (ACOs) and medical homes with updated real-world examples Updated financial accounting coverage conforms to the latest AICPA formats New learning aids, including on-page definitions, For Your Consideration scenarios and Key Equations quick-reference tools
ISBN: 1567934250Publication Date: 2011-12-01
Introduction to Health Care Management by
Introduction to Health Care Management, Fourth Edition is a concise, reader-friendly, introductory healthcare management text that covers a wide variety of healthcare settings, from hospitals to nursing homes and clinics. Filled with examples to engage the reader's imagination, the important issues in healthcare management, such as ethics, cost management, strategic planning and marketing, information technology, and human resources, are all thoroughly covered.Guidelines and rubrics along with numerous case studies make this text both student-friendly and teacher-friendly. It is the perfect resource for students of healthcare management, nursing, allied health, business administration, pharmacy, occupational therapy, public administration, and public health.Key Features:* Chapters contributed by real experts using an active voice to grab the reader's attention* Instructors' resources online for each chapter, including PowerPoints, Test Bank, and Sample Syllabus* Updated case studies in a wide variety of settings, in an assortment of healthcare management topics* A case study guide, with rubrics for evaluation of student performance, enabling instructors at every level of experience to hit the ground running on that first day of class* Access to Navigate 2 online learning materials, including a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, learning analytics reporting tools and more.
ISBN: 1284156567Publication Date: 2019-10-28
The Mckinsey Edge: Success Principles from the World's Most Powerful Consulting Firm by
47 strategies elite managers follow to reach the highest level of success The McKinsey Edge culls the personal best practices of an exclusive group of managers connected to McKinsey & Company, a firm that services eighty percent of the world's largest corporations. Through a wealth of 47 rigorously selected, battle-tested, immediately implementable, and practical tips, readers discover the secrets to building the self, growing with others, enhancing process management, and going the extra mile to reach the next leadership horizon. Everyone struggling to accelerate their career will keep this book at their fingertips for its rare, real-world advice for ascending through the levels of management--all of which require specific mindsets and capabilities that only a handful of people ever master.
ISBN: 125958299XPublication Date: 2015-11-27
The Power of Leadership Insight by
Leadership is a risky business. In the current world, change is the new normal and only constant. As change grows, so does risk. Thus, leaders must be master change agents and master mitigators of risk. But, how will leaders succeed if they don't measure and lack insight? Simply put, they won't. Those that are successful in these arenas will ride the waves of success during their tenure on the leadership stage. In contrast, their counterparts will be crushed by the never-ending waves of disruption. Often leaders or those aspiring erroneously view leadership power from a self-interested perspective. They see power through the lens of a title, position, control over others, influence, emotional intelligence and the like. Unfortunately, this view is misaligned and short sighted. Another perspective of leadership is the ability to impact positive change for those around you. In reality, leaders are those that use their gifts, skills and knowledge to educate and empower others in the long run. The purpose of this book is to unveil insight as to the true meaning of leadership power - how to attain it, how to leverage it to add the greatest amount of value to humanity, how to weaponize it to marginalize and eliminate risk and how to share it with others so they can carry the torch once you step off the leadership stage. In this book, readers will learn: How to master the art of change The value of leadership self-advocacy The pearls and pitfalls of leading integration teams The unintended consequences of sharing knowledge The sidewinder effect of misinterpreting root causes of success The leadership test of humility Leadership matchmaking to ensure the right leaders are selected to solve the organization's problems Leadership Loopholes: The Houdini Effect The risk of underestimating leadership value The risk of not focusing on the right attributes The risk of leading turnarounds
ISBN: 9781032573816Publication Date: 2023-11-09
Resilience in Healthcare Leadership by
The COVID-19 Pandemic has been an ultimate challenge for leadership resiliency. Resilient leaders are thoughtful and deliberate. They balance logic and emotion, ego and humility. They lead through compassionate empathy by focusing on the 'how', not only the 'what'. They use their influence to drive positive change, diversity and inclusion, and create an equitable community.Most books on resilient leadership appear to focus on spirituality and tools to grow an "unshakable core of calm, strength, and happiness" or "bounce back without getting stuck in the toxic emotions of guilt, false guilt, anger, and bitterness". These books are very similar to handbooks focusing on mental toughness and providing guides for overcoming adversity and managing negative emotions.This book, however, defines resilience as a critical competency of high-performing leaders. Leaders must cultivate resilience in themselves and foster it throughout their organizations and multidisciplinary teams in order to adapt and succeed.Resilience in Healthcare Leadership is differentiated by offering practical strategies and self-assessment instruments for identifying strengths and weaknesses and for developing and sustaining the performance of resilient leaders. The book will also focus on best practices to help build a talent pipeline and develop resilient care team leaders to effectively manage the challenges of disruptive environments.Whether senior or mid-level manager the reader will learn to apply knowledge and skills to initiate cultural change, assess strengths and weaknesses, align leadership roles with organizational goals, and position themselves to become a resilient leader. The reader will also learn how to identify message strategies consistent with stakeholders' needs, resolve conflicts, lead multidisciplinary teams, and realize the impact of resilient leadership in influencing outcomes. Takeaways and tools are included to guide progressive learning and leadership development and build a strong succession pipeline, to help organizations become more prepared to respond to challenges facing healthcare leaders in the future.
ISBN: 1003190928Publication Date: 2021-12-29
