Research Guides: U.S. Government Documents: Legislative

Congress

Congress.gov | Library of Congress
Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the general public. Congress.gov is developed and maintained by the Library of Congress, with data originated and owned by the Senate and the House.
United States House of Representatives
The House's official website is notable for information about the institution, representatives, leadership, committees, and legislative activity. It also provides resources for students and educators.
United States Senate
The Senate's official website is notable for information about the institution, senators, committees, legislative activity, and art and artifacts. It also provides resources for students and educators.

ProQuest Congressional
ProQuest Congressional provides access to hearings, CRS reports, House and Senate documents and reports, bills and laws, vote reports, Congressional Record, and executive materials. Legislative histories (1969-) and Topic Pages are carefully curated resources with great value to researchers.

HeinOnline
Under "U.S. Federal Content," users will find Congressional documents, the Serial Set, the Federal Legislative History Library, and U.S. Statutes at Large. Other collections address the executive and judicial branches.

WestlawNext
Westlaw's legislative resources include Federal Proposed and Enacted Legislation.

C19, The Nineteenth Century Index
C19, a ProQuest product, includes a searchable Serial Set. The database also includes a searchable instance of the earlier American State Papers.
The United States Serial Set | Library of Congress

CRS: The Congressional Research Service
The Congressional Research Service (CRS) serves as shared staff to congressional committees and Members of Congress. CRS experts assist at every stage of the legislative process — from the early considerations that precede bill drafting through committee hearings and floor debate to the oversight of enacted laws and various agency activities.
CRS Reports via congress.gov
Free access to CRS Reports and Appropriations Table.
CRS Reports via HeinOnline (Dartmouth)

CQ Electronic Library
A package of Congressional Quarterly resources, including news and analysis, books, and reference works. It also includes Supreme Court resources and extensive election results and data.
CQ Almanac
Authoritative analysis on the major legislation and actions of congress for each year since 1945. Unique data on the voting patterns of Congress members provide insight into the legislative process and history of the institution.