Research Guides: Government 7.12: Intelligence and National Security: Finding Articles

General Political Sciences Databases

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.
ProQuest Political Science
ProQuest Political Science gives users access to over 240 leading political science and international relations journals. This collection provides full-text of many core titles included in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Coverage from 1985 to present.
Political Science: A SAGE Full-Text Collection
Includes the full-text of 23 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back twenty years, encompassing over 18,000 articles. It covers such subjects as General Political Science, American Government & Politics, Political Sociology, Comparative Politics, Policy Studies, Political Communication, Peace / Conflict Studies, Presidential Studies, Political Theory / Philosophy, International Relations, and Area Studies.
PAIS Index
PAIS International is a public affairs database that accesses citations to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, Internet material, and more.

CQ electronic library
Provides access to full-text and analytical database resources to support research in American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs.

Proquest Military Collection
Covers topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering, and more. It includes around 550 titles, with more than 400 available in full-text.

Ciao :: Columbia International Affairs Online
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is designed to be a comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 on that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from non- governmental organizations, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences. It also has more than 160 links to international affairs centers, institutes, and resources; U.S., international, and foreign govenment sites; environmental studies Web pages; and news media services.
Bibliography of Asian studies
Provides citations to western-language periodical articles, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, Festschriften, etc. pertaining to east, southeast, and south Asia. Subject areas covered: Anthropology & Sociology, Arts, Biography, Communication & Media, Economics, Education, Geography, History, Language, Library & Information Sciences, Literature, Philosophy & Religion, Politics & Government, Psychology & Psychiatry, Science & Technology . Covers 1971 to the present, including full data from the print editions from 1971-1991.

EastView universal databases
This database provides full text in-depth information from Russia and the former Soviet Union. Resources include newspapers, newswires, popular and scholarly periodicals, and government documents. Most content is in Russian

Index Islamicus
A bibliography of books, articles, and reviews in periodicals on Islam and the Muslim world.

Pascal and FRANCIS Database Archives
No longer actively updated, this archive provides access to more than 14 million bibliographic references of articles, conference papers and conference proceedings produced by the Inist-CNRS from 1984 to 2015 for PASCAL (12 millions) and from 1972 to 2015 for FRANCIS (2 millions).
Women's Studies International
An interdisciplinary database combined from Women studies abstracts (1984-present), Women's studies database (1972-present), Women's studies bibliography database, New books on women and feminism (1987-present), Women of color and southern women (1975-1995), The history of women and science, health, and technology: a bibliographic guide to the professions and disciplines (1970-1995), Women's health and development: an annotated bibliography (1995), Women, race, and ethnicity: a bibliography (1970-1990), WAVE: Women's audiovisuals in English: a guide to nonprint resources in women's studies (1985-1990), POPLINE subset on women (1964-2000).

Academic search complete
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. Also includes full-text access to over 5,000 journals. It offers coverage of many areas of academic study including: archaeology, astronomy, biology, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, general science, geography, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion, women's studies, and other fields.
JSTOR
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, biology, ecology, and other fields of the sciences, humanities, and social sciences.
EconLit
Indexes 30+ years of economics literature from around the world. Compiled by the American Economic Association, EconLit is a comprehensive index of journal articles, books, book reviews, collective volume articles, working papers and dissertations.

Oxford Reference Online Premium
Search a collection of over 100 Oxford reference works and language dictionaries.

Web of Science
Citation database with multidisciplinary coverage of journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Indexes the journal literature and tracks article citation histories.

America: History and Life
Historical scholarship on the United States, Canada, and their colonial antecedents; combine with Historical Abstracts for topics with international dimensions.
Project MUSE - Premium Collection
Includes titles from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, journals with critically acclaimed articles by the most respected scholars in their fields. Coverage includes 426 journals by 106 publishers.
Philosopher's Index
A bibliographic database with informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology, and book reviews.

Readers guide abstracts (H.W. Wilson)
Indexes articles from more than 200 of the most popular general-interest magazines published in the United States and Canada, covering all subjects of such general news areas as current events, business, fashion, politics, crafts, food, education, sports, history, and science.