AAAS 80 / HIST 22 - Civil Rights in the United States in the 20th Century - Fall 2016: Tertiary Sources (Encyclopedias, etc.)

Prof. Julia Rabig

Reference Sources

Items in the Reference collection -- particularly subject encyclopedias -- are great starting points for your research. Encyclopedia articles offer concise overviews of a topic, summaries of key research in a particular discipline, and often include a bibliography which can serve as a starting list of sources for your project.

Note that most of the African Studies titles are shelved in the DT call number area of the Baker-Berry Reference Collection. Most African American Studies titles are shelved in the E185 call number area. Browse shelves nearby to locate additional relevant titles.

Reference Universe

Reference Universe indexes the contents of 7000+ print and electronic reference titles and links to Dartmouth Library holdings.

Enter your search terms:

Oxford Reference Online

Search across a wide selection of Oxford dictionaries & encyclopedias.

Oxford African American Studies Center

Encyclopedias of note

American Decades
Call Number: Baker-Berry Reference - E169.12 .A419 1994 (volumes 1-10)

This set documents and analyzes 20th century American social history, with each volume providing a chronology of a decade; subject chapters with background essays; subject-specific chronologies and alphabetically arranged items depicting the people, ideas, and facts important during that period.
Civil Rights in the United States by W. Martin, Jr. and P. Sullivan (eds.)
Call Number: Baker-Berry Reference - E184.A1 C47 2000 (volumes 1-2)
Encyclopedia of American Social Movements by Immanuel Ness (ed.)
Call Number: Baker-Berry Reference - HN57 .E594 2004 (volumes 1-4)

Publication Date: 2004-08-31

This four-volume set examines every social movement in American history - from the great struggles for abolition, civil rights, and women's equality to the more specific quests for prohibition, consumer safety, unemployment insurance, and global justice.