Recommended Article Indexes
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowCitation database with multidisciplinary coverage of journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Indexes the journal literature and tracks article citation histories.
- Environmental Sciences and Pollution ManagementSummarizes and indexes significant findings in ecology research. Included are relevant papers on evolutionary biology, economics, and systems analysis as they relate to ecosystems or the environment.
- Toxicology AbstractsIndexes journal literature in toxicology, including the subject areas of pharmaceuticals; food; agro-chemicals; cosmetics, toiletries, and household products; industrial chemicals; metals; toxins and other natural substances; social poisons and drug abuse; and more.
- Water Resources AbstractsProvides summaries of the world's technical and scientific literature on water-related topics from 1967 to the present. Major areas of coverage include groundwater, lakes, estuaries, erosion and sedimentation, water supply and conservation, desalination, water quality management, and watershed protection.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed comprises over 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.
- National Technical Reports LibraryNTIS is the preeminent source for accessing research in engineering, technology, and scientific subjects sponsored by agencies and departments of the United States government and select foreign governments.
Additional Article Indexes
Lexis-Nexis Environmental
A diverse collection of environmental source material that includes several subfiles:
- Environment Abstracts, an index to environmental journals, conference papers, and government reports;
- News, Journals and Commentary, environmental news from major daily newspapers, newsletters, and law reviews.
- Codes and Regulations, with federal and state legislative and regulatory material; and
- Case Law and Agency Actions, with federal and state environmental case law and decisions from regulatory agencies and departments.
SciFinder Access
CAS SciFinder (Chemical Abstracts)
Access & registration page (authentication required)
The major index and abstracting resource for all areas of chemistry, biochemistry, and chemical engineering.
Access to SciFinder is limited to current students, faculty, and staff of Dartmouth College and DHMC.
Search Google Scholar
Journal Abbreviation Help
- CASSI (Chemical Abstracts Service Source Index)Bibliographic information for any publication cited in Chemical Abstracts.
- Ulrichs International Periodicals Directory (Ovid) Nearly a quarter of a million consumer and trade magazines, academic and scholarly publications, monographic series, newsletters, newspapers, electronic publications, 'zines, and many other types of serial publications and services published throughout the world on all subjects, are meticulously profiled. Bibliographic information includes ISSN, former ISSN(s) and former title(s) history, variant titles, editorial and classification data, start year, frequency, pricing, subscription, and distribution details. Key publisher, editor, rights & permissions and advertising contacts are given. Ulrichsweb.com combines an extensive range of data with equally powerful indexing, searching, and browsing capabilities. Monthly updates.