Digital Newspapers
The New York Times Historical Newspaper (1851-2007)
Washington Post Historical Newspapers (1877-1994)
Boston Globe Historical Newspaper (1872-1927)
Chicago Tribune Historical Newspaper (1890-1987)
Hartford Courant Historical Newspaper (1764-1985)
Christian Science Monitor Historical Newspaper (1908-1997)
Los Angeles Times Historical Newspapers (1881-1987)
Wall Street Journal Historical Backfile (1889-1993)
Chicago Defender Historical Newspaper (1905-1975)
Each issue of these papers appears online "cover to cover." The content of the papers is fully searchable; full page images may displayed; individual stories maybe displayed and printed.
New Hampshire Primary 2012
Digital Newspaper Collections
A world-wide full text database of stories from more than 7700 newspapers, magazines, video feeds (U.S. news programs), and wire services.
Coverage varies by publication, and the earliest coverage is from the mid to late 1990s.
This database tends to exclude major U.S. newspapers, e.g. New York Times, Washington Post...
The newspaper "library" contains stories drawn from hundreds of U.S. and international newspapers. The content differs from the "historical" newspapers listed above in that here only "news stories" are collected and made available in full-text. Advertisements, charts, illustrations, etc. are NOT included.
Coverage by newspapers varies as titles are added and deleted over time.
ProQuest Newspapers
Coverage mid-1980s to date, varies by individual title.
This is a full text database that searches individual newspaper files (Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Washington Post, etc.) and newspaper collections (ProQuest Newsstand, ProQuest National Newspapers Expanded).
Factiva contains fully searchable full-text articles from newspapers, magazines, academic journals, publications of the European Union, transcripts of radio and TV news broadcasts, and wire services from throughout the world.
Provides cover-to-cover full text for 23 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including USA Today, The Christian Science Monitor, The Washington Post, The Times (London), The Toronto Star, etc. The database also contains selected full text from more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers, including The Boston Globe, The Chicago Tribune, The Detroit Free Press, The Miami Herald, The New York Daily News, The San Jose Mercury News, etc. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, FOX News, NPR, etc.
Coverage varies by newspaper title and generally runs from the 1980s to date.
A database that includes 1700 newspapers from 92 countries in facsimile form that means all newspapers are readable in their original format, layout and pagination. Texts are searchable, and about 30 papers (LA Times, Washington Post, etc.) have enhanced features ("SmartNavigation") for easy reading or cutting and pasting. The file for each newspaper goes back 60 days.
Newspaper Catalogs
The Center for Research Libraries
The CRL owns a significant collection of foreign newspapers in print or microform.
An important source because of the scope of the collection and because members, i.e. Dartmouth, may borrow long runs of titles for extended periods of time.
ICON: International Coalition on Newspapers
ICON is a freely accessible online resource that provides information on newspapers published outside the US. It's main concerns are the preservation of international newspapers and improved access to bibliographic information through its database.
Chronicling America historic American newspapers
Chronicling America provides access to information about historic newspapers and select
digitized newspaper pages, and is produced by the National Digital
Newspaper Program (NDNP). It's a long-term effort to develop an Internet-based, searchable database of
U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of
historic pages.
The "Newspaper Directory" portion of the database is based on the NDNP union list originally published in microfiche, below.
Newspapers in microform [1948-1983]
Baker Berry Ref. Z 6951 .N49
This 3v. catalog identifies and locates domestic and foreign newspaper titles acquired by the Library of Congress and other U.S. research libraries between 1948-1983. (The dates indicate the acquisition period, NOT the newspaper holdings)