Lusophone Studies Librarian
Jill Baron
Contact:
Romance Languages & Literature,
LALACS,
MALS, Comparative Literature
Baker 226 (2nd floor of Baker on the west end)
603-646-2833
LALACS,
MALS, Comparative Literature
Baker 226 (2nd floor of Baker on the west end)
603-646-2833
MLA Style
There are many sources online for MLA style (including Dartmouth's Sources handbook and the Purdue OWL MLA Guide) but the MLA Handbook (9th edition) would be considered the definitive source for resolving any questions around MLA citation style.
Generaly, MLA style uses in-text parenthetical citations with a list of works cited. If your instructor requires you to use footnotes or endnotes, consult Appendix B of the MLA Handbook.
MLA Handbook (9th edition) PRINT COPY by Call Number: Berry Reference LB2369 .M52 2021ISBN: 9781603293518Publication Date: 2021-04-06The new, ninth edition builds on the MLA's unique approach to documenting sources using a template of core elements--facts, common to most sources, like author, title, and publication date--that allows writers to cite any type of work, from books, e-books, and journal articles in databases to song lyrics, online images, social media posts, dissertations, and more.
Chicago Style
The Chicago Manual of StyleUse the Chicago Manual Quick Guide to find out how to cite books, book chapters, journal articles, and more.
The Quick Guide will prompt you to choose the Author-Date style or the Notes & Bibliography style and provide examples.
If the document type you wish to cite isn't in the Quick Guide, consult Chapter 14 for examples using the notes & bibliography format. See Chapter 15 for author-date format examples.
Print copies of the Chicago Manual can be found at the Berry Information Desk as well as Baker Berry Reference Z253 .C57. Copies of the latest edition are also available under the same call number at Dana Reference, Matthews-Fuller Reference, and Rauner Reference.
APA Style (Newest = 7th edition)
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by Call Number: Baker-Berry Reference BF76.7 .P83 2020ISBN: 9781433832161Publication Date: 2019-10-01The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style.
Changes in the 7th edition include:
- References can include up to 20 authors.
- Format your reference based on the document type, not the retrieval method. For example, format as a book regardless of whether you accessed it as a print book or ebook.
- Doi's should always be included and formatted as https://doi.org/xxxxx (highlighted and underlined as a link)
- Add a url if you found the work online, it doesn't have a doi, and the link works.
Online resources to refer to:
- APA StyleRefer to for other tips and commonly asked questions about APA style.
- Recorded Webinar: Creating References Using Seventh Edition APA StyleProvided by ACRL and Choice Media, this one hour webinar is a great overview of the APA basics including 7th edition changes.
- APA Style - 7th ed. Quick Reference Guide (APA site)Overview of required elements for journal articles, books, and book chapters
- APA Style: Purdue OWLThe Purdue OWL site provides numerous examples for citing various types of publications and it includes a sample paper illustrating the proper way to format a research paper and cite sources.
Sources
- Sources and Citations at DartmouthThis document provides a broad overview of the practice of citing sources, avoiding plagiarism, and adhering to Dartmouth's Academic Honor Principle.