Art Sales Information: Provenance

In this volume, Castagno has collected the signatures and monograms of artists who have spent all or part of their careers in abstract art-painters, printmakers, sculptors, and photographers worldwide. This book features approximately 2,300 artists with more than 3,900 signature examples of how they sign their works. In addition to the standard signature entries, the book contains sections for monograms and initials, common surname signatures, alternative surname signatures, symbols, and Cyrillic signatures. It also lists an additional 1,500 artists whose work bears no signature. All 3,800 artists are listed with the most updated information on nationality, birth, and death dates. The entries direct the researcher to many biographical and bibliographical sources not found on Web site searches, and many of the resources offer additional references. Several individual listings provide gallery referrals and catalog auction dates, which can be used to buy or sell a particular artist's work. The use of Abstract Artists: Signatures and Monograms, An International Directory provides the researcher a reference tool not duplicated elsewhere-one that will save many hours of research. Book jacket.

In this volume, Castagno has collected the signatures and monograms of artists from Africa, Asia, and the Middle East including signature examples of artists from China, India, Japan, South Africa, Israel, and many other countries. In addition to the standard signature entries, the book contains sections for monograms and initials, common surname signatures, alternative surname signatures, and symbols. All artists are listed with the most updated information on nationality, birth and/or death dates. The entries direct the researcher to many biographical and bibliographical sources not found on web site searches, and many of the resources offer additional references. Several individual listings provide gallery referrals and catalog auction dates, which can be used to buy or sell a particular artist's work. The use of African, Asian and Middle Eastern Artists Signatures and Monograms From 1800: A Directory provides the researcher a reference tool not duplicated elsewhere one that will save many hours of research."

Lists 5,100 artists, with nearly 10,000 signature examples with biographical, bibliographical, and auction sources.

In the first volume of American Artists: Signatures and Monograms, 1800-1989 (Scarecrow, 1990), Castagno provided identification for more than 5,000 artists' signatures, along with biographical information and reference sources. This second volume contains some 3,500 artists and 4,600 signature examples. In addition to the standard signature entries, the book features sections for monograms and initials, common surname signatures, alternative surname signatures, symbols, Cyrillic Signatures, and illegible signatures. Less than five percent of the entries in this volume are listed in the original volume--and these are included to provide additional information about the artists. The use of American Artists II: Signatures and Monograms From 1800, A Comprehensive Directory provides the researcher a reference tool not duplicated elsewhere--one that will save many hours of research.

In the first volume of American Artists: Signatures and Monograms, 1800-1989 (Scarecrow, 1990), Castagno provided identification for more than 5,000 artists' signatures, along with biographical information and reference sources. The second volume featured more than 3,000 artists and 4,000 signature examples. This third volume contains some 4,070 artists with 4,250 signature examples. In addition to the standard signature entries, the book features sections for monograms and initials, common surname signatures, alternative surname signatures, symbols, Cyrillic Signatures, and illegible signatures. Less than five percent of the entries in this volume are listed in the first two volumes and these are included to provide additional information about the artists. The use of American Artists III: Signatures and Monograms From 1800, A Directory provides the researcher a reference tool not duplicated elsewhere one that will save many hours of research."

Includes 5,200 signatures of 3,700 artists worldwide, listing nationality, birth and death dates, and reference sources.

Australian, British and Irish Artists: Signatures and Monograms From 1800, A Directory features some 2,625 artists with 3,850 signature examples. In addition to the standard signature entries, the book features sections for monograms and initials, common surname signatures, alternative surname signatures, symbols, and illegible signatures. The use of Australian, British and Irish Artists provides the researcher a reference tool not duplicated elsewhere one that will save many hours of research."

Lists more than 4,800 European and 400 Australian, South African, and Japanese artists who worked from 1800 to 1990, and offers 9,000 signature examples.

In this volume, Castagno has collected more than 1,100 signatures and monograms of Jewish artists, as well as signatures of artists whose work reflects Jewish themes. In addition to the standard signature entries found in Castagno's other books, this volume features additional biographical information, providing a more complete profile of the artist and his or her work. All artists are listed with the most updated information on nationality, birth and/or death dates. The entries direct the researcher to many biographical and bibliographical sources not found on web site searches, and many of the resources offer additional references. Several individual listings provide gallery referrals and catalog auction dates, which can be used to buy or sell a particular artist's work. The use of Jewish Artists Signatures and Monograms: A Directory provides the researcher a reference tool not duplicated elsewhere: one that will save many hours of research.

Each entry includes, if applicable, nationality, birth and death dates, key letters to a listing of reference sources, and the most recent auction citings (if any) of the last twenty years. Nearly 4,800 artists and 9,000 signatures.

In the first volume, Old Masters Signatures and Monograms, 1400-Born 1800, Castagno provided identification for some 2,700 signature examples of more than 1,700 artists. In this second volume, there are more than 800 artists listed, with more than 1,100 signature examples. In addition, this volume now treats artists from the early 19th century, thereby broadening the time period covered in the first volume. The use of Old Masters II: Signatures and Monograms, An International Directory provides the researcher a reference tool not duplicated elsewhere one that will save many hours of research."

Covers approximately 250 sales of Old Masters since 1980, with an average of five listings from each sale. There are 2,700 signature examples of 1,700 artists. Three sections following the main body of this volume offer the researcher easy cross-referencing monograms and initials, symbols, and alternate names. The appendix includes supplemental signature information on additional artists whose actual signatures were not available, but whose importance could not be omitted."