Research Guides: AMES 7.02: International Conflict and Cooperation in Asia: Finding Articles

Political Science

ProQuest political science
ProQuest Political Science gives users access to over 240 leading political science and international relations journals. This collection provides full-text of many core titles included in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Coverage from 1985 to present.
Worldwide political science abstracts
The database contains abstracts of materials from professional journals, major news magazines and books devoted to the political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, public law, public administration and public policy. Topics include political institutions, processes, and behavior; international law and politics; policy analysis; public affairs and administration; public law; political theory; and political economics.

Proquest Military Collection
Covers topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering, and more. It includes around 550 titles, with more than 400 available in full-text.
PAIS Index
PAIS International is a public affairs database that accesses citations to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, Internet material, and more.
SAGE Political Science Full-Text Collection
Coverage varies, some titles back to 1912.
Full-text of 29 journals covering General Political Science, American Government & Politics, Political Sociology, Comparative Politics, Policy Studies, Political Communication, Peace / Conflict Studies, Presidential Studies, Political Theory / Philosophy, International Relations, and Area Studies.

Interdisciplinary Resources

EconLit
Indexes 30+ years of economics literature from around the world. Compiled by the American Economic Association, EconLit is a comprehensive index of journal articles, books, book reviews, collective volume articles, working papers and dissertations.
Bibliography of Asian studies
Provides citations to western-language periodical articles, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, Festschriften, etc. pertaining to east, southeast, and south Asia. Subject areas covered: Anthropology & Sociology, Arts, Biography, Communication & Media, Economics, Education, Geography, History, Language, Library & Information Sciences, Literature, Philosophy & Religion, Politics & Government, Psychology & Psychiatry, Science & Technology . Covers 1971 to the present, including full data from the print editions from 1971-1991.
JSTOR
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, biology, ecology, and other fields of the sciences, humanities, and social sciences.
Academic search complete
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. Also includes full-text access to over 5,000 journals. It offers coverage of many areas of academic study including: archaeology, astronomy, biology, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, general science, geography, law, mathematics, music, physics, psychology, religion, women's studies, and other fields.
Project Muse: premium collection
Includes titles from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, journals with critically acclaimed articles by the most respected scholars in their fields. Coverage includes 426 journals by 106 publishers.

Article Search Tips

• Limit to Scholarly or "Peer Reviewed" Articles

Many article index/databases allow you to limit search results to "scholarly" or "peer reviewed" articles.
By "peer review" we mean that an article has been evaluated by scholars/experts in the same field.

Look for the option on the search page.

• Options to Refine A Search

Indexes/database often allow you to choose from a number of options that help you focus and refine your search results. Options often include:

• Advanced Search
• Peer Review
• Date limits
• Searching in specific "fields," i.e. Author, Title, Keyword, Abstract, Full Text