Research Guides: SOCY.011-SP19: Research Methods ~ Prof. Janice McCabe: Key Finding Tools

Key tools

To find books (and more) here at Dartmouth, search our library catalog.

Every item in the library catalog (book, video, journal/magazine title...) is represented by a catalog “record.”

The catalog record:
* Describes the item, i.e. provides the information needed for a citation
* Provides the information necessary to locate the material in the library
* Includes links to related material (Subject Headings)

Children with disabilities -- Education -- United States -- Evaluation
College Students - Mental Health
Menstruation -- Economic aspects
Thanksgiving Day in textbooks.
Reality television programs
Tip: Change the default sort from "System Sorted" to "Date, newest first". That sorts all the titles from each subheading set into a single list.

Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology
Platform: Wiley Online Library
First published 2007, with ongoing updates.
Encyclopedia of Social Measurement
Call Number: Baker-Berry Ref. H62 .E538 2005 (vols. 1-3)

Covers history, theory, and methodology (both qualitative and quantitative).
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences (2nd edition)
This massive, broad-coverage work is great for in-depth overviews - particularly social theory.

Annual Review of Sociology
Online!
Provides critical reviews of research published in the sociological literature. Also see related Annual Review of Psychology, Annual Review of Political Science, etc.

Sociological Abstracts
Default search: citations/abstracts/subject headings

Citations and abstracts to international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,700 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Coverage begins in 1952.

JSTOR - Sociology subset
Extensive backfile of academic sociology journals, but be aware that very few cover the most recent few years.

Web of Science
Citation database with multidisciplinary coverage of journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Indexes the journal literature and tracks article citation histories.

ProQuest - search full database
We subscribe to more than 70 different databases through the ProQuest company. You can search across all of them simultaneously by starting at their main advanced search page.

PsycINFO
This is the main index to the peer-reviewed literature for psychology and neuroscience. It indexes citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)
Bibliographic database with broad coverage of education literature -- pedagogy, cognition, policy, and social conditions of school-aged populations. Includes scholarly journals as well as reports, lesson plans, and more.

Check relevant subject guides for additional sources

Internet Archive - Wayback Machine
View multiple cached versions of web sites, often with the functional links to (cached) documents. Great for accessing content from now-defunct sites, or for evaluating changes in sites over time.

If We Don't Own It

or if our copy is checked out...

BorrowDirect
Request books (only) from small, but strong, group of libraries (Ivies, plus Duke, Johns Hopkins, MIT, & U. Chicago)
Interlibrary Loan
Request articles, books, and other publications you need from a huge network of other libraries.

SOCY.011-SP19: Research Methods ~ Prof. Janice McCabe

Sociology Librarian

Need more help?

Key tools

If We Don't Own It