The following tables list the collections found in Baker-Berry Library. The links in either table will take you to Stack Map - an interactive guide to each floor in the library.
Baker-Berry Library holds a number of named collections. Here they are listed by collection name, location, and subjects covered. Dartmouth Libraries also holds collections at the Sherman Art Library, the Rauner Special Collections Library, the Health Sciences and Biomedical Libraries, and the Feldberg Business & Engineering Library.
Collection |
Location |
Subject |
| Cook Mathematics | Berry 3 Stacks 108 - 128 | Math, Computer Science |
| Cook Math Journals | Berry 3 Stacks 93 - 108 | Math, Computer Science |
| (Shelved alphabetically by title) | ||
| Cook Honors Thesis | Berry 3 Stack 128 | Thesis |
| (Shelved alphabetically by author) | ||
| Current Periodicals | Berry 1 | Current Periodicals |
| Dewey (800-849, 870-899) | Berry 3 Stacks 5 - 57; Oversize Berry 3 Stack 270 | Literature |
| Dewey (off-site) | Library Collections & Services Facility (LCSF) | Various |
| East Asian | Baker Stack Level M & 2 | East Asian Publications |
| (Oversize on Level M Wall Shelving) | ||
| Evans Map Room | Berry 2 | Maps and Related |
| Folio (Super Oversize) | Berry LL (Near Elevator) | Super-Oversized Materials |
| Government Documents | Stack Level C | Government Publications |
| (No public access, request online) | ||
| Harvard | Baker A Annex | Book Arts |
| Japan / Korea | Baker A Annex | Japanese & Korean Publications |
| Jones Media Center | Berry 2 | Multimedia |
| Nash | Baker A Annex | Book Arts |
| Nash Reference | Baker Ground | Book Arts |
| Old Dartmouth | Library Collections & Services Facility (LCSF) | Various |
| (No public access, request online) | ||
| Physical Science Journals | Berry 4 Stacks 170 - 187 | Sciences |
| (Shelved alphabetically by title) | ||
| Physical Science Thesis | Berry 4 Stack 189 | Thesis |
| Reference | Berry 1 | General Reference Material |
Dartmouth Libraries primarily uses the Library of Congress Classification System to organize the collection. It is an alpha-numeric system where each item is labeled with a call number comprised of letters and numbers that indicate the subject area of the item. The table below lists these call numbers in alphabetical order and provides the location, stack numbers, oversize location, and subject.
Call Number |
Location |
Stack Number |
Oversize Location |
Subject |
| AC - AZ | Berry LL | 1 - 18 | Berry LL - Stack 121-122 | General Works |
| B - BX | Berry LL | 19 - 120 | Berry LL - Stack 121-122 | Philosophy, Psychology, Religion |
| C - CT | Stack Level B | 1 - 13 |
Stack Annex A - Stack 114 - 118 |
History |
| D/1 - DP; DR - DT/154 |
Stack Level B and Annex B | 13 - 121 | History | |
| DT/154 - DX; E - F |
Stack Level A and Annex A | 1 - 14 | History | |
| DQ | Stack Level M | 1 | History (Switzerland) | |
| G - GF | Berry 4 | 6 - 18 | Berry 4 - Stack 1 - 2 | Geography |
| GN - GV | Stack Annex A | 92 - 113 | Stack Annex A - Stack 114 - 118 | Geography, Anthropology, Recreation |
| H - HX (except HJ) | Berry 3 | 57 - 87, 129 - 226 | Berry 3 - Stack 271 - 272 | Social Sciences, Economics |
| HJ | Berry 4 | 21 - 26 |
Berry 4 - Stack 1 - 5 |
Social Sciences, Economics |
| J - JZ | Berry 4 | 27 - 89 | Political Science | |
| K - KZZ | Berry 4 | 89 - 132 | Law | |
| L - LH | Berry 4 | 133 - 155 | Education | |
| M/1 - M/1579 .G44 | Stack Level 1 | 29 - 44 |
Stack Level A 142 - 144 |
Music Scores |
| M/1579 .G45 - M/5700 | East Reading Room | Alcoves 2,3,7-9 | Music Scores | |
| ML; MT | Stack Level 1 | 1 - 28 | Music | |
| M (Mini-Scores) | Stack Level A | 146 - 147 | Music Scores | |
| NX | Berry 4 | 156 - 158 | General Arts | |
| P - PE/1460 .J99 | Stack Level 3 | 1 - 39 | Stack Level 3 - Stack 40 | Language & Literature |
| PE1460 .K1 - PN | Stack Level 4 | 1 - 137 | PF1 - PN2728.K99 Stack Level 5 - Stack 136 - 138 PN2728.L1 - PN9999 Stack Level 4 - Stack 139 - 140 |
Language & Literature |
| PQ; PR/1-PR/2699 | Stack Level 5 | 1 - 137 | Stack Level 5 Stacks 138 - 140 | Language & Literature |
| PR/2700; PS; PT | Stack Level 6 | 1 - 145 | Stack Level 6 Stacks 134 - 136 | Language & Literature |
| PZ | Stack Level M | 2 | Stack Level 6 Stack 136 | Juvenile Fiction |
| Q – QP, R, S, T (Except QA) | Berry 4 | 159 - 190 | Berry 4 - Stack 1 - 5 | Science & Technology |
| U; V | Stack Level A | 150 - 162 | Berry 4 - Stack 1 - 5 | Science & Technology |
| Z/1 - Z/299 | Stack Level A | 120 - 123 | Berry 3 - Stack 269 - 272 | Bibliography & Library Science |
| Z/300 - ZA | Berry 3 | 226 - 269 | Berry 3 - Stack 269 - 272 | Bibliography & Library Science |
| Pam and "p" | LCSF (off-site) | Pamphlet Collection |