Subject Librarian
Course description
This course is a brief survey of resource/natural relative extraction (depending on your world view) and ongoing solutions Indigenous People are leading in the management of our natural world. This is illustrated by several major environmental issues: water, mining, oil, natural gas, hunting and fishing, outdoor recreation, data access and agriculture.
[Source: ORC/Catalog, 04/07/2025]; Dist:TMV; WCult:NW
In the Library's collections
You can use one of the subject headings below to start your research in the library's online catalog:
-
natural resources AND indigenous peoplesThis is a subject, keyword search in the online catalog.
Introductory reading(s)
-
Indigenous Peoples, natural resources and governance: agencies and interactions
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781003131274This book offers multidisciplinary perspectives on the changing relationships between states, indigenous peoples and industries in the Arctic and beyond. It offers insights from Nordic countries, Canada, Australia, New Zealand and Russia to present different systems of resource governance and practices of managing industry-indigenous peoples' relations in the mining industry, renewable resource development and aquaculture. ... -
Indigenous Peoples, natural resources and permanent sovereignty
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9789004523999This book illustrates the evolution and the current content of indigenous rights with respect to natural resources under customary international law, the possibility and the practical consequences to conceive those rights in terms of permanent sovereignty over natural resources and, finally, the latest developments on the implementation of such rights at the domestic level. -
Indigenous Peoples and the collaborative stewardship of nature: knowledge binds and institutional conflicts
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781315426594Involving Indigenous peoples and traditional knowledge into natural resource management produces more equitable and successful outcomes. Unfortunately, argue Anne Ross and co-authors, even many "progressive" methods fail to produce truly equal partnerships. This book offers a comprehensive and global overview of the theoretical, methodological, and practical dimensions of co-management. ... -
The river of life: sustainable practices of Native Americans and Indigenous peoples
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9783110275834Sustainability defines the need for any society to live within the constraints of the land's capacity to deliver all natural resources the society consumes. This book compares the general differences between Native Americans and western world view towards resources. It will provide the 'nuts and bolts' of a sustainability portfolio designed by indigenous peoples. This book introduces the ideas on how to link nature and society to make sustainable choices. To be sustainable, nature and its endowment needs to be linked to human behavior similar to the practices of indigenous peoples. ... -
The Routledge handbook of Indigenous environmental knowledge
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781138280915This volume provides an overview of key themes in Indigenous Environmental Knowledge (IEK) and anchors them with brief but well-grounded empirical case studies of relevance for each of these themes, drawn from bioculturally diverse areas around the world. ...
Selected book title(s)
-
Indigenous Critical Reflections on Traditional Ecological Knowledge
by
Call Number: ON ORDERISBN: 9781962645324With more than fifty contributors, Indigenous Critical Reflections on Traditional Ecological Knowledge offers important perspectives by Indigenous Peoples on Traditional Ecological Knowledge and Indigenous value systems. The book aims to educate and inspire readers about the importance of decolonizing how Indigenous Knowledges are considered and used outside of Native communities. By including the work of Indigenous storytellers, poets, and scholars from around the globe, editor Lara Jacobs and chapter authors effectively explore the Indigenous value systems--relationships, reciprocity, and responsibility--that are fundamental to Indigenous Knowledge systems and cultures. ... -
Indigenous economics: sustaining peoples and their lands
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780816533459What does "development" mean for Indigenous peoples? Indigenous Economics lays out an alternative path showing that conscious attention to relationships among humans and the natural world creates flourishing social-ecological economies. ... -
Land and forest rights of Amazonian Indigenous Peoples from a national and international perspective: a legal comparison of the national norms of Bolivia, Brazil, Ecuador, and Peru
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9789004439382In this book Siu Lang Carrillo Yap compares the land and forest rights of Amazonian indigenous peoples from Bolivia, Brazil, Ecuador and Peru, and analyses these rights in the context of international law, property law theory, and forest and soil sciences. Within this scope and against the historical background, the recent interrelations between the Amazonian indigenous peoples' land, forest and community forest management rights and their importance for the self-determination of indigenous peoples in the Amazonian region are examined. ... -
Natural resources grabbing: an international law perspective
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9789004305656The growing demand for natural resources has triggered a "race" to their exploitation and possession, especially in developing countries. Most desired are water, land, forests, raw materials (oil, gas, mineral and precious stones), fisheries and genetic resources. Emerging economies, Western states, multinational corporations and international financial institutions have become the biggest "buyers" in a race that on one hand strengthens economies and creates investment opportunities and on the other threatens local communities and environmental protection. Natural Resources Grabbing: An International Law Perspective aims at filling a gap in the legal literature by addressing the adverse effects that large-scale investments in natural resources may pose to fundamental human rights and the protection of the environment. -
The Routledge handbook of Indigenous development
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781003153085This Handbook inverts the lens on development, asking what Indigenous communities across the globe hope and build for themselves. In contrast to earlier writing on development, this volume focuses on Indigenous peoples as inspiring theorists and potent political actors who resist the ongoing destruction of their livelihoods. To foster their own visions of development, they look from the present back to Indigenous pasts and forward to Indigenous futures. Key questions: How do Indigenous theories of justice, sovereignty, and relations between humans and non-humans inform their understandings of development? How have Indigenous people used Rights of Nature, legal pluralism, and global governance systems to push for their visions? How do Indigenous relations with the Earth inform their struggles against natural resource extraction? How have native peoples negotiated the dangers and benefits of capitalism to foster their own life projects? How do Indigenous peoples in diaspora and in cities around the world contribute to Indigenous futures? How can Indigenous intellectuals, artists, and scientists control their intellectual property and knowledge systems and bring into being meaningful collective life projects? ...
Other library resource(s)
-
Gale in context: Environmental studies: Indigenous environmentalism
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceThis link takes you to an assortment of resources within Gale in Context about Indigenous environmentalism. -
Gale in context: Environmental studies: natural resources
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceThis link takes you to an assortment of resources within Gale in Context about natural resources.
-
Geography of resources from Oxford Bibliographies Online
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199874002Human societies extract, harvest, or otherwise utilize an enormous quantity and impressive variety of materials from the Earth. This exploitation of nature qua resources takes diverse techno-social forms—from dipping a bucket into a stream to collect water for one’s daily activities to blasting off the top of a mountain to extract the coal contained within. Despite some sanguine reports that economic growth is being “decoupled” from the usage of raw materials, overall consumption levels for many important renewable and nonrenewable resources continue to rise. ... -
Indigenous ecologies from Oxford Bibliographies Online - Ecology
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199830060Indigenous ecologies cover a wide range of approaches, spanning academic fields from biology to anthropology to the humanities, and discussing a myriad of issues from the nature of knowledge to how to conduct collaborative research with Indigenous peoples. Defining what Indigeneity means, and identifying the world’s Indigenous peoples and the ecological spaces they occupy, has been part of this literature. Other related issues include attention to the gendered aspects of knowledge and identity, reflecting increasing space for indigenous women’s voice and scholarship. ... -
Indigenous Peoples and the global Indigenous movement from Oxford Bibliographies Online
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199874002“Indigenous” names an emergent, collective, globalizing and (increasingly) legally recognized sociopolitical identity, resulting from a social movement which became institutionalized from around 1980. Typically, those now termed “indigenous peoples” were formerly known by local, regional, or national category terms or ethnonyms applied to them by outsiders (e.g., “American Indians,” “Australian Aborigines,” Eskimo, or Aleuts), rather than by terms that they used among themselves. In many cases older terms have been replaced, also from ca. the 1980s by alternative terms emergent from social and political processes of liberalization within particular nation-states or regions (e.g., “First Nations,” “Native Americans,” Adivasi, or Inuit). “Indigenous” is increasingly used of, and by, these peoples in reference to themselves and others, even where other local and regional designations persist. Though forms of the word have a long history, “indigeneity” is relatively recent in internationalist usage. ...
Finding scholarly articles & journal title(s)
-
Web of science citation databases
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Internet resource(s)
-
United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP)
The United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) is the leading global environmental authority that sets the global environmental agenda, promotes the coherent implementation of the environmental dimension of sustainable development within the United Nations system, and serves as an authoritative advocate for the global environment. Their mission is to provide leadership and encourage partnership in caring for the environment by inspiring, informing, and enabling nations and peoples to improve their quality of life without compromising that of future generations. ...
Citing and Tracking Your Bibliographic References
Use this guide to help you learn how to correctly cite and keep track of the references you find for your research.
Keeping up with Environmental Science journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Environmental Studies? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.