The Dartmouth Cemetery

1845 to 2007: This collection contains the Chivers Notebook, a cemetery plot plan with diagrams of lots, along with inscriptions on monuments in each lot; and records of the Hanover Cemetery Association, including meeting minutes 1845-1871 and bylaws 1897-1956. Also contain card indices to internments in the Dartmouth College Cemetery alphabetically arranged, 1948-2007.

1860 to 1883: This collection contains Dewey’s Journal List of Deaths in the Vicinity of Dartmouth College, including likewise the hamlet usually called Greensborough from AD 1769 to 1859.

1926 to 1942: The collection consists of correspondence, notes, charts, census data, and clippings compiled by Dr. Gilman Frost while conducting genealogical research on Hanover, Lyme, and Orford, New Hampshire families. Index cards arranged by family surname, containing birth, death, and marriage data, along with narrative information and notes to sources, relating to Hanover families are also included.

1804 to 1864: The collection consists of letters, essays, poetry, property deeds and epitaphs. Much of the material relates to Asa Risley's work as a stonecutter and maker of tombstones. sketches for gravestone inscriptions for Eleazer Wheelock, Sylvanus Ripley, Mary Brimstead, Mary Woodward, and Levi Newcomb.

1772 to 2008: This collection includes some cemetery records in particular records of the restoration of the Wheelock gravestones and gravestone/Monument conservation reports.

1761 to 1995: This collection includes some cemetery records, including some of the Dartmouth Cemetery Association, and maps/plans of the cemetery. 

1934 to 2009: This collection contains material related to the history of the Anatomical Gift Program and included burial permits dating back to 1934 and unsolicited letters from people willing to sell their bodies to the medical school.