Research Guides: Access for Dartmouth Health Users: Getting Started

What can I access?

If you are a user with an active NetID through Dartmouth College, you can access any library resources. The best way is to sign in with your NetID and password. A good starting point is the Medical Libraries Resources Guide:

Medical and Health Sciences Libraries Resources

If you are from Dartmouth Hitchcock Medical Center in Lebanon, you should have on campus access to most library resources. We are actively troubleshooting some access issues for DHMC users right now. In the meantime, all of the links on this guide should work for you.

If you are from another Dartmouth Health site you have access to UpToDate and CINAHL Complete. Depending on your location, you may have access to DynaMed as well.

CINAHL Complete for DH
Nursing and allied health articles
DynaMed for DH
Evidence summaries written by medical experts for point-of-care use by health care professionals.
UpToDate for DH
A clinical information resource which offers up-to-date, fully-referenced expert reviews on patient care, diagnosis, and treatment.

Key Resources

If you do not have an active Dartmouth NetID, the following links are you best path to access Dartmouth Libraries Resources with your Dartmouth Health credentials.

AccessMedicine (for off campus users)
A searchable collection of medical textbooks, photos and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, and diagnostic tools.
AccessMedicine Case Files (for off campus users)
Interactive clinical and basic sciences cases that help you understand and apply medical concepts through real-world patient scenarios.
Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination (for off campus users)
Head-to-toe and systems physical exam, communication skills, and OSCE clinical skills videos.
CINAHL Complete for DH
Nursing and allied health articles
Cochrane Library (for off campus users)
Collection of databases which includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews and the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials.
DynaMed for DH
Evidence summaries written by medical experts for point-of-care use by health care professionals.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.

JAMAevidence (for off campus users)
Provides guides, tools, and tutorials to critically appraise medical research and apply it to patient care. It includes interactive resources like textbooks, calculators, and worksheets to support learning and clinical decision-making.
Lexidrug (for off campus users)
Clinical drug reference
LWW Basic Sciences (for off campus users)
A collection of medical science textbooks, procedural videos, images, case studies, and quizzes for students and practitioners in health-related fields.
LWW Clerkship (for off campus users)
Content for core clerkship rotations (Family Medicine, Internal Medicine, OB/GYN, Pediatrics, Psychiatry, and Surgery). This collection includes case studies, exam preparation, textbooks, and multimedia.
NatMed (for off campus users)
Supplements and herbs reference
Ovid MEDLINE (for off campus users)
Biomedical articles
Pharmacology World (for off campus users)
Pharmacology World offers video lessons covering key drug classes, their actions, uses, and side effects, integrating relevant physiology and biochemistry.
PsycINFO (for off campus users)
This is the main index to the peer-reviewed literature for psychology and neuroscience. It indexes citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines.

PubMed
PubMed comprises over 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.

Scopus (for off campus users)
Multidisciplinary articles and metrics
Springer Biomed & Life Scs Ebooks (for off campus users)
Springer Medicine Ebooks (for off campus users)
UpToDate for DH
A clinical information resource which offers up-to-date, fully-referenced expert reviews on patient care, diagnosis, and treatment.
Web of Science (for off campus users)
Multidisciplinary articles and metrics