Head of Research & Learning
Databases and Search Engines
-
GeoRef This link opens in a new windowThe major index to the international geological literature from 1785 to the present. Covers geology, geochemistry, geophysics, mineralogy, petrology, economic geology, hydrology, oceanography, geomorphology, and engineering geology.
-
Environmental Science Index This link opens in a new windowThis resource provides in-depth A&I coverage from the environmental science literature and related disciplines. Abstracts and citations are drawn from thousands of peer-reviewed journals, trade titles, conference proceedings, dissertations, and other varied content types.
-
GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowGreenFILE offers well-researched but accessible information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact.
-
Gale in Context - Environmental StudiesFocuses on sustainability and the environment; provides news, video, primary source documents and more. Easy to browse by topic, such as energy systems, legislation, environmental justice, climate change, and many more.
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new windowCitation database with multidisciplinary coverage of journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Indexes the journal literature and tracks article citation histories.
-
Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
Journals
-
Frontiers in soil science
Call Number: Electronic journalFrontiers in Soil Science provides a forum for research excellence in all aspects of soil science. They welcome article submissions in the traditional fields of soil chemistry, physics, and biology as well as those involved in pedology and soil classification. ... -
Plant, soil and environment
by
Call Number: Electronic journalThe scope of this journal includes experimental biology, agronomy, natural resources, and the environment; plant development, growth and productivity, breeding and seed production, growing of crops and their quality, soil care, conservation and productivity; agriculture and environment interactions from the perspective of sustainable development. -
Soil science: an interdisciplinary approach to soil research
Call Number: Electronic journalSoil Science satisfies the professional needs of all scientists and laboratory personnel involved in soil and plant research by publishing primary research reports and critical reviews of basic and applied soil science, especially as it relates to soil and plant studies and general environmental soil science. -
Soil Science Society of America journal
by
Call Number: Electronic journalSoil Science Society of America Journal, the flagship journal of the SSSA, publishes basic and applied soil research in soil chemistry, soil physics, soil pedology, and hydrology in agricultural, forest, wetlands, and urban settings. ...
If We Don't Own It
Did you know that you can request items that the library doesn't own?
-
Interlibrary LoanDartmouth's Interlibrary Loan system. Request books, chapters, articles, -- anything Dartmouth doesn't own and we'll borrow it from another library for you.
-
BorrowDirectRequest books (only) from a small, but strong, group of libraries (the Ivies). Often the fastest option for getting books that Dartmouth doesn't own, or that are missing or checked out.
Keeping up with Environmental Science journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Environmental Studies? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.
Annotated bibliographies
-
Diversity of Soils from Oxford Bibliographies OnlineThe earth’s surface is heterogeneous in nature. This feature of the earth’s crust implies that the distribution in space of its natural resources is also varied. Most natural resources vary in a continuum rather than in a discrete way. However, our cognitive system works better in discretely classifying the world that surrounds us. Therefore, we divide all the observed features in nature into non-overlapping categories, through a process called “categorization.”
-
Pedology from Oxford Bibliographies OnlineIn modern soil science pedology is widely viewed as the study of soils in their natural environment. Pedology has a fairly lengthy history within soil science, dating to the late 1800s and the work of Dokuchaev. The areas of soils study that fall under the pedology umbrella make pedology important for many modern applications of soils knowledge, including agriculture, agroforestry, environmental issues, and land-use planning. This makes a basic understanding of pedology important for anyone working in these areas.
-
Soil Ecology from Oxford Bibliographies OnlineThe study of soil ecology has a long tradition. Most of this interest, until relatively recently, has been from an agricultural perspective, but now it is widely accepted that soil ecology is central to the study of terrestrial ecology. Early research in soil ecology was largely descriptive, detailing the abundance of diversity of organisms in soils of different habitats. However, interest in functional soil ecology started in the 1980s with studies of trophic interactions in soil and their importance for nutrient cycles and decomposition. Now, the topic has blossomed, with the help of new technologies that allow the study of soil organisms and their activities in situ, and there is currently widespread recognition that soil ecology is fundamental to our understanding of the functioning of terrestrial ecosystems and their response to global change.
-
Soils as an Environmental System from Oxford Bibliographies OnlineSoil, the living surface of planet Earth, sustains nearly all life on the terrestrial surface. It is a complex media resulting from parent material, climate, topography, and biota, interacting over time. The complexity of soil lies within its composition. The physical structure of soil, which relates to the size and organization of its particles, determines many qualities such as nutrient and water-holding capacity, productivity, and erodibility.