Librarian
Wendel Cox
He/Him/His
Contact:
231 Baker
HB 6025 Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
Hanover, NH 03755
HB 6025 Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
Hanover, NH 03755
Recommended Resources
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowThe most comprehensive index of scholarship in literature, language, folklore, film, new media, and rhetoric and composition. Covers articles in periodicals, books, and book chapters. Does not index book reviews.
Oxford Research Encyclopedia: Literature by ISBN: 0190201096Publication Date: 2014-A dynamic platform that maps the world’s literary expressions and criticism. It synthesizes the fields and approaches that make up literature in its broadest sense. ORE of Literature offers a rigorous yet accessible overview of current literary research. It acts as a living resource as the discipline evolves, constantly reflecting and inspiring new debates within the academic community.
- Literature Online (LION)Texts and criticism across vast spans of time and place.
Research Skills Module
- Link to Canvas Commons moduleWorking on a literary honors thesis? Writing a paper for a seminar? Here's an introduction to fundamental research skills for contemporary literary scholars like you. Save time, improve your research, and watch a squirrel dance when you complete this challenge!
Highlighted Collections!
Nien Lin Xie and I collect Chinese science fiction in original form and English-language translations. This guide is a brief introduction to leading authors--and Ken Liu, a leading Chinese-American author and translator--as well as collections of short fiction. Far from comprehensive, this guide is a starting point for the genre.
How to Cite
- The MLA Style CenterWriting resources from the Modern Languages Association (MLA), including a quick guide.
MLA Handbook (9th edition) by Call Number: Berry Reference LB2369 .M52 2021ISBN: 9781603293518Publication Date: 2021-04-06The new, ninth edition builds on the MLA's unique approach to documenting sources using a template of core elements--facts, common to most sources, like author, title, and publication date--that allows writers to cite any type of work, from books, e-books, and journal articles in databases to song lyrics, online images, social media posts, dissertations, and more.
Dictionaries
- Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new windowA complete text of the 2nd. ed. of the Oxford English dictionary with quarterly updates, including revisions not available in any other form.
Dictionary of American Regional English (5 Vols.) by Call Number: Baker-Berry Reference PE2843 .D52 1985ISBN: 9780674047358Publication Date: 2012-03-20With this fifth volume of the Dictionary of American Regional English, readers now have the full panoply of American regional vocabulary, from Adam's housecat to Zydeco. Like the first four volumes, the fifth is filled with words that reflect our origins, migrations, ethnicities, and neighborhoods.
The Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms by ISBN: 0198715447Publication Date: 2015-07-14Clear and concise definitions of the most troublesome literary terms, from abjection to zeugma.
Handwriting, Transcription, and Paleography
Handwriting of the Twentieth Century, 2nd ed. by ISBN: 1841509914Publication Date: 2007The main purpose of this book is to create a historical record ... techniques are illustrated that may be useful for teachers today, while the ever-changing views of the stylists provide examples, as well as a warning, to those who plan for the future.
