Librarian
Databases and Search Engines
- Gale in Context - Environmental StudiesFocuses on sustainability and the environment; provides news, video, primary source documents and more. Easy to browse by topic, such as energy systems, legislation, environmental justice, climate change, and many more.
- Environmental Science Index This link opens in a new windowThis resource provides in-depth A&I coverage from the environmental science literature and related disciplines. Abstracts and citations are drawn from thousands of peer-reviewed journals, trade titles, conference proceedings, dissertations, and other varied content types.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowGreenFILE offers well-researched but accessible information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowCitation database with multidisciplinary coverage of journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Indexes the journal literature and tracks article citation histories.
- Environmental Science from Oxford Bibliographies OnlineEnvironmental Science arose from disparate disciplines as a distinct field in the last half of the 20th century. Initially fueled by awareness of environmental degradation, risk of species loss, and global climate change, it straddles the divisions and seeks to integrate synergies between them in research and application. This includes but is not limited to the physical sciences, the planning and social sciences, the health sciences, engineering, governance, policy, and more. Here, environmental physics, chemistry, and biology; risk analysis and public health; ecosystem governance, management, and planning; social and legal issues toward sustainability; and environmental engineering all come into play.
- Key Figures: North American Environmental Scientist Activists from Oxford Bibliographies OnlineEnvironmental scientist activist is not an established phrase. Here it designates individuals who begin their careers as professional scientists and become concerned about the loss of natural ecosystems or species, or environmental degradation and associated health effects. This concern gives rise to activism on behalf of environmental protection and enhancing public awareness of environmental issues. For some, activism takes the form of writing for a popular audience.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
Journals
AIMS environmental scienceCall Number: Electronic journalAIMS Environmental Science is an international Open Access journal devoted to publishing peer-reviewed, high quality, original papers in the field of Environmental science.
If We Don't Own It
Did you know that you can request items that the library doesn't own?
- Interlibrary LoanDartmouth's Interlibrary Loan system. Request books, chapters, articles, -- anything Dartmouth doesn't own and we'll borrow it from another library for you.
- BorrowDirectRequest books (only) from a small, but strong, group of libraries (the Ivies). Often the fastest option for getting books that Dartmouth doesn't own, or that are missing or checked out.
Keeping up with Environmental Science Journal Literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Environmental Studies? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.