Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Course description
This course takes students on a journey, not to an actual place per se in France, but rather through a lived experience, known as “Afro/Black Paris.” Paris, an historical site of freedom from racial enslavement, has long been a contested home and homeland for Africans and their descendants, that is, diverse people racialized as black whose presence in Paris results from colonization, exile, expatriation, and im/migration, including African Americans. The City of Light is arguably one of the most beautiful and exciting destinations in the world. However, all that glitters is not gold. Matters of race and anti-blackness co-exist with a variety of myths, narratives, and representations of Paris and France as color-blind and race-free. Through French film, students will explore these and related issues and thereby gain a broader understanding of pressing social questions, involving anti-racism, belonging, inequality, racism, and their intersections. This course follows a lecture-discussion format.
[Source: ORC/Catalog, 06/20/2024]; Dist:INT or SOC; WCult:CI
In the Library's collections
You can use one of these subject headings to start your research in the library's online catalog:
-
motion pictures franceCall number range PN 1993.5 .F7 on Baker Level 4. Please note: this is not the only call number range, but it has the most items.
Selected book title(s)
-
Beyond the shores: a history of African Americans abroad
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry E 185 .W237 2023ISBN: 9780593139059Part historical exploration, part travel memoir, Beyond the Shores reveals poignant histories of a diverse group of African Americans who have left the United States over the course of the past century. Together, the interwoven stories highlight African Americans' complicated relationship to the United States and the world at large. ... -
Black Europe and the African diaspora
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry D 1056.2 .B55 H56 2009ISBN: 9780252076572The presence of Blacks in a number of European societies has drawn increasing interest from scholars, policymakers, and the general public. This interdisciplinary and multi-disciplinary collection penetrates the multifaceted Black presence in Europe, and, in so doing, complicates the notions of race, belonging, desire, and identities assumed and presumed in revealing portraits of Black experiences in a European context. In focusing on contemporary intellectual currents and themes, the contributors theorize and re-imagine a range of historical and contemporary issues related to the broader questions of blackness, diaspora, hegemony, transnationalism, and Black Europe itself as lived and perceived realities. ... -
Black France / France Noire the history and politics of France
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780822395348In Black France / France Noire, scholars, activists, and novelists address the paradox of race in France: the state does not acknowledge race as a meaningful category, but experiences of anti-black racism belie claims of color-blindness. -
Cinema-monde: decentred perspectives on global filmmaking in French
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1993.5 .F74 C56 2018ISBN: 9781474414982The first book devoted to a wide-ranging study of developments in global French-language cinema, from Quebec to Mauritania and from Belgium to Cambodia, Cinéma-monde picks up on the lively scholarly debates generated by the related topic of littérature-monde. ... -
Empire films and the crisis of colonialism, 1946-1959
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781421416410Using popular cinema from the United States, Britain, and France, Empire Films and the Crisis of Colonialism, 1946-1959, examines postwar Western attitudes toward colonialism and race relations. Historians have written much about the high politics of decolonization but little about what ordinary citizens thought about losing their empires. Popular cinema provided the main source of images of the colonies, and, according to Jon Cowans in this far-reaching book, films depicting the excesses of empire helped Westerners come to terms with decolonization and even promoted the dismantling of colonialism around the globe. ... -
French minority cinema
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9789042031104Through the prisms of ethnicity, gender, and sexuality, French Minority Cinema explores key questions of identity and social interaction in the context of republican France, across two significant `minority cinemas: cinéma de banlieue and gay cinema. It offers the first comprehensive parallel study of these two bodies of film and their inter-relations, examining issues of national cinema and identity and the problematic status of minorities within the contemporary Republic. ... -
From empire to the world: migrant London and Paris in the cinema
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9 .E44 G84 2015ISBN: 9780748656462Investigates London and Paris as 'migrant cities' in contemporary British and French cinema. The study of globalization in cinema assumes many guises, from the exploration of global cinematic cities to the burgeoning 'world cinema turn' within film studies, which addresses the global nature of film production, exhibition and distribution. In this ambitious new study, Malini Guha draws together these two distinctly different ways of thinking about the cinema, interrogating representations of global London and Paris as migrant cinematic cities, featuring the arrival, settlement and departure of migrant figures from the decline of imperial rule to the global present. ... -
Jazz diasporas: race, music, and migration in post-World War II Paris
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780520963412At the close of the Second World War, waves of African American musicians migrated to Paris, eager to thrive in its reinvigorated jazz scene. Jazz Diasporas challenges the notion that Paris was a color-blind paradise for African Americans. On the contrary, musicians adopted a variety of strategies to cope with the cultural and social assumptions that confronted them throughout their careers in Paris, particularly as France became embroiled in struggles over race and identity when colonial conflicts like the Algerian War escalated. ... -
Paris, capital of the Black Atlantic: literature, modernity, and diaspora
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781421407791How black writers' travel to Paris contributed to the transatlantic circulation of art and ideas. Paris has always fascinated and welcomed writers. Throughout the twentieth and into the twenty-first century, writers of American, Caribbean, and African descent were no exception. Paris, Capital of the Black Atlantic considers the travels made to Paris--whether literally or imaginatively--by black writers. These collected essays explore the transatlantic circulation of ideas, texts, and objects to which such travels to Paris contributed. ... -
Reframing difference: beur and banlieue filmmaking in France
by
Call Number: Baker-Berry PN 1995.9.M56 T37 2005ISBN: 9780719068775Reframing difference is the first major study of two overlapping strands of contemporary French cinema, cinema beur (films by young directors of Maghrebi immigrant origin) and cinema de banlieue (films set in France's disadvantaged outer-city estates). Carrie Tarr's insightful account draws on a wide range of films, from directors such as Mehdi Charef, Mathieu Kassovitz and Djamel Bensalah. Her analyses compare the work of male and female, majority and minority film-makers, and emphasise the significance of authorship in the representation of gender and ethnicity. ... -
Revisioning Duras: film, race, sex
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780853235460The extraordinary range, complexity and power of Marguerite Duras - novelist, dramatist, film-maker, essayist - has been justly recognised. Yet in the years following her death in 1996, there has been a increasing tendency to consecrate her work, particularly by those critics who approach it primarily in biographical terms. The British and American specialists featured in this interdisciplinary collection aim to resurrect the Duras corpus in all its forms by submitting it theoretically to three main areas of enquiry. By establishing how far Duras's work questions and redefines the parameters of literary and cinematic form, as well as the categories of race and ethnicity, homosexuality and heterosexuality, fantasy and violence, the contributors to this volume 'revision' Duras's work in the widest sense of the term -
Screening the Paris suburbs: from the silent era to the 1990s
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781526143594Decades before the emergence of a French self-styled 'hood' film around 1995, French filmmakers looked beyond the gates of the capital for inspiration and content. In the Paris suburbs they found an inexhaustible reservoir of forms, landscapes and social types in which to anchor their fictions, from bourgeois villas and bucolic riverside cafés to post-war housing estates and postmodern new towns. For the first time in English, contributors to this volume address key aspects of this long film history, marked by such towering figures as Jean Renoir, Jacques Tati and Jean-Luc Godard. ... -
World directory of cinema. France
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781841505633Artistic, intellectual, and appreciably avant-garde, the French film industry has, perhaps more than any other national cinema, been perennially at the center of international filmmaking. With its vigorous business and wide-ranging film culture, France has also been home historically to some of the most influential filmmakers and movements - and, indeed, the very first motion picture was screened in Paris in 1895. This volume addresses the great directors and key artistic movements, but also ventures beyond these well-established films and figures, broadening the canon through an examination of many neglected but intriguing French films. ...
Other library resource(s)
-
The color of unworthiness: understanding Blacks in France and the French visual media through Laurent Cantet's The Class (2008) from Transition
by
Call Number: Electronic journal articleThe French visual media, like Western media in general, have often shied away from people of color. The Class, a 2008 documentary film directed by Laurent Cantet and based upon François Bégaudau's book, relays the experience of a white French teacher in a multiracial lycée. Abdoulaye Gueye asks what the fanfare generated by this widely viewed film, winner of the coveted Palme d'or at Cannes, really reveals. -
French cinema from Oxford Bibliographies Online
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199791286As befits the country of the cinema’s official “birth,” France boasts a long tradition of writing on film. In the 1920s, avant-garde filmmakers such as Louis Delluc and Jean Epstein started theorizing cinema’s specificity as a medium, while in the 1930s debates turned political. During that decade critics and historians such as Georges Sadoul began also to reflect on film history. Major works on French cinema, however, started to appear only after World War II. -
The HistoryMakers digital archive
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceThe HistoryMakers is a non-profit institution whose purpose is to record, preserve and disseminate the content of video oral history interviews highlighting the accomplishments of individual African Americans and African-American-led groups and movements. The Archive aims is to provide a unique scholarly and educational resource for exploring African American history and culture. It is unique among collections of African American heritage because of its large and varied scope, with interviewees from across the United States, from a variety of fields, and with memories stretching from the 1890s to the present. Rather than focus on one particular part of a person’s life or a single subject, such as a career or participation in the civil rights movement, the interviews are life oral histories covering the person’s entire span of memories as well as his or her own family’s oral history. -
Myth of colorblind France
by
Call Number: Streaming mediaFor more than a century, African American artists, authors, musicians and others have traveled to Paris to liberate themselves from the racism of the United States. What made these African Americans choose France? Why were the French fascinated by African Americans? And to what extent was and is France truly colorblind? ... -
Paris noir: African Americans in the City of Light
by
Call Number: Streaming videoParis Noir - African Americans in the City of Light is the most comprehensive and compelling documentary on the remarkable migration of pioneering African Americans who sought freedom from America's strife and found acceptance and great achievement abroad. Beginning with World War 1 soldiers, the film weaves together the contributions and influence of writers, musicians, intellectuals, entertainers and artists in Paris of the 1920s to 1950s. ... -
Seeing through race in contemporary French cinema from L'Esprit Créateur
by
Call Number: Electronic journal articleThe goal of this essay is to set the stage for a longer conversation about what it means “to race” French cinema, that is, to attend to the hermeneutics of race in cinematic production from France. ... -
Trop noire pour être Française? = To Black to be French
by
Call Number: Jones Media DVD #22312In this documentary film, Isabelle Boni-Claverie explores the role of race and the persistence of racism in France, as well as the impact of the French colonial past. Through an exploration of her personal family history, and interviews with historians and academics, Too Black to be French peels back the layers of race relations in supposedly institutionally colorblind France. Boni-Claverie, a French-Ivorian, who grew up in upper class French society, unpacks how socio-economic privilege doesn't mean protection from racial discrimination. ...
Finding scholarly articles & journal title(s)
You can find scholarly literature for film and television studies in a variety of journals. However, if you want to do targeted searching, you can use a subject specific database such as Film & Television Literature Index. You can also use the search box at the top of the page.
-
Black camera
Call Number: Electronic journalBlack Camera is devoted to the study and documentation of the black cinematic experience and is the only scholarly film journal of its kind in the United States. It regularly features essays and interviews that engage film in social as well as political distribution, and production of film in local, regional, national, and transnational settings and environments. -
French screen studies
by
Call Number: Electronic journalFrench Screen Studies is the only journal devoted exclusively to French and francophone cinema, providing scholars, teachers and students from around the world with a consistent quality of academic investigation across the full breadth of the subject. Contributors explore the cultural and technical aspects of French cinema from a wide range of methodological perspectives. -
Cinéma Français from Media History Digital Library
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceAs the site of what was likely the first ever public screening of a projected film, France is considered by many to be the birthplace of cinema itself. The French film industry was powerful and important in cinema’s early days, with companies like Pathé and Gaumont producing huge numbers of films in impressive facilities. In this collection, issues of Ciné-Journal cover this period of particular strength for the French film industry. However, like many European film industries, film production in France suffered during and after World War I. The United States’ film industry was not affected like its European counterparts and was able to make up much of the ground that the French industry lost during wartime. This is notable in some of the later publications from the 1920s and 1930s included below, like Cinéa and La Cinématographie Française, which frequently feature American-based stars and figures like Charlie Chaplin, Janet Gaynor, Douglas Fairbanks Jr., and Adolph Zukor. -
Black studies center
Call Number: Electronic resourceThis fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies includes scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, and more. -
Entertainment industry magazine archiveCall Number: Electronic resourceAn archival resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles.
-
Film & television literature index
Call Number: Electronic resourceThis index covers over 300 journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television. About half the journals and magazines are film periodicals and the other half cover film and television with some regularity. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. -
Screen studies collection
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceA comprehensive survey of current publications related to film scholarship alongside detailed filmographies. This collection includes the FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database and the detailed and complementary filmographies created by the American Film Institute (AFI) and the British Film Institute. -
Web of science citation databases
by
Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Internet resource(s)
-
Blaxit GlobalBlaxit Global provides information, inspiration, and empowerment for members of the African diaspora who want to pursue a new life abroad. Our community consists primarily of Black Americans interested in leaving the United States to remove themselves from systemic racism, discrimination, oppression, and other indignities. ...
Citing and Tracking Your Bibliographic References
Use this guide to help you learn how to correctly cite and keep track of the references you find for your research.
Keeping up with Film Studies journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Film Studies? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.