Psychology Librarian
Reference Resources
The Cambridge Handbook of Forensic Psychology by
In the decade since the publication of the first edition of The Cambridge Handbook of Forensic Psychology, the field has expanded into areas such as social work and education, while maintaining the interest of criminal justice researchers and policy makers. This new edition provides cutting-edge and comprehensive coverage of the key theoretical perspectives, assessment methods, and interventions in forensic psychology. The chapters address substantive topics such as acquisitive crime, domestic violence, mass murder, and sexual violence, while also exploring emerging areas of research such as the expansion of cybercrime, particularly child sexual exploitation, as well as aspects of terrorism and radicalisation. Reflecting the global reach of forensic psychology and its wide range of perspectives, the international team of contributors emphasise diversity and cross-reference between adults, adolescents, and children to deliver a contemporary picture of the discipline.
ISBN: 1108848915Publication Date: 2021-12-02
APA Handbook of Forensic Psychology by
The APA Handbook of Forensic Psychology consolidates and advances knowledge about the scientific foundations and practical application of psychology to law, the practice of law, and law-related policy. Drawing upon contemporary psychological research and practice, this Handbook provides a thorough, up-to-date, and far-reaching reference on forensic psychological issues that are important to researchers, practitioners and students in psychology, other social sciences and practice disciplines, and law. The Handbook is divided into 2 Volumes, each comprised of 3 sections: Volume 1 (Individual and Situational Influences in Criminal and Civil Contexts) Forensic Evaluation and Treatment in Criminal Cases Individual and Situational Predictors of Criminal Behavior Applications of Forensic Psychology in Civil Cases Volume 2 (Criminal Investigation, Adjudication, and Sentencing Outcomes) Victim and Offender Groups Criminal Investigations and Jury Trials Sentencing and Incarceration
Call Number: RA1148 .A63 2015ISBN: 9781433817939Publication Date: 2014-12-01
Books
Forensic Psychology: a Very Short Introduction
Lie detection, offender profiling, jury selection, insanity in the law, predicting the risk of re-offending, the minds of serial killers and many other topics that fill news and fiction are all aspects of the rapidly developing area of scientific psychology broadly known as Forensic Psychology. Forensic Psychology: A Very Short Introduction discusses all the aspects of psychology that are relevant to the legal and criminal process as a whole. It includes explanations of criminal behaviour and criminality, including the role of mental disorder in crime, and discusses how forensic psychology contributes to helping investigate the crime and catching the perpetrators. It also explains how psychologists provide guidance to all those involved in civil and criminal court proceedings, including both the police and the accused, and what expert testimony can be provided by a psychologist about the offender at the trial. Finally, David Canter examines how forensic psychology is used, particularly in prisons, to help in the management, treatment and rehabilitation of offenders, once they have been convicted.
ISBN: 1282939181Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Inside Forensic Psychology by
In this absorbing and illustrative volume, experienced forensic psychologists explain the specialized field's intersection between psychology and the justice system. It documents psychologists' interviews with involved parties, the law research they conduct, and their testimony in court on issues that include competency to stand trial, Miranda evaluations, defendants' sanity, sentencing, the death penalty, and violence and risk assessments, as well as on cases regarding family matters such as child custody, child protection, and parental rights. Offering firsthand testimonials from some of the best-known and most practiced professionals in the nation, the contributors not only explain the work but also offer comprehensive case studies that will enable students as well as readers who are not specialists in psychology to fully understand core concepts and appreciate the complexities and subtleties of the field. Inside Forensic Psychology is intended for undergraduate students and graduate students studying forensic psychology or entering into a forensic psychology concentration/specialization. As an instructional text, the book serves professors as a single resource that houses varied forensic clinical case vignettes incorporating the clinical thinking of the psychologist. The rich case material will serve to excite critical thinking in students, assist instructors in expanding upon their lectures, and provide invigorating, intriguing material for lay readers.
ISBN: 9781440803048Publication Date: 2016-03-28
Forensic Psychology: the Basics by
This edition of Forensic Psychology: The Basics continues to provide an essential and accessible overview of a dynamic and fascinating discipline. Providing an engaging introduction to the core topics within Forensic Psychology, the text combines a discussion of theory with information about the role of a professional forensic psychologist. This edition has been fully updated throughout to include additional coverage of: Offender profiling and rehabilitation The role of psychology in crime prevention Psychological factors relating to terrorism Established topics including police psychology, the psychology of crime and delinquency, victimology and victim services, and correctional psychology are also considered in this invaluable guide. It will be essential reading for students across a range of disciplines, from psychology to criminology to law, or general readers seeking a concise and jargon-free introduction.
ISBN: 1351202901Publication Date: 2019-01-21
Ethics Challenges in Forensic Psychiatry and Psychology Practice by
Forensic psychiatry and psychology involve specialized practice with unique patients, including children, the incarcerated, and involuntary clients, presenting practitioners with specific ethics challenges. Griffith provides a roadmap for specialists in these evolving fields to recognize dilemmas, articulate problems, and create solutions.
ISBN: 0231544847Publication Date: 2018-09-24
