Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Course description
This course is an introduction to the study of physical systems that form the basics of the global environment: weather and climate, soils and vegetation, landforms and landscape evolution. We will be examining the spatial patterns of these systems over the globe, their inter-relationships, and their reaction to naturally and human-induced changes over time. Not open to students who have received credit for GEOG 01.01 or GEOG 003.
[Source: ORC/Catalog. 09/06/2023]; Dist:SCI
In the Library's collections
You can use one of these subject headings to start your research in the library's online catalog:
- effect of human beings onThis is the subject heading to use to find resources on the effect of human beings on specific topics.
Selected book title(s)
Aesthetics of the natural environment by Call Number: Baker-Berry BH 301 .N3 B73 2003ISBN: 9780817313746Aesthetic experience is one of the fundamental ways that we develop a relationship to our natural surroundings. Emily Brady provides a comprehensive study of this type of experience and the central philosophical issues related to it, developing her own original theory of aesthetic appreciation of nature. She provides useful background to the current debate and an up-to-date critical appraisal of contemporary theories. The context of the contemporary debate is laid out through a discussion of aesthetic experience and aesthetic qualities; early theories of aesthetic appreciation of nature, including the beautiful, the sublime, and the picturesque; and differences between artistic and environmental appreciation and interpretation. ...
After greenwashing: symbolic corporate environmentalism and society by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781107034822Businesses promote their environmental awareness through green buildings, eco-labels, sustainability reports, industry pledges and clean technologies. When are these symbols wasteful corporate spin, and when do they signal authentic environmental improvements? Based on twenty years of research, three rich case studies, a strong theoretical model and a range of practical applications, this book provides the first systematic analysis of the drivers and consequences of symbolic corporate environmentalism. It addresses the indirect cost of companies' symbolic actions and develops a new concept of the 'social energy penalty' - the cost to society when powerful corporate actors limit the social conversation on environmental problems and their solutions. ...
Creating ecological value: an evolutionary approach to business strategies and the natural environment by Call Number: HD 60 .B66 2009ISBN: 9781847209726Firms adopt a wide variety of ecological strategies, ranging from the development of innovative products with reduced environmental impact to lobbying against governmental attempts to set standards for the way in which firms deal with the natural environment. This book explores this variety and is the first to provide a coherent evolutionary approach to the ecological strategies of firms. ...
Ecosystems, society, and health: pathways through diversity, convergence, and integration by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780773544796The modern world has created complex systems that have interrelated concerns. Ecosystems, Society, and Health presents new perspectives on how the challenges relating to these concerns must be examined, not as disparate political narratives, but as dynamic transformational stories that demand integrative systems of research, analysis, practice, and action. ...
Geosystems: an introduction to physical geography by Call Number: Baker-Berry GB 54.5 .C48 2018ISBN: 9780134597119Publication Date: 10th ed.Among the most highly regarded texts in physical geography, Robert Christopherson's best-selling Geosystems: An Introduction to Physical Geography is known for its meticulous attention to detail, up-to-date accuracy, and rich integration of climate change science. Uniquely organized, the text presents Earth systems topics as they naturally occur: atmosphere, hydrosphere, lithosphere, and biosphere. This interconnected and organic systems-based approach is highlighted in strong pedagogical tools, a structured learning path, and current, updated information. ...
The human impact on the natural environment: past, present and future by Call Number: Baker-Berry GF 75 .G68 2013ISBN: 9781118576588Publication Date: 7th ed.This text explores the multitude of impacts that humans have had over time upon vegetation, animals, soils, water, landforms and the atmosphere. It also looks into the future and considers the ways in which climate changes and modifications in land cover may change the environment in coming decades.
Island environments in a changing world by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780521732475Islands represent unique opportunities to examine human interaction with the natural environment. They capture the human imagination as remote, vulnerable and exotic, yet there is comparatively little understanding of their basic geology, geography, or the impact of island colonization by plants, animals and humans. This detailed study of island environments focuses on nine island groups, including Hawaii, New Zealand and the British Isles, exploring their differing geology, geography, climate and soils, as well as the varying effects of human actions. It illustrates the natural and anthropogenic disturbances common to island groups, all of which face an uncertain future clouded by extinctions of endemic flora and fauna, growing populations of invasive species, and burgeoning resident and tourist populations. ...
Other library resource(s)
Geography from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199874002Geography is the study of the earth’s surface, including its physical, biological, and social systems. It is concerned with how people shape and in turn are shaped by the natural and ecological systems around them, how societies create landscapes and places, and the spatial distributions of many kinds of phenomena. The discipline seeks to describe and explain why different phenomena are located where they are and how their spatial patterns change over time. ...
Human ecology from Oxford Bibliographies Online - Ecology by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199830060Contemplation of the relationship between human beings and their environment is millennia-old. As Hippocrates wrote over two millennia ago in his “Airs, Waters, Places” (Hippocrates 1923, cited under History), “For in general you will find assimilated to the nature of the land both the physique and the characteristics of the inhabitants” (p. 137). The contemporary efflorescence of studies of this relationship dates from the second half of the 20th century, with the rise in public perceptions of an environmental “crisis” spawned by industrial society and attendant recognition of the need for analysis and interventions based on the social as well as natural sciences. ...- Human-landscape interactions from the Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199874002Human-landscape interactions, also often described as nature-society or human-environment interactions, is a topic examined by multiple disciplines and subdisciplines, including but not limited to geography, anthropology, ecology, human ecology, cultural ecology, political ecology, environmental sociology, environmental anthropology, and earth systems science. The concept of “landscape” varies within and among disciplines, not to mention different languages. It is typically used to describe a distinctive combination of natural and cultural features, and often serves as the basic unit of analysis for social and natural science studies. ...
Finding scholarly articles & journal title(s)
Articles and other writings about the natural environment can be found in many publications. You can use Web of Science, Academic Search Complete, other indexes or the search box at the top of the page.
Gale in context: Environmental studies by Call Number: Electronic resourceFrom climate change to automobile emissions, today’s environmental issues determine the destiny of tomorrow’s world. Gale In Context: Environmental Studies provides users with comprehensive information on topics that affect people around the world. You can explore topics and events within Earth systems, global change, pollution, populations, and more. This resource
Integrates case studies, news, reference materials, academic journals, videos, and more on over 400 topics.
Environmental science index by Call Number: Electronic resourceThis resource provides in-depth A&I coverage from the environmental science literature and related disciplines. Abstracts and citations are drawn from thousands of peer-reviewed journals, trade titles, conference proceedings, dissertations, and other varied content types.
GreenFILECall Number: Electronic resourceGreenFILE offers well-researched but accessible information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact.
Web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Internet resource(s)
- Natural Environment from The Encyclopedia of EarthThe Encyclopedia of Earth (EoE) is an electronic reference about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society.
- Our Built and Natural Environments from the U. S. EPA
This link opens in a new window
Decisions about how and where we build our communities have significant impacts on the natural environment and on human health. Cities, regions, states, and the private sector need information about the environmental effects of their land use and transportation decisions to mitigate growth-related environmental impacts and to improve community quality of life and human health. ...
Citing and Tracking Your Bibliographic References
Use this guide to help you learn how to correctly cite and keep track of the references you find for your research.
Keeping up with Geography journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Geography? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.