Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Course description
This course examines the extent to which the biogeophysics of the climate system and global warming determines human welfare and security. Using original climate analyses and critical evaluation of the scientific literature, we will examine topics such as the consumptive and paradoxical dimensions of the climate problem, climate and political violence, climate mitigation, climate adaptation, and climate geoengineering.
[Source: ORC/Catalog, 04/04/2023]; Dist:SCI; WCult:W
In the Library's collections
You can use one of these subject headings to start your research in the library's online catalog:
- biogeophysicsThis is a keyword search bringing up several different types of information resources.
- climate systemThis is a title search in the online catalog.
- biogeophysicsThis is a keyword search bringing up several different types of information resources.
Introductory reading(s)
The climate system by Call Number: Baker-Berry QC 981.8 .C5 C556 2001ISBN: 9789058092557These results from the National Research Programme on Climate Change of the Netherlands offer a synthesis of present knowledge in the fields of: source and sinks of greenhouse gases and aerosols; land-atmosphere interactions; the global energy balance; and radiative forcing and climate variability.
Climate system dynamics and modelling by Call Number: QC 874.5 .G66 2015ISBN: 9781107445833This textbook presents all aspects of climate system dynamics, on all timescales from the Earth's formation to modern human-induced climate change. It discusses the dominant feedbacks and interactions between all the components of the climate system: atmosphere, ocean, land surface and ice sheets. It addresses one of the key challenges for a course on the climate system: students can come from a range of backgrounds. ...
The global climate system: patterns, processes, and teleconnections by Call Number: QC 981 .B786 2006ISBN: 9780521826426Over the last 20 years, developments in climatology have provided an amazing array of explanations for the pattern of world climates. This textbook examines the earth's climate systems in light of this incredible growth in data availability, data retrieval systems, and satellite and computer applications. It considers regional climate anomalies, developments in teleconnections, unusual sequences of recent climate change, and human impacts upon the climate system. ...
Handbook of climate change adaptation by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9783642386695The Handbook of Climate Change Adaptation addresses the scientific, social, political and cultural aspects of climate change in an integrated and coherent way. The multi-volume reference focuses on one of the key aspects of climate change: adaptation and how to handle its impacts on physical, biotic and human systems, analyzing the social and normative scientific concerns and presenting the tools, approaches and methods aimed at management of climate change impacts. ...
Routledge handbook of climate change and society by Call Number: Baker-Berry QC 903 .R68 2010ISBN: 9780203876213As the time-scales of natural change accelerate and converge with those of society, Routledge Handbook of Climate Change and Society takes the reader into largely uncharted territory in its exploration of anthropogenic climate change. Current material is used to highlight the global impact of this issue, and the necessity for multidisciplinary and global social science research and teaching to address the problem. ...
Selected book title(s)
Climate change, ethics and human security by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9786612723391Presenting human security perspectives on climate change, this volume raises issues of equity, ethics and environmental justice, as well as our capacity to respond to what is increasingly considered to be the greatest societal challenge for humankind. ...
Demystifying climate models: a users guide to Earth system models by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9783662489598This work demystifies the models we use to simulate present and future climates, allowing readers to better understand how to use climate model results. In order to predict the future trajectory of the Earth's climate, climate-system simulation models are necessary. When and how do we trust climate model predictions? This book offers a framework for answering this question. It provides readers with a basic primer on climate and climate change, and offers non-technical explanations for how climate models are constructed, why they are uncertain, and what level of confidence we should place in them.
Other library resource(s)
Biogeophysics: a new frontier in Earth science research from Reviews of geophysics by Call Number: Electronic journal article“Biogeophysics” is a rapidly evolving Earth science discipline concerned with the geophysical signatures of microbial interactions with geologic media. It spans the established disciplines of geomicrobiology, biogeoscience, and geophysics. Biogeophysics research in the last decade has confirmed the potential for geophysical techniques to measure not simply the physical and chemical properties of the subsurface, as already well established, but also to detect microbes, microbial growth, and microbe‐mineral interactions, thus representing a major paradigm shift in geophysical thinking. ...
Land use, land cover and land management change: definitions, scenarios, and role in the climate system from Oxford Bibliographies Online - ENVS by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199363445Using land resources in fulfilment of their needs, humans have either altered land surface properties (land cover changes) or modified characteristics of the existing land cover (land management changes). Nowadays, over 70 percent of the world’s land surface is under direct human influence. Examples of land cover changes include deforestation for cropland expansion, urban growth, or polder drainage. In some cases these land cover changes may induce harmful effects, such as biodiversity losses or increased landslide susceptibility. ...
Finding scholarly articles & journal title(s)
GeoRef by Call Number: Electronic resourceThis index covers all areas of the Earth Sciences. It also covers a wide range of Physical Geography too.
Web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Citing and Tracking Your Bibliographic References
Use this guide to help you learn how to correctly cite and keep track of the references you find for your research.
Keeping up with Geography journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Geography? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.