Subject Librarian
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Course description
This course is an introduction to geomorphology – the study of the mechanisms that shape the Earth’s surface. Students will learn about river, glacial, hillslope, and wind-driven processes, and the resulting landforms and landscapes they produce. We will also delve into how landscapes respond to and affect tectonics and climate, and the implications for understanding the history of the Earth’s surface and its future. The techniques and tools we use as geomorphologists range from direct observations to chemical, physical, mathematical, and isotopic approaches, all of which we will explore in this course. The processes we discuss are not confined to the Earth, and as such, we will also touch on the geomorphic evolution of other planetary bodies as well.
Not open to students who have received credit for GEOG 033.
[Source: ORC/Catalog, 04/04/2023]; Dist:SLA
In the Library's collections
You can use one of these subject headings to start your research in the library's online catalog:
- geomorphologyGeomorphology covers the call number range of GB 400 through GB 649 .
Selected book title(s)
Geomorphology: a Canadian perspective by Call Number: Baker-Berry GB 428.5 .C2 T73 2016ISBN: 9780199019809Publication Date: 6th ed.This is a comprehensive text designed for use by undergraduate students at a variety of levels. Although it has a very strong emphasis on Canadian topics and examples, the material will interest a wide range of geomorphologists; it gives extensive coverage of coral, mangrove, and tropical karst, for example. Some chapters will prove ideal for exposing undergraduates to scientific aspects of process geomorphology. ...
Geomorphology and global environmental change by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780521878128How will global environmental change affect the landscape and our interaction with it? Apart from climate change, there are other important catalysts of landscape change, including relief, hydroclimate and runoff, sea level variations and human activity. This volume summarises the geomorphic implications of global environmental change, analysing such effects on lakes, rivers, coasts, reefs, rainforests, savannas, deserts, glacial features, and mountains. Providing a benchmark statement from the world's leading geomorphologists on the state of, and potential changes to, the environment, this book is invaluable for advanced courses on geomorphology and environmental science, and as a reference for research scientists. ...- History of geomorphology and quaternary geology byCall Number: eBookISBN: 9781862392557This book deals with various interesting aspects of the histories of geomorphology and Quaternary geology in different parts of the world. The papers cover a range of topics: the origin of the term ‘Quaternary’, histories of ideas and debates relating to aspects of fluvial geomorphology (USA and Australia), glacial geomorphology and glaciation (Northern Europe, the Baltic countries, Russia, Iceland, and New Zealand), desert dunes and the geology of Australia, ...
International encyclopedia of geography: people, the Earth, environment, and technology by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780470659632Representing the definitive reference work for this broad and dynamic field, The International Encyclopedia of Geography arises from an unprecedented collaboration between Wiley and the American Association of Geographers (AAG) to review and define the concepts, research, and techniques in geography and interrelated fields. The Encyclopedia assembles a truly global group of scholars for a comprehensive, authoritative overview of geography around the world.
Landscapes and geomorphology: a very short introduction by Call Number: Baker-Berry GB 400.4 .G68 2010ISBN: 9780199565573What were the landscapes of the past like? What will landscapes look like in the future? Landscapes are all around us, but most of us know very little about how they have developed, what goes on in them, and how they react to changing climates, tectonics and human activities. Examining what landscape is, and how we use a range of ideas and techniques to study it, Andrew Goudie and Heather Viles demonstrate how geomorphologists have built on classic methods pioneered by some great 19th century scientists to examine our Earth.
The Routledge international handbook of island studies: a world of Islands by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781472483386From tourist paradises to immigrant detention camps, from offshore finance centres to strategic military bases, islands offer distinct identities and spaces in an increasingly homogenous and placeless world. The study of islands is important, for its own sake and on its own terms. But so is the notion that the island is a laboratory, a place for developing and testing ideas, and from which lessons can be learned and applied elsewhere. The Routledge International Handbook of Island Studies is a global, research-based and pluri-disciplinary overview of the study of islands. ...
Other library resource(s)
Fluvial geomorphology from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199874002Fluvial geomorphology is a subdiscipline of geomorphology that investigates how flowing water shapes and modifies Earth’s surface through erosional and depositional processes. The origin of fluvial comes from the Latin fluvialis, from fluvius (river), and its first known usage occurred in the 14th century. Over the last 150 years, fluvial geomorphology has transitioned from a science of qualitative landscape description to a process- and application-based understanding of streams and their connected systems (i.e., floodplains and watersheds). ...- GIS and remote sensing applications in geomorphology from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199874002Geomorphology is the science of studying landforms, landscapes, and their related processes, including the description, materials, classification, origin, evolution, and history of earth/planetary surfaces. Geographic information system (GIS) is a computer-based system used for collection, maintenance, storage, retrieval, analysis, and distribution of geographic data and information. A closely related technique to GIS is remote sensing (RS), the noncontact recording of electromagnetic spectrum of earth/planetary surfaces based on satellite-, aircraft-, or ground-based sensors to measure, detect, and classify ground objects. GIS and remote sensing have been integrated in many geomorphological studies to quantify surface processes and landforms. ...
- Glacial and periglacial geomorphology from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199874002Glacial and periglacial geomorphology are those branches of geomorphology concerned with the evolution of landscapes in high latitudes and altitudes. They have been inextricably linked within the history of geomorphology for two principal reasons. First and foremost, the two are connected because together they deal with the role of water in the solid state in landscape evolution and through geotechnical and hydrological aspects related to water resource scarcity and environmental change. ...
Finding scholarly articles & journal title(s)
Articles and other writings about landforms and processes can be found in many publications. Our collection includes several journals which looks exclusively at these topics or use the index GeoRef. You can also use the search box at the top of the page.
Geomorphology (Amsterdam, Netherlands)Call Number: Electronic journalGeomorphology publishes peer-reviewed works across the full spectrum of the discipline from fundamental theory and science to applied research of relevance to sustainable management of the environment.
Earth surface processes and landforms: the journal of the British Geomorphological Research Group by Call Number: Electronic journalEarth Surface Processes and Landforms is a geomorphology journal examining links between how surface processes affect our landforms and landscapes. Articles investigate the impacts of past, current and future environmental change on Earth, and span physical geography, geology, and the wider geosciences. ...
GeoRef by Call Number: Electronic resourceThis index covers all areas of the Earth Sciences. It also covers a wide range of Physical Geography too.
Academic search complete by Call Number: Electronic resourceA scholarly, interdisciplinary article index and a good starting place for article searching on any subject.
Web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Internet resource(s)
- Geomorphology Specialty Group of the AAGTo foster better communication among those working in the geomorphic sciences, especially in geography.
Citing and Tracking Your Bibliographic References
Use this guide to help you learn how to correctly cite and keep track of the references you find for your research.
Keeping up with Geography journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Geography? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.