Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Course description
Someone once said that Americans are a people in space rather than a people in time. A political configuration of relatively recent vintage, the United States, nevertheless, occupies a vast amount of space. The occupation and ordering of that space has produced distinctive landscapes with many regional variations. This course will examine the formation of these cultural landscapes beginning with those produced by Native Americans, and following the settlement process up to contemporary, post-modern America. Along the way, we will explore, among other things, the development of such American landscape elements as grid-pattern towns, cowboy ranches, skyscrapers, shopping malls, and corporate office parks.
[Source: ORC/Catalog, 01/16/2024]; Dist:SOC; WCult:CI
In the Library's collections
Cultural Geography is scattered throughout the collections. Pay close attention to the Location listed in the catalog.You can use one of these subject headings to start your research in the library's online catalog:
Introductory reading(s)
American environmental history: an introduction by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780231140348By studying the many ways diverse peoples have changed, shaped, and conserved the natural world over time, environmental historians provide insight into humanity's unique relationship with nature and, more importantly, are better able to understand the origins of our current environmental crisis. Beginning with the precolonial land-use practice of Native Americans and concluding with our twenty-first century concerns over our global ecological crisis, American Environmental History addresses contentious issues such as the preservation of the wilderness, the expulsion of native peoples from national parks, and population growth, and considers the formative forces of gender, race, and class. ...
International encyclopedia of geography: people, the Earth, environment, and technology by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780470659632Representing the definitive reference work for this broad and dynamic field, The International Encyclopedia of Geography arises from an unprecedented collaboration between Wiley and the American Association of Geographers (AAG) to review and define the concepts, research, and techniques in geography and interrelated fields. The Encyclopedia assembles a truly global group of scholars for a comprehensive, authoritative overview of geography around the world.
Landscape from International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780080970875Publication Date: 2nd ed.This link goes directly to the article about Landscape.
The making of the American landscape by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780415950077The only compact yet comprehensive survey of environmental and cultural forces that have shaped the visual character and geographical diversity of the settled American landscape. The book examines the large-scale historical influences that have molded the varied human adaptation of the continent's physical topography to its needs over more than 500 years. It presents a synoptic view of myriad historical processes working together or in conflict, and illustrates them through their survival in or disappearance from the everyday landscapes of today.
Traces of J. B. Jackson: the man who taught us to see everyday America by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780813943343J. B. Jackson transformed forever how Americans understand their landscape, a concept he defined as land shaped by human presence. In the first major biography of the greatest pioneer in landscape studies, Helen Horowitz shares with us a man who focused on what he regarded as the essential American landscape, the everyday places of the countryside and city, exploring them as texts that reveal important truths about society and culture, present and past. In Jackson's words, landscape is "history made visible." ...
Understanding the cultural landscape by Call Number: Baker-Berry GF 41 .W354 2005ISBN: 9781593851194This compelling book offers a fresh perspective on how the natural world has been imagined, built on, and transformed by human beings throughout history and around the globe. Coverage ranges from the earliest societies to pre-industrial China and India, from the emergence in Europe of the modern world to the contemporary global economy. The focus is on what the places we have created say about us: our belief systems and the ways we make a living. ...
Selected book title(s)
Archaeologies of placemaking: monuments, memories, and engagement in native North America by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781598741551This collection of original essays explores the tensions between prevailing regional and national versions of Indigenous pasts created, reified, and disseminated through monuments, and Indigenous peoples' memories and experiences of place. The contributors ask critical questions about historic preservation and commemoration methods used by modern societies and their impact on the perception and identity of the people they supposedly remember, who are generally not consulted in the commemoration process. ...
Cultivated landscapes of native North America by Call Number: Baker-Berry E 98 .A3 D66 2000ISBN: 9780198234203Unlike any other book dealing with native agriculture in North America, this book takes a geographical stance, focusing on fields, field features, and field systems. Emphasis is placed on modifications of the biophysical environment, specifically vegetation, soil, slope, and hydrology. Nearly 200 maps, drawings, and photographs richly illustrate the complexities of aboriginal American food production.
Everyday America: cultural landscape studies after J. B. Jackson by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780520229617As old as a roadway that was once a Native trail, as new as the suburban subdivisions spreading across the American countryside, the cultural landscape is endlessly changing. The study of cultural landscapes - a far more recent development - has also undergone great changes, ever broadening, deepening, and refining our understanding of the intricate webs of social and ecological spaces that help to define human groups and their activities. Everyday America surveys the widening conceptions and applications of cultural landscape writing in the United States and, in doing so, offers a clear and compelling view of the state of cultural landscape studies today. ...
Not yet a placeless land: tracking an evolving American geography by Call Number: Baker-Berry GF 503 .Z45 2011ISBN: 9781558498716Today it is taken as a given that the United States has undergone a nationwide process of homogenization - that a country once rich in geographic and cultural diversity has subsided into a placeless sameness. The American population, after all, spends much of its time shopping or eating in look-alike chain or franchise operations, driving along featureless highways built to government specifications, sitting in anonymous airports, and sleeping in forgettable motels. In this book, cultural geographer Wilbur Zelinsky challenges that nearly universal view and reaches a paradoxical conclusion: that American land and society are becoming more uniform and more diverse at the same time. ...
On soul and earth: the psychic value of place by Call Number: Baker-Berry G 71.5 .L5613 2009ISBN: 9780415461481On Soul and Earth offers an original perspective on the relationship between the environment and the human psyche. Physical spaces contribute to the building of identity through personal experience and memory. Places evoke emotions and carry their own special meanings. ...
Postmodern cartographies: the geographical imagination in contemporary American culture by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780312213442The geographical imagination is increasingly recognized as a critical component in contemporary American culture. In this original, interdisciplinary study, Brian Jarvis offers an examination of "new geography" and "mapping the boy," alongside a critique of dominant definitions of postmodernism. Postmodern Cartographies explores spatial representation in a range of texts from social sciences, prose fiction and cinema. It surveys the geography of post-industrial society as advance in the work of Daniel Bell, Marshal McLuhan and Jean Baudrillard; analyzes representations of space in novels by Thomas Pynchon, Paul Auster, Jayne Anne Phillips and Toni Morrison; and, in a key third section, examines sexual politics and body images in science fiction cinema and the films of David Lynch. ...
Signs, streets, and storefronts: a history of architecture and graphics along America's commercial corridors by Call Number: Baker-Berry HF 5841 .T74 2012ISBN: 9781421404943Signs, Streets, and Storefronts addresses more than 200 years of signs and place-marking along America's commercial corridors. From small-town squares to Broadway, State Street, and Wilshire Boulevard, Martin Treu follows design developments into the present and explores issues of historic preservation. ...
Other library resource(s)
Cultural landscape from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199874002... More recently, however, landscape scholars such as Don Mitchell have proposed that human action on the land is quite purposeful and controlling in an effort to convey particular messages. ...- Agricultural geography from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199874002Agricultural geography as a strong focal area has declined since the mid-1990s. From the 1980s, it became more a subset of rural geography rather than an emphasis on spatial patterns and differentiation (focused particularly on “First World/Third World” differences in the 1960s to 1970s). There is a section on Climate Change.
Finding scholarly articles & journal title(s)
Articles and other writings about cultural geography and landscapes can be found in many publications. Our collection includes several journals which look at cultural geography. Below is a short list of some of the journal titles we have in our Library's collection. Since you are looking historically at your topic, there are several indexes which can lead you to contemporary (for the times) news articles. You can also use the search box at the top of the page to find articles.
cultural geographies by Call Number: Electronic journalcultural geographies is an international journal of peer-reviewed scholarly research on and theoretical interventions into the cultural dimensions of environment, landscape, space, and place. They encourage papers that engage the cultural politics of geographical issues.
Gender, place and culture: a journal of feminist geography by Call Number: Electronic journalThe aim of Gender, Place and Culture is to provide a forum for debate in human geography and related disciplines on theoretically-informed research concerned with gender issues. It also seeks to highlight the significance of such research for feminism and women's studies.
Journal of cultural geographyCall Number: Electronic journalThis journal has provided an international forum for scholarly research devoted to the spatial aspects of human groups, their activities, associated landscapes, and other cultural phenomena.
Social & cultural geography by Call Number: Electronic journalSocial & Cultural Geography publishes theoretically consequential empirical research that makes a strong intellectual contribution to critical human geography and its allied fields. The journal confronts topical issues relating to social/cultural problems and issues in geography and fosters scholarly debate about them. ...
America's historical newspapers including Early American Newspapers series, 1-13, 1730-1922Call Number: Electronic resourceA digital collection of daily and weekly newspapers for various places in the United States.
Chronicling America: historic American newspapers by Call Number: Electronic resourceThis database allows you to search American historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963. You can also use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Readers' guide retrospective, 1890-1982 by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe regular Readers' Guide Abstracts covers popular literature from 1983 to the present. This retrospective version covers that same literature from 1890 to 1982. Because this is historical material, remember to search using the terms that were used during a particular time period. For example, early Black films would use the subject "Negro" or "Colored" rather than Black or Afro-American (African-American). You can also limit your searching to film reviews when looking for a particular title.
Web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Citing and Tracking Your Bibliographic References
Use this guide to help you learn how to correctly cite and keep track of the references you find for your research.
Keeping up with Geography journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Geography? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.