Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Course description
This course examines contemporary urbanization in a global setting - paying attention to the intersection of numerous global and local forces (political, economic, historic and cultural) shaping the planning and design (or lack thereof) of city spaces in the global south and its implications for city residents. Utilizing examples from the Middle East, India, China, Latin America and Africa, we will explore how various demographics within these places experience and navigate the dynamically changing city spaces.
[Source: ORC/Catalog, 0405/2023]; Dist:INT or SOC; WCult:NW
In the Library's collections
Use the subject headings below to find resources in the Library's collections. You can also do a subject search for the city you plan to research.
- global citiesThis is a keyword search in the online catalog.
- "global cities"This is a keyword search of the phrase in the online catalog.
- globalization AND urbanizationThis is a subject keyword search in the online catalog.
- singaporeThis is an example of a subject search for a specific place in the online catalog.
Introductory reading(s)
Global cities: a short history by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780815728917Why have some cities become great global urban centers, and what cities will be future leaders? From Athens and Rome in ancient times to New York and Singapore today, a handful of cities have stood out as centers of global economic, military, or political power. In the twenty-first century, the number of truly global cities is greater than ever before, reflecting the globalization of both economic and political power. In Global Cities: A Short History, Greg Clark examines the enduring forces--such as trade, migration, war and technology--that have enabled some cities to emerge from the pack into global leadership. ...
Globalization, modernity and the city by Call Number: Baker-Berry HT 119 .S3 2012ISBN: 9780415676922We live in a world of big cities. Urbanization, globalization and modernization have received considerable attention but rarely are the connections and relations between them the subjects of similar attention. Cities are an integral part of the network of globalization and important sites of modernization. ...
Globalization and urbanization: the global urban ecosystem by Call Number: Baker-Berry HT 241 .S67 2015ISBN: 9781442214750During the past decade, the world reached the point of becoming more urban than not, as the majority of people on the planet now live not in small towns or villages but in provincial, national, and global cities. ...
The Wiley-Blackwell encyclopedia of globalization by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781405188241This five-volume Encyclopedia contains over 600 entries on the essential topics of Globalization and is the definitive reference resource for students, researchers and academics in the field.
World cities: present and future from 21st century Geography: A reference handbook by Call Number: Electronic resource chapterISBN: 9781412974646The rapid changes occurring presently, and anticipated in the future, for urban places is a compelling reason to study urbanization from a geographic perspective. Such a perspective brings a spatial or location frame of reference to the critical analysis of urbanization. Of course, it is important to consider some historical references and antecedents to what exists today, but the major focus in this chapter will be to answer the question “What is going on where and why?” ...
Selected book title(s)
DiverCity - global cities as a literary phenomenon: Toronto, New York, and Los Angeles in a globalizing age by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9783839435410Based on the structured analysis of selected North American novels, this work examines global cities as a literary phenomenon (DiverCity). By analyzing Dionne Brand's Toronto, What We All Long For (2005), Chang-rae Lee's New York, Native Speaker (1995), and Karen Tei Yamashita's Los Angeles, Tropic of Orange (1997), Melanie U. Pooch provides the connecting link for exploring the triad of globalization and its effects, global cities as cultural nodal points, and cultural diversity in a globalizing age as a literary phenomenon. ...
Global cities: urban environments in Los Angeles, Hong Kong, and China by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780262035910How Los Angeles, Hong Kong, and China deal with such urban environmental issues as ports, goods movement, air pollution, water quality, transportation, and public space. Over the past four decades, Los Angeles, Hong Kong, and key urban regions of China have emerged as global cities--in financial, political, cultural, environmental, and demographic terms. In this book, Robert Gottlieb and Simon Ng trace the global emergence of these urban areas and compare their responses to a set of six urban environmental issues. ...
Global cities at work: new migrant divisions of labour by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780745327990This book is about the people who always get taken for granted. The people who clean our offices and trains, care for our elders and change the sheets on the bed. Global Cities at Work draws on testimony collected from more than 800 foreign-born workers employed in low-paid jobs in London during the early years of the twenty-first century. This book breaks new ground in linking London's new migrant division of labour to the twin processes of subcontracting and increased international migration that have been central to contemporary processes of globalisation. ...
Global downtowns by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780812243840Global Downtowns reconsiders one of the defining features of urban life--the energy and exuberance that characterize downtown areas--within a framework of contemporary globalization and change. It analyzes the iconic centers of global cities through individual case studies from Europe, Asia, Africa, Latin America, and the United States, considering issues of function, population, imagery, and growth. ...
Globalization and the city: two connected phenomena in past and present by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9783902811967The world today is far less a global village than a “global city”, as global network of multidimensional urban spaces of congestion prominently forming – and also formed by – globalization. But the relevance of cities is nothing but new. They were essential for culture and civilization worldwide, they allowed a centralization of power and knowledge and they were crucial for the division of labor and for the organization of mass demand. ...
World cities and nation states by Call Number: Baker-Berry HT 119 .C61934 2017ISBN: 9781119216421World Cities and Nation States takes a global perspective to show how national governments and states/provinces/regions continue to play a decisive, and often positive, partnership role with world cities.
Other library resource(s)
Annual review of sociology by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe Annual Review of Sociology covers the significant developments in the field of sociology. Topics covered in the journal include major theoretical and methodological developments as well as current research in the major subfields. ...
Cities: how they grow, second edition by Call Number: Streaming videoThis documentary features cities and urban life.
The nature of cities by Call Number: Jones Media DVD #16524A film exploring nature in urban spaces through projects that show how the built environment and nature can work together to sustain and rejuvenate life.
The Routledge handbook on cities of the global south by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780415818650The renaissance in urban theory draws directly from a fresh focus on the neglected realities of cities beyond the west and embraces the global south as the epicentre of urbanism. This Handbook engages the complex ways in which cities of the global south and the global north are rapidly shifting, the imperative for multiple genealogies of knowledge production, as well as a diversity of empirical entry points to understand contemporary urban dynamics. The Handbook works towards a geographical realignment in urban studies, bringing into conversation a wide array of cities across the global south - the 'ordinary', 'mega', 'global' and 'peripheral'. ...
Urban studies by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780190922481Urban Studies is a broad, interdisciplinary field of study that includes subfields not only in most of the major social sciences, but also in the humanities, and in more technical fields such as architecture, planning, engineering, environmental science, and legal studies. What binds together urbanist scholars in various disciplines is a focus on the lived experiences of larger social systems and structural forces in specific places marked by large, dense, and heterogeneous populations. ...
World cities from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199874002Large and significant cities have fascinated researchers over the last century. This is indicated by the wide range of terms used to describe cities, whereby over the last couple of decades “global cities” and “world cities” have gradually become key—yet contested—concepts. ...
Finding scholarly articles & journal title(s)
You can find many articles on global cities in many publications. A couple of scholarly journals are listed below. Or you can use the search box at the top of the page for searching.
Progress in human geography: geographical theorizingCall Number: Electronic journalIn recent years geographical urban theory has been subject to renewed, vigorous debate about its stakes and its politics, and indeed about the nature of ‘the urban’ at the heart of its concerns. It is a fitting moment, therefore, for a virtual collection to trace a path through key trajectories in urban theorizing as they have been reflected in Progress in Human Geography over the last twenty-five years.
City, culture and societyCall Number: Electronic journalThe 21st century has been dubbed the century of cities - sustainable cities, compact cities, post-modern cities, mega-cities, and more. CCS focuses on urban governance in the 21st century, under the banner of cultural creativity and social inclusion. Its primary goal is to promote pioneering research on cities and to foster the sort of urban administration that has the vision and authority to reinvent cities adapted to the challenges of the 21st century. ...
Environment and urbanization by Call Number: Electronic journalEnvironment and Urbanization (E&U) seeks to advance a more socially just and environmentally sustainable urban world through the provision of knowledge. Our focus is the global South, where an estimated one in three of the urban population live in informal settlements and where more than half work within the informal economy. UN projections suggest that almost all the world’s growth in population in the next few decades will be in urban centres in the Global South. ...
Urban studies by Call Number: Electronic journalUrban Studies is the leading international journal for urban scholarship. The journal remains at the forefront of intellectual and policy debates on the city, and has hosted ground-breaking contributions from across the full range of social science disciplines.
The Journal of urban technology by Call Number: Electronic journalThe goal of the Journal of Urban Technology is, through education and discussion, to maximize the positive and minimize the adverse effects of technology on cities. This journal provides a forum for a dialogue between specialists and non-specialists (or among practitioners of different specialities) and is designed for both scholars and a general audience whose businesses, occupations, professions, or studies require that they understand how technologies affect and are affected by urban environments. ...
Academic search complete by Call Number: Electronic resourceA scholarly, interdisciplinary article index and a good starting place for article searching on any subject.
Web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Internet resource(s)
- The 2023 Global Cities Report: The distributed geography of opportunityIndexKearney’s Global Cities Report assess the extent to which cities are able to attract, retain, and generate global flows of capital, people, and ideas. The Index (GCI) is a measure of current performance, while the Outlook (GCO) projects potential future performance. ....
- The 2023 Kearney Global Services Location Index: Regenerative talent poolsA country’s attractiveness as an offshore location for business services depends largely on its ability to reskill and redeploy the workforce in response to changing market demands and technological disruptions. ...
- Urban Geography (AAG)The Urban Geography Specialty Group (UGSG) facilitates the circulation of information and ideas among urban geographers and other urban specialists.
Citing and Tracking Your Bibliographic References
Use this guide to help you learn how to correctly cite and keep track of the references you find for your research.
Keeping up with Geography journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Geography? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.