Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Course description
This course examines geographies of displacement and what it means to not have a “place” in the world. We will think about how social (dis)locations are mapped onto bodies to define (un)belonging in place through an intersectional lens on race, class, gender, language, and more. This course privileges the voices, experiences, and perspectives from “the margins” in understanding the experiences of inequality, exclusion, and segregation within space. It specifically considers the relationship between power, identity, space/place, and agency.
[Source: ORC/Catalog, 04/05/2023]; Dist:SOC
Defining displacement:
1. Forced population movement.
2. In gentrification, the forcing out of long-established and working-class residents of a city neighbourhood by higher-income newcomers.
3. In crime studies, the process by which tougher law enforcement in one area leads to increases in crime in adjacent areas.
Rogers, A., Castree, N., & Kitchin, R. (2013). Displacement. In A Dictionary of Human Geography. Oxford University Press. Retrieved 1 Apr. 2022
In the Library's collections
You can use one of the subject headings below to start your research in the library's online catalog:
- emigration and immigrationUsed instead of "international migration."
- forced migrationUsed in place of "involuntary migration or resettlement."
Introductory reading(s)
Displacement, diaspora, and geographies of identity by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780822379577Displacement, Diaspora, and Geographies of Identity challenges conventional understandings of identity based on notions of nation and culture as bounded or discrete. Through careful examinations of various transnational, hybrid, border, and diasporic forces and practices, these essays push at the edge of cultural studies, postmodernism, and postcolonial theory and raise crucial questions about ethnographic methodology. ...
Displacement: global conversations on refuge by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781526123473As an unprecedented number of people are displaced around the world, scholars continue to strive to make sense of what appear to be a series of constantly unfolding 'crises.' Drawing on research in a range of regions - from Latin America, to Europe, sub-Saharan Africa, North America, post-Soviet regions, and South and South-East Asia - Displacement offers an interdisciplinary and transnational approach to thinking about structures, spaces, and lived experiences of displacement. ...
Framing the global: entry points for research by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780253012968Framing the Global explores new and interdisciplinary approaches to the study of global issues. Essays are framed around the entry points or key concepts that have emerged in each contributor's engagement with global studies in the course of empirical research, offering a conceptual toolkit for global research in the 21st century.
International migration: a very short introduction by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780199298013Why has international migration become an issue of such intense public and political concern? How closely linked are migrants with terrorist organizations? What factors lie behind the dramatic increase in the number of women migrating?This Very Short Introduction looks at the phenomenon of international human migration -- both legal and illegal -- to reveal that migration actually presents opportunities that must be taken advantage of in light of the current economic climate. The author debunks myths such as the claim that migrants take jobs away from local workers, and that they take advantage of the health care system and western living conditions without returning any benefits of their own, and reveals that society as we now know it can not function without them. ...
New cosmopolitanisms, race, and ethnicity: cultural perspectives by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9783110626193This anthology sheds new light on cosmopolitanism and culture in the contemporary world. Drawing on postcolonial, ethnic, and critical race studies as well as recent literary and critical theory, it demonstrates that new cosmopolitan thinking can embrace an awareness of ethnic and local differences. It disputes the utopianism of colorblind universalism and argues for the persistence of "race" and racialized thinking in lived experience. The essays collected in this volume valorize minoritarian perspectives and urge readers to rethink cosmopolitanism from the perspective of the underprivileged and marginalized and highlight the role of culture in mobilizing social empathy and solidarity with the world's precariat. ...
Selected book title(s)
Caught between borders: citizens, migrants and humans: liber amicorum in honour of Professor Dr. Elspech Guild by Call Number: Baker-Berry KJE 6044 .C38 2019ISBN: 9789462405509Caught In Between Borders: Citizens, Migrants and Humans reflects the fact that the same individual can be a citizen, a migrant, or a human being within the same borders and that this categorization can change just like that. This title captures not only the academic fascination of Professor Elspeth Guild for borders but also, to a certain extent, the life of Elspeth herself. ...
Caught between borders: response strategies of the internally displaced by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780745318196Internally displaced persons are those who have been forced to flee their homes and who do not cross an internationally recognized border. There are an astounding 28 million people around the world who currently qualify as IDPs. Unlike refugees, they have no organisation to deal with their plight. Very little is known about how people respond to the experience of displacement. In economic terms, the presence of the internally displaced is obvious. What are less obvious are the informal protection mechanisms that enable people to cope with the experience of displacement: the information networks that warn them of impending danger, or of events in their home villages. ...
Migration, citizenship and identity: selected essays by Call Number: Baker-Berry JV 6035 .C376 2017ISBN: 9781785360992Stephen Castles provides a deeper understanding of recent 'migration crises' in this fascinating and highly topical work. The book links theory and methodology to real-world migration experiences, with a truly global perspective and in-depth analysis of the links between economics, migration and asylum and refugee issues. ...
Multilingualism, (im)mobilities and spaces of belonging by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781788925037Certain forms of mobility and multilingualism tend to be portrayed as problematic in the public sphere, while others are considered to be unremarkable. Divided into three thematic sections, this book explores the contestation of spaces and the notion of borders, examines the ways in which heritage and authenticity are linked or challenged, and interrogates the intersections between mobility and hierarchies and the ways that language can be linked to notions of belonging and aspirations for mobility. Based on fieldwork in Africa, Asia, Australasia and Europe, it explores how language functions as both site of struggle and as a means of overcoming struggle. ...
Space: a history by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780199914104Recurrent questions about space have dogged philosophers since ancient times. Can an ordinary person draw from his or her perceptions to say what space is? Or is it rather a technical concept that is only within the grasp of experts? Can geometry characterize the world in which we live? What is God's relation to space? In Ancient Greece, Euclid set out to define space by devising a codified set of axioms and associated theorems that were then passed down for centuries, thought by many philosophers to be the only sensible way of trying to fathom space. Centuries later, when Newton transformed the "natural philosophy" of the seventeenth century into the physics of the eighteenth century, he placed the mathematical analysis of space, time, and motion at the center of his work. ...
Other library resource(s)
Geography of immigration and immigrants from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199874002Scholarship on immigration addresses all aspects of the movement of people across international borders. Such research might focus on the reasons why people leave their home countries, pathways of flows between countries, policies designed to regulate international migration flows, and the receptiveness of host societies toward immigrants, among many others. Geographical scholarship on immigration is distinguished from other disciplines by its focus on the spatial aspects of the migration process.- Geography of refugees from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199874002While there is debate about terminology, ‘refugee’ broadly defined refers to people who have been forcibly displaced from their homes. In 2019, there were 26 million refugees, 45.7 million internally displaced persons, and 4.2 million asylum seekers according to the UNHCR. By legal definition, refugees are those who cross international borders and are legally processed in another country; asylum seekers are those seeking legal protections in other countries; and internally displaced persons (IDPs) are individuals who have been displaced within the boundaries of their country. ...
- Migration from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199874002Migration—a spatio-temporal process that evolves over space and time—involves the continual reshaping of place as persons move between various origins and destinations. Geographers are especially interested in the process because of the interconnections and spatial linkages that are formed when people move. The numbers of flows and channels that are created as a result of migration have risen dramatically in the past two centuries, and the result is the constant transformation both of sending and receiving areas. ...
Finding scholarly articles & journal title(s)
Articles on displacement and geography can be found in a variety of publications. You can use a subject specific article index or use the search box at the top of the page. Examples of relevant indexes and journal titles follow.
Journal of refugee studies by Call Number: Electronic journalThe Journal of Refugee Studies (JRS) provides a forum for exploration of the complex issue of forced migration and local, national, regional and international responses. The Journal publishes original, high-quality research and covers all categories of forcibly displaced people. ...
Forced migration review by Call Number: Electronic journalThrough Forced Migration Review, authors analyze the causes and impacts of displacement; debate policies and programs; share research findings; reflect the lived experience of displacement; and present examples of good practice and recommendations for policy and action.
Quarterly on refugee problems by Call Number: Electronic journalThe Quarterly on Refugee Problems – AWR Bulletin (QRP) is the official journal of the Association for the Study of the World Refugee Problem (AWR) for the dissemination of findings on migration issues. It fosters the global, interdisciplinary discourse between academics and practitioners to provide theoretical and practical answers to questions related to forced or voluntary migration.
Academic search complete by Call Number: Electronic resourceA scholarly, interdisciplinary article index and a good starting place for article searching on any subject.
The web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Internet resource(s)
- Global Migration Data Analysis Centre (GMDAC)
Data is key to inform migration governance, improve programming and promote a better public understanding of migration. GMDAC works toward this purpose through activities in knowledge management, data capacity-building and innovation, and data collection and analysis. - International Migration (United Nations)
It is widely recognized that migrants make a positive contribution to inclusive growth and sustainable development in countries of origin and destination. The Population Division collaborates with other members of the United Nations Network on Migration in supporting the implementation of the Global Compact for Safe, Orderly and Regular Migration. The Division also produces estimates of the number of international migrants – the “migrant stock” – at the global, regional and national levels. The data set International Migrant Stock is updated on a regular basis. - United Nations. Global Issues. Refugees
At the end of June 2024, 122.6 million people worldwide were forcibly displaced from their homes due to persecution, conflict, violence, human rights violations and events seriously disturbing public order. ...
Citing and Tracking Your Bibliographic References
Use this guide to help you learn how to correctly cite and keep track of the references you find for your research.
Keeping up with Geography journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Geography? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.