Subject Librarian
Lucinda M. Hall
Contact:
Evans Map Room, Baker-Berry Library
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
Dartmouth College
25 N Main ST
Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 646-0962
Website Skype Contact: d1128r8@kiewit.dartmouth.edu
Course description
Climate change and environmental degradation necessitate shifting energy systems away from fossil fuels. What issues of culture, power, and inequity are part of this energy “transition”? How can we make sure that it is socially just? These questions are the main focus of the course. This course includes an Energy Justice Clinic, supported by Dartmouth’s Irving Institute for Energy and Society, in which students will engage in community-driven service learning.
[Source: ORC/Catalog, 05/15/2024]; Dist:INT or SOC
In the Library's collections
You can use one of these subject headings to start your research in the library's online catalog:
- environmental justiceThis is a relatively new subject heading in the online catalog.
Introductory reading(s)
Environmental justice: key issues by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780429029585Environmental Justice: Key Issues is the first textbook to offer a comprehensive and accessible overview of environmental justice, one of the most dynamic fields in environmental politics scholarship. The rapidly growing body of research in this area has brought about a proliferation of approaches; as such, the breadth and depth of the field can sometimes be a barrier for aspiring environmental justice students and scholars. This book therefore is unique for its accessible style and innovative approach to exploring environmental justice. ...
The ethics of global climate change by Call Number: Baker-Berry GE 42 .E844 2011ISBN: 9781107000698Global climate change is one of the most daunting ethical and political challenges confronting humanity in the twenty-first century. The intergenerational and transnational ethical issues raised by climate change have been the focus of a significant body of scholarship. In this new collection of essays, leading scholars engage and respond to first-generation scholarship and argue for new ways of thinking about our ethical obligations to present and future generations. ...
The Oxford handbook of energy politics by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780190861360The global, regional, and local energy landscape has changed dramatically in the twenty-first century. Many factors have affected what we know about energy: a consensus among scientists on climate change and related support for renewable energy, evolving energy and resource extraction technologies, growing resource demand in the developing world, new regional and global energy governance actors, new major fossil fuel discoveries on land and underwater in states that have previously been under-resourced, rising interest in corporate social responsibility in energy companies, and the need for energy justice. The Oxford Handbook of Energy Politics synthesizes the diverse literature on these topics to provide a foundational resource for teaching and research on critical energy issues in international relations and comparative politics. ...
Routledge handbook of human rights and climate governance by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781138232457Over the last decade, the world has increasingly grappled with the complex linkages emerging between efforts to combat climate change and to protect human rights around the world. The Paris Climate Agreement adopted in December 2015 recognized the necessity for governments to take into consideration their human rights obligations when taking climate action. However, important gaps remain in understanding how human rights can be used in practice to develop and implement effective and equitable solutions to climate change at multiple levels of governance. This book brings together leading scholars and practitioners to offer a timely and comprehensive analysis of the opportunities and challenges for integrating human rights in diverse areas and forms of global climate governance. ...
Selected book title(s)
Energy justice across borders by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9783030240233We must find new and innovative ways of conceptualizing transboundary energy issues, of embedding concerns of ethics or justice into energy policy, and of operationalizing response to them. This book stems from the emergent gap; the need for comparative approaches to energy justice, and for those that consider ethical traditions that go beyond the classical Western approach. ...
Power struggles: dignity, value, and the renewable energy Frontier in Spain by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780253033741Wind energy is often portrayed as a panacea for the environmental and political ills brought on by an overreliance on fossil fuels, but this characterization may ignore the impact wind farms have on the regions that host them. Power Struggles investigates the uneven allocation of risks and benefits in the relationship between the regions that produce this energy and those that consume it. Jaume Franquesa considers Spain, a country where wind now constitutes the main source of energy production. In particular, he looks at the Southern Catalonia region, which has traditionally been a source of energy production through nuclear reactors, dams, oil refineries, and gas and electrical lines. Despite providing energy that runs the country, the region is still forced to the political and economic periphery as the power they produce is controlled by centralized, international Spanish corporations. ...
The Oxford handbook of energy and society by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780190633851The Oxford Handbook of Energy and Society presents an overview of this expanding area that has evolved dramatically over the past decade, away from one largely dominated by structural, political economic treatments on the one hand, and social-psychological studies of individual-level attitudes and behaviors on the other, toward a far more conceptually and methodologically rich and exciting field that brings in, for example, social practices, system complexity, risk theory, social studies of science, and social movements theories. ...
Transitions in energy efficiency and demand: the emergence, diffusion and impact of low-carbon innovation by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780815356783Meeting the goals enshrined in the Paris Agreement and limiting global temperature increases to less than 2°C above pre-industrial levels demands rapid reductions in global carbon dioxide emissions. Reducing energy demand has a central role in achieving this goal, but existing policy initiatives have been largely incremental in terms of the technological and behavioural changes they encourage. Against this background, this book develops a socio-technical approach to the challenge of reducing energy demand and illustrates this with a number of empirical case studies from the United Kingdom. In doing so, it explores the emergence, diffusion and impact of low-energy innovations, including electric vehicles and smart meters. ...
Other library resource(s)
Energy resources and use from the Oxford Bibliographies Online by ISBN: 9780199874002Human societies have depended on access to readily available supplies of fuel and other energy resources since the earliest civilizations, because people need energy to conduct work and to survive. This dependence has been an important factor in the location of communities. The earliest sources of energy were animal and human muscle power, including slaves, and various forms of biomass, solar, and wind power. ...- Geographies of energy from Oxford Bibliographies Online by Call Number: Electronic resourceISBN: 9780199874002The past decade has seen an explosion of geographical work around energy. Taking energy research outside the exclusive domain of the technological, these “energy geographies” are unpacking the social, cultural, and political dimensions of energy production and consumption, and the ways by which space, place, landscape, and territory co-constitute such energy processes. While this work strides across human and physical geography, it is within human geography where most of the work is being carried out. This emerging scholarship responds to—and is framed by—key contemporary debates, including climate change, a drive to move toward a low carbon economy, issues of resource constraints and security, and the rise of non-conventional fossil fuels. ...
Finding scholarly articles & journal title(s)
Articles on energy justice can be found in a variety of publications. You can use a subject specific article index or use the search box at the top of the page. Examples of relevant indexes and journal titles follow.
Energy research and social science by Call Number: Electronic journalEnergy Research & Social Science (ERSS) is a peer-reviewed international journal that publishes original research and review articles examining the relationship between energy systems and society.
Academic search complete by Call Number: Electronic resourceA scholarly, interdisciplinary article index and a good starting place for article searching on any subject.
Web of science citation databases by Call Number: Electronic resourceThe online version of 3 separate ISI indexes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and, Social Sciences Citation Index.
Internet resource(s)
- Energy Justice Network
Energy Justice is the grassroots energy agenda, supporting communities threatened by polluting energy and waste technologies. Taking direction from their grassroots base and the Principles of Environmental Justice, they advocate a clean energy, zero-emission, zero-waste future for all. ... - Initiative for Energy Justice
The Initiative for Energy Justice aims to:
(1) contribute to a bottom-up movement of energy justice, originating in frontline communities, by arming movement and base-building organizations in environmental, racial, and economic justice spaces with well-supported policy research and workable transactional models for operationalizing a just transition to renewable energy; and
(2) provide city and state policymakers with concrete energy policy frameworks and best-practice tools that foreground equity in the transition to renewable energy, drawing on the best-available data collected from frontline advocates, existing energy policies, and frameworks designed by our team. - Promoting Energy Justice from the Department of Energy
For far too long, communities of color and low-income communities have borne the brunt of pollution to the air, water, and soil they rely on to live and raise their families. The clean energy revolution must lift up these communities that have been left behind, and make sure those who have suffered the most are the first to benefit. ...
Citing and Tracking Your Bibliographic References
Use this guide to help you learn how to correctly cite and keep track of the references you find for your research.
Keeping up with Geography journal literature
Want an easy way to keep up with the journal literature for all facets of Geography? And you use a mobile device? You can install the BrowZine app and create a custom Bookshelf of your favorite journal titles. Then you will get the Table of Contents (ToCs) of your favorite journals automatically delivered to you when they become available. Once you have the ToC's, you can download and read the articles you want from the journals for which we have subscriptions.
You can get the app from the App Store or Google Play.
Don't own or use a mobile device? You can still use BrowZine! It's also available in a web version. You can get to it here. The web version works the same way as the app version. Find the journals you like, create a custom Bookshelf, get ToCs and read the articles you want.